Skip to content

Is This Thing On?

February 10, 2010

Testing…testing…

Sorry I went AWOL for so long guys. I seem to always underestimate just how much fibro takes out of me! To put it in perspective: not only have I not blogged, or visited anyone else’s blog, or even checked my e-mail, since my last post, but I also haven’t read a page from a book until this morning. Two weeks without books!!! (I couldn’t listen to audiobooks because I was dumb and accrued a touch too many library fines, so I was locked out, lol. That’s been taken care of now-and I ended up just returning all my library books, so right now I don’t have any in the house-how crazy is that?! I’ve been listening to my first Ibsen this morning-“Hedda Gabler,” which rather reminds me of Wharton.) Anyway, I’m back and I’m excited to get back into the swing of things.

Unfortunately, my illness means I dropped the ball and haven’t posted the wrap-up post for the read-a-long of The Hobbit. That’s going up tomorrow, so if you’ve been wondering where it is, there you go. I’m very sorry for the ridiculous delay. I’d also like to apologise to any people who popped by here on the 6th, expecting my review of The Autobiography of an Ex-Coloured Man by James Weldon Johnson for the Classics Circuit. I adore the Circuit, and I’ve participated in every author tour, and I help out a bit behind the scenes, so I feel incredibly embarrassed about that. I will be reading and reviewing the book this month, and I can’t wait to read about all of the different Harlem Renaissance authors everyone else has been reading.

Well, I’ve finished replying to all of your wonderfully generous comments on my ‘Travel By Books’ post, so I think I’m off to read more physical books before I dive into the Google Reader. (Don’t worry; I’ll use the ‘Mark All Read’ button if I feel overwhelmed!) After two weeks of not being able to read, it feels like such a privilege. Since I have no library books (of course, I plan to drop by later today, hehe, so the situation will be remedied soon), I decided to grab a novel by one of my favourite authors that’s been sitting on my TBR shelf for too long: When We Were Orphans. I’m also loving an ARC of Peter Hessler’s new book about China, Country Driving-it definitely lives up to his first two. And I’m just a couple chapters away from finishing The Hobbit. :) Seriously guys, it’s so delicious to have a brain that can process reading again, I want to cry from happiness. I got SO sick of TV and movies.

Thank you all for the comments, e-mails, Tweets, etc. sending me get well wishes. They mean so much to me, every one of them. I hope I can get individual replies written to all of the comments on my ‘blogging break’ post very soon. And get back to visiting the blogs of my commentators. But even if it takes a few days, know that you are all so appreciated.

P.S.: I also remembered to publish a draft I’d been working on before I got sick. I have a new review directory up, inspired by Rebecca of Rebecca Reads that organises all of my reviews of non-fiction books thematically, by the Dewey Decimal System. If you too are a nerd, feel free to check it out!

63 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2010 6:47 am

    Welcome back, Eva. I love the Dewey Decimal directory! It appeals to my geeky side.

  2. February 10, 2010 6:53 am

    Glad to hear you are feeling better. I hope you are fully back in the swing of things soon. It is great to have you back.

  3. February 10, 2010 6:56 am

    Welcome back, Eva. Lu from Regular Rumination is putting up a guest post on the GLBT blog today – I obviously didn’t want to bother you about that while you were out. :) I hope you feel much, much better and that you stay feeling better.

  4. February 10, 2010 6:57 am

    Sorry to hear that your fibro flared up so badly. Take care of yourself!

  5. February 10, 2010 7:00 am

    I’m so glad to hear you’re back, Eva. Sorry you haven’t been well but I’m glad that break helped you get pleny of r’n’r time. It’s so strange to think of you not reading for two weeks – I bet you can’t wait to get back to it. :) We miss your posts.

    But, yeah, come back and post in your own time, at your own pace. :) (BTW, I’ve been AWOL from the blogosphere for a while too – Only just noticed your new layout/design. I love it. :D)

  6. February 10, 2010 7:06 am

    I’m glad you’re feeling better, Eva! I hope your flare-ups are few and far between, or non-existent if that’s possible.

    I actually really enjoyed When We Were Orphans, but I’ve read a few more negative reviews around the blogosphere. I’ll be interested to see what you think.

  7. February 10, 2010 7:13 am

    Welcome back! Glad to hear you’re feeling better!

    Now, get reading! ;-)

  8. February 10, 2010 7:33 am

    Hi Eva,

    I’m glad you are feeling better, welcome back!

  9. February 10, 2010 7:41 am

    Glad you are back and feeling better. Remember, you never need to apologize for not posting!

  10. February 10, 2010 8:01 am

    Welcome back Eva! You’ve been missed. I’m so very glad you’re feeling better.

  11. February 10, 2010 8:23 am

    Eva, I’ve missed you! However, I’m glad that you are feeling better. You know, sometimes it might be good for all of us to take a break from reading (sorry yours was not your choice). I think it would give us a new perspective. Take care and I hope you find some real treasures at your library today.

