Skip to content

Curious about what I thought of Caramelo?

February 22, 2010

Today, I’m reviewing Caramelo by Sandra Cisneros over at Color Online. I open with:

Sandra Cisneros’ novel Caramelo is a delicious read.

And pretty much continue gushing from there. ;) I’d love it if you headed on over to read the whole thing.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2010 5:25 pm

    Glad you enjoyed this one, Eva! I read it a few months ago and did not care for it, but there were 2 passages that I wrote in my quote journal. One was about how important it is for a man to hold a woman’s hand while walking down the street with her. The other was towards the end – I think it’s referring to the Awful Grandmother – and it talks about her having trouble sleeping, so she wakes early and watches the traffic through the living room window.

    • February 24, 2010 12:28 pm

      Really?! I wanted to quote most of the book, hehe. I loved Cisnernos’ writing. :) That’s too bad you weren’t a big fan…how did you feel about The House on Mango Street?

  2. February 22, 2010 7:13 pm

    Yes, I read your gushing, and so happy about it. I wonder why no one ever reads Cisneros. She’s wonderful. She’s one of my favourite authors.

    • February 24, 2010 12:29 pm

      I definitely want to read the other books she’s written now! I read House on Mango Street a couple of years ago, and it definitely impressed me, but I didn’t realise she’d written stuff aimed more at adults too.

  3. February 23, 2010 3:51 am

    I love just about anything by Cisneros. She’s wonderful!

  4. February 23, 2010 6:09 am

    Of course, I’m curious! :D Actually, even more so than normal because I’ve never read anything by Cisneros…and Annie and I are going to start The House on Mango Street for school next week.

    • February 24, 2010 12:30 pm

      Oh-House on Mango Street is really good! I read it a couple of years ago. :)

  5. February 23, 2010 6:13 am

    Cisneros is one of my favorite authors. I used her work for my both my MA and MRes dissertations. I’ll definitely pop on over to Color Online to check out your post. Glad you enjoyed it!

  6. February 23, 2010 8:26 am

    Another glowing review, Eva, and of a book that I have been wanting to read! I love multi-generational family sagas too. I think I’ll read The House on Mango Street first of all and then treat myself to Caramelo.

    • February 24, 2010 12:30 pm

      They have very different feels to them, but Cisneros’ writing is lush and gorgeous in both. :D

  7. February 23, 2010 10:45 am

    Lovely review Eva.. I am adding it to my wishlist.

  8. February 24, 2010 9:28 am

    OOoo, I love this kind of response to a book. I’ve picked up this novel countless times and your comments on it have nudged it from the “wanna-read” to the “will-read” stacks: thanks.

    • February 24, 2010 12:32 pm

      I hope you enjoy it as much as I did! :)

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

