Skip to content

Library Loot: December 23-29, 2009

December 23, 2009

library-lootLibrary Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by myself and Marg that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries!

Want to share your loot?

My webcam has been found! Yay! :) So you have a bit of a scatterbrained vlog (I don’t know where my mind was yesterday). :) I think Youtube is getting worse at selecting screenshots…

And covers/linked titles:

Dancing in the Dark by Morris Dickstein (I love 30s film, so would like to know more about period.), The Long March by Sun Shuyun (China Challenge), Soldier’s Heart by Elizabeth Samet (I’m a military brat who loves books!)


The Magician’s Elephant by Kate DiCamillo (Chris), The Girl in the Picture by Denise Chong (Canada Challenge), Einstein’s Dreams by Alan Lightman (Dewey’s Books Challenge)


The Travels of Ibn Battutah ed. Tim Mackintosh-Smith (Really Old Classics Challenge), Travels with a Tangerine by Tim Mackintosh-Smith (to go with Ibn Battutah’s travelogue), Someone at a Distance by Dorothy Whipple (because everyone raves about Persephones!)


The First Days of School by Harry Wong (working on my teacher certification), The Girl with the Brown Crayon by Vivian Gussin Paley (working on my teacher certification)


Gosford Park, WIde Sargasso Sea

42 Comments leave one →
  1. December 23, 2009 2:13 pm

    I loooooved Magician’s Elephant! Great loot! And btw HAPPY HOLIDAYS!

  2. December 23, 2009 2:50 pm

    I can’t believe your library has any books left that you haven’t already read.

    • December 23, 2009 6:35 pm

      LMAO

      It has so many that I haven’t read and want to!

  3. December 23, 2009 3:27 pm

    First of all, you look lovely, even sans makeup :) Second of all, some great reading choices, as always. As to the Harry/Rosemary Wong book, it is invaluable to every teacher education student. It is required reading in the program I attended for undergrad :)

    • December 23, 2009 6:36 pm

      Aww-thanks. You’ll notice I’m further from the camera than usual. ;) My alt certification program included several hours of Wong’s lectures, so I’m excited to read the book. His style kind of grates on me, but his ideas are gold! :D

  4. December 23, 2009 4:20 pm

    What a fun lot of loot! I love how you are in front of the tree. Happy holidays to you too!

  5. December 23, 2009 4:28 pm

    That is funny about your hair, because my first thought was, Oh, I like that new hairdo!!!

    • December 23, 2009 6:36 pm

      lol; that’s what I always use when I don’t want any hair in my face, because it keeps all my bangs from escaping. I’ll have to start wearing it out of doors since you like it! :)

  6. December 23, 2009 4:56 pm

    Oh, my sweet, adorable friend, you crack me up! There you were talking about how awful you looked, and I was there thinking how gorgeous you looked! True story.

    I actually have The Long March out from the library right now, too! :D And Annie went and saw the play Einstein’s Dream put on at a local playhouse here…and she went and saw Alan Lightman speak…she really enjoyed both, so I hope you really enjoy the book!

    Merry Christmas to you and all your family, Eva!!!! Love you!

    • December 23, 2009 6:38 pm

      LOL; as I mentioned earlier, I kept myself from farther away from the camera than usual! And that’s GREAT to hear about Einstein’s Dreams! And yay for us having the same book out at the same time! (I think I just exceeded my exclamation point quota.) Merry Christmas to you and yours too-love you right back! :)

  7. December 23, 2009 5:34 pm

    Though I have a grades 7-12 Biology teaching liscense, I am not currently using it. The First days of school is a great book esp. for elementary education.

    • December 23, 2009 6:43 pm

      Yep-I think Wong has some wonderful ideas! I think a teaching licence is always a helpful thing to have. :D

  8. December 23, 2009 8:23 pm

    I loved Someone at a Distance, and can’t wait to read more Dorothy Whipple. Enjoy…and Merry Christmas!

    • December 24, 2009 11:54 pm

      Yay-I’m happy that you loved her! And Merry Christmas to you too. :)

  9. December 23, 2009 9:19 pm

    Please do post on Dancing in the Dark if you get to it. I’ve been eying that one myself! And am very curious about the Wide Sargasso Sea–is that a remake? Must check it out.

    Have a lovely holiday, by the way!

    • December 24, 2009 11:55 pm

      Yep-WSS is a remake. I actually stopped watching about thirty minutes in because I was bored. LOL Maybe I’ll go back to it, but the casting just felt off to me. And if I read Dancing in the Dark I’ll definitely post on it! It seems like a Danielle book. :)

  10. December 23, 2009 10:13 pm

    You look great no matter what, Eva. :)

    Einstein’s Dreams is a beautiful book. Hope you enjoy it!