  12. February 10, 2010 8:40 am

    YEAY! I am so glad you are feeling better. Knowing you, it must have been awful NOT READING for so long. As much as we all need a break, it’s better if we choose them! I hope you keep feeling better.

    I was sad not to see your JW Johnson review, so I hope you do get a chance to read it and review it! And oh my, LOVE LOVE LOVE the dewey decimal database. I’ll be visiting often. I had fun pulling mine together too. It helps me see where my gaps are.

    If you don’t get a chance to read all of our posts, we understand. I will be curious to hear your thoughts on HALF THE SKY which I read and love and considered a “must read” — a title I don’t throw around often! I saw you read it in 2009 and only gave it 3 stars, so I’m very curious what the failings were for you. I guess I just am not familiar with the subject, so for me it was incredibly eye-opening!!

  13. February 10, 2010 8:47 am

    Oh, I’m so glad you’re feeling better- I have missed you around the Internet! Enjoy your library privileges now that you have them back!

  14. February 10, 2010 8:49 am

    Welcome back! The Dewey Decimal Directory is amazing! You saw the movie “Party Girl” with Parker Posey, right? If not, you definitely must watch it, given the Dewey Decimal theme! :–)

  15. February 10, 2010 8:50 am

    Welcome back!! Definitely missed you, but glad you’re feeling better now! Take ample rest, and yep, use the ‘Mark all as read’ button! :-)

  16. February 10, 2010 8:50 am

    So happy to see you’re back and feeling at least somewhat better. Hope the flare-ups stay few and far between in the future (or go away entirely).

    I went through a big Ibsen phase in college and loved everything of his that I read or saw. A Doll’s House, which I’ve read several times and seem performed, is also excellent. I remember also liking The Master Builder, Ghosts, and The Wild Duck, too (although it’s been so long since I read those that I’d be at a loss to tell you what they’re about).

  17. February 10, 2010 8:50 am

    Hi Eva,

    I’m glad that you’re feeling better! Welcome back!

  18. February 10, 2010 8:54 am

    Welcome back, I’ve missed you! I’m sorry you’ve been so ill and I hope you are back on your feet properly very soon.

  19. February 10, 2010 9:16 am

    Sorry to hear about your Fibro. Please take it easy. Feeling overwhelmed will only make you feel worse. I know it’s hard. Take care. Enjoy your posts. Will pop over to see your nonfiction reviews. I don’t mind being a nerd. It’s fun.::))

  20. February 10, 2010 9:36 am

    I’m so glad to see you functioning well again. My body crashes from fibromyalgia and I find I ‘m too mindless to even read or even deal with email either. I hate it so much so I know exactly how you feel. Never mind if you don’t get around to all of us, just start doing the things you enjoy.
    I loved The Autobiography of an Ex-Coloured Man, I so look forward to your thoughts on it. And When We Were Orphans is my favourite Ishiguro. I have read The Hobbitt but fantasy really isn’t my thing so I never went further with Tolkien. I’m off to check out your new directory. Take things slow sweetie, your blog will always wait for you.

  21. February 10, 2010 9:52 am

    I’m sorry you were feeling so horribly, but I’m really incredibly glad that you’re back. I’ve missed you! Don’t feel guilty about anything – you needed to rest and get better! Looking forward to all the wonderful books you’re going to read soon.

  22. February 10, 2010 10:14 am

    Welcome back. Hope you are feeling better!

  23. February 10, 2010 10:21 am

    So glad to have you back to the world of the reading! I hope that you get to feel well for a while. We’ve missed you!

  24. February 10, 2010 10:26 am

    Welcome back to the land of the reading!

  25. She permalink
    February 10, 2010 10:53 am

    Welcome back! Welcome back!

  26. February 10, 2010 11:15 am

    Welcome back! So glad you are feeling better. :)

  27. February 10, 2010 11:23 am

    I’m so glad you are able to dive into a book again. I hope you feel better!

  28. mtqt permalink
    February 10, 2010 11:31 am

    I don’t comment much but I read your blog regularly and I’m glad to see that you are back! Your blogs is one of my favorites to read! – She

  29. February 10, 2010 11:33 am

    Sorry to hear you’ve been unwell – I can’t imagine going two weeks without reading! (the closest I’ve come is when I had my wisdom teeth out – the drugs made it pretty hard to focus on a page!) Good to hear you’re bouncing back and I was thrilled to get a new post from you :)

    Your new catalogue is nerdy-geek heaven! Do you consult a public library database to find the Dewey code for each book?

    The words “Harlem Renaissance” caught my eye – I haven’t come across this before. What kinds of books/authors fall under this category? Is it a time period reference or more like a setting?

  30. February 10, 2010 11:33 am

    Oh my goodness! It sounds like you had quite a time; I am glad that you are feeling better. What a gift to have a brain that can process stories again. I am so glad for you!!!!

  31. February 10, 2010 11:47 am

    Well, Hugs! and good to see you back.

  32. February 10, 2010 11:48 am

    Yay :-) Welcome back! How SHOCKING for you to have no library books out. Looks like you’ve got good books to read, anyway, though!

  33. February 10, 2010 12:13 pm

    I’m so glad you are back and feeling better!

    Greetings,
    Tiina

  34. February 10, 2010 12:49 pm

    Welcome back Eva!, Pleased to hear you’re feeling a bit better. :D

  35. February 10, 2010 1:27 pm

    Hee hee – I just wrote you a snail mail but it won’t get to the post until tomorrow…. So maybe at your house in a week? :)

  36. February 10, 2010 1:46 pm

    Welcome back, Eva! Glad to know that you are feeling better. Hope you have a wonderful time getting back to reading your favourite books :)

  37. adevotedreader permalink
    February 10, 2010 1:46 pm

    I’m sorry to hear you’ve been unwell Eva, but glad to see you blogging again.

  38. February 10, 2010 1:48 pm

    Thrilled you are back, Eva. Even more pleased to hear you are feeling better.

  39. February 10, 2010 2:58 pm

    Great to see you back among the nerds, Eva. We missed you.

  40. February 10, 2010 2:58 pm

    Welcome back! I did too much over the weekend and triggered a lupus flare myself so I totally understand. Ease into it slowly, okay?

  41. February 10, 2010 3:02 pm

    Welcome back, Eva! It’s good to hear from you again. Sometimes it’s good to start with a clean slate, regarding reading.

  42. February 10, 2010 3:41 pm

    Holy crap. I’m totally going to do my nonfiction book directory that way. How amazing is this discovery to my little librarian self??? So glad to know you’re feeling better, Eva. The blogosphere is always a little lonely without A Striped Armchair :)

  43. February 10, 2010 4:31 pm

    I am so glad you are feeling better! Don’t feel bad about missing the Classics Circuit stop of any of your other blogging obligations. We all understand that you weren’t feeling up to it.

  44. February 10, 2010 5:00 pm

    Welcome back! I’m glad you’re feeling better.

  45. February 10, 2010 6:27 pm

    Welcome back, Eva! Glad to hear you’re feeling better!

  46. Juanita permalink
    February 10, 2010 6:52 pm

    No apologies necessary. Glad you’re feeling better.

  47. February 10, 2010 7:55 pm

    Welcome back! Glad that you’re feeling better. Enjoy When We Were Orphans!

  48. February 10, 2010 8:59 pm

    Welcome back, it’s great you’re feeling better. I can’t imagine not reading for two entire weeks, but I suppose when life gets in the way that’s what happens. I LOVE the Dewey Decimal Review list… I’ve always wanted to do something like that!

  49. February 10, 2010 9:10 pm

    Glad to know you’re better. And from the number of comments you’ve gotten, I’m sure you know exactly how much you were missed. =)

    Love the Dewey Decimal List. I’m geeky that way too. Hehe..

    Anyway, I’m assuming you’re off to loot the library soon. Looking forward to the titles you’ll be bringing home next.

  50. February 10, 2010 9:27 pm

    Welcome back! Missed reading your posts with lots and lots of books in them :) Hope you stay healthy :)

  51. February 11, 2010 1:39 am

    Ooh, When We Were Orphans is a great one. So glad to hear that you’re feeling better, and looking forward to your posts in future. Welcome back!

  52. February 11, 2010 6:03 am

    What everyone else said. Glad you’re here.

  53. February 11, 2010 7:51 am

    I’m glad you’re feeling better and I LOVE your new organizational system. You are making me want to do the same thing – or possibly do all my reviews by Library of Congress…oh the possibilities for nerdy organizing…

  54. February 11, 2010 1:24 pm

    It’s nice to see you back! So glad to hear you’re feeling better !

  55. February 12, 2010 10:55 am

    Welcome back, Eva! It’s wonderful to see you posting again. We all missed you ridonkulously! :D

  56. February 12, 2010 11:07 am

    An award to celebrate your return:
    http://lakesidemusing.blogspot.com/2010/02/winter-awards-sharing-love.html
    Have I told you how much I like your new header?

  57. February 12, 2010 9:04 pm

    Welcome back! So glad you’re feeling better. I’ve got quite the nasty little library fine to get paid off, too, so I know how it was not to be able to get to audio books.

  58. February 13, 2010 12:05 am

    So glad to have you back and feeling better! :)

  59. February 13, 2010 8:03 pm

    Eva,

    I was worried. Glad to hear you’re better.

  60. February 14, 2010 7:01 am

    Very glad to hear you’re feeling better. For a voracious reader, there must be nothing worse than being separated from books, having to watch TV pablum. And thanks for the great geographic recommendations; I’ll be using them as I choose books from the seven continents in 2010.

  61. justbookreading permalink
    February 14, 2010 8:31 am

    Glad to hear you’re back and feeling a bit better!

  62. February 15, 2010 6:37 pm

    Hi Eva – It’s so good to see you back. You poor thing, two weeks without being able to read. Well, I’m sure you’ll catch up in no time! :) Sending you good health vibes!

Trackbacks

  1. My Favorite Lit-Blog Things: February 11, 2010 « Hungry Like the Woolf

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