    ANd yay for the Persephone!

    • December 24, 2009 11:54 pm

      Thanks Claire! I’m so glad to hear that about Einstein’s Dreams. :)

  11. December 24, 2009 1:15 am

    You look as lovely as usual, Eva! And I think your pronunciation of Persephone is the correct one. And Gosford Park totally rocks, although I can’t say I enjoyed Wide Sargasso Sea. In my opinion, some books don’t translate well to the screen and that was one of them. (The Bell Jar is another.)

    Good luck finishing those hats on time and enjoy the holidays!

    • December 24, 2009 11:56 pm

      Thanks! I ended up turning off WSS because I was bored. But Gosford Park was just as wonderful as always! :D And yay for me getting the Greek gods right. lol

  12. December 24, 2009 2:07 am

    So I decided to FINALLY attack my Google Reader a little bit and what do I find but a wonderful vlog by Eva!!!! :D And you got The Magician’s Elephant! YAy :) I absolutely love your Christmas tree! It’s wonderful Eva. I’ve added The Girl in the Picture to my TBR…looks horrifying, but gripping. Certainly have to read that one. Merry Christmas to you my dear!!

  13. December 24, 2009 6:03 am

    I do love your Vlogs, I might have to look into how to do them myself! I wonder if my blackberry will be able. I also loooved your tree! How lovely!

    I amlooking forward to your thoughts on the Persephone I have Someone at a Distance to read in the New Year and am really excited about it!!!

    • December 24, 2009 11:57 pm

      Thank you! My mom got us all webcams for Christmas last year so we could Skype and see each other, so that’s what I use. I hope you can use your blackberry though-I’d love to see your vlog! :D

  14. December 24, 2009 6:04 am

    Oooooh I forgot to say… Have a wonderful Christmas too, hope its a really lovely day for you all.

  15. December 24, 2009 12:15 pm

    Have a Merry Christmas, Eva!

    Lezlie

  16. December 24, 2009 3:49 pm

    Merry Christmas, Eva! I love seeing what you got at the library and have to say I’m so surprised your library has Persephones. I’d be seriously tempted to keep those out for way past longer than the due date – haha….

    • December 24, 2009 11:58 pm

      Thank you!

      My library doesn’t have Persephones-I had to ILL this one. I’m hoping I can ILL a few more, but we’ll see! And I’m totally tempted too. ;)

  17. December 25, 2009 12:59 am

    Merry Christmas to you and yours Eva! Fantastic loot! I hope you love The Magician’s Elephant as much as I did.

  18. December 25, 2009 7:36 pm

    The Wong book is the penultimate classroom management book! I had to read it and work through some of his stuff when I was training to go into alternative certification. He was very helpful for the elementary/middle school set. High school was a little iffy, though, and that’s what I was getting certified for. I hope you enjoy it! As I recall, it had some really good advice, and classroom management is always the hardest hurdle to overcome for new teachers.

    Great books this week!

  19. December 26, 2009 8:27 am

    This is the first vlog I’ve ever watched all the way through. I’m more a get-to-the-point and a I’d-rather-read-it-than-listen-to-you-talk-about-it kind of person. I’m really quite shocked that I liked it so much! It was nice how I had time to jump over to my library website and request Brown Crayon and then hop over to my Blockbuster queue and add Wide Sargasso Sea.

    I’ll have to pop in here again. I use my library card much more than my credit card.

  20. December 26, 2009 9:57 pm

    I just love looking at all these pretty covers…

  21. December 26, 2009 11:12 pm

    Hey Eva! I haven’t talked to you in a while, so I just wanted to pop by and say hi! I hope you had a Merry Christmas! :)

  22. December 27, 2009 10:55 pm

    You’ve got some great books and I’ll look forward to reading the reviews Eva.

    You look cute in the vlog by the way :)

  23. December 28, 2009 12:15 pm

    I I really liked the movie “Gosford Park.” Can’t wait to see what you think of the book.

  24. December 28, 2009 5:44 pm

    Dreadful mother that I am, I put The Magician’s Elephant in my youngest son’s stocking solely so I can borrow it back and read it myself. ;-) Oh, and I hope he likes it too, of course!

    I was totally blown away by Einstein’s Dream, which is completely not the sort of book I’d ever really read. Hope you think it’s amazing too.

  25. December 29, 2009 10:58 pm

    Gosford Park is also one of my favorite movies ever! I feel like every time I watch it, it’s different – some storyline will stand out more, or I’ll catch a nuance, or background dialogue/action I didn’t before. And I like the music too, with Jeremy Northam singing the Ivor Novello songs.

  26. Sarah permalink
    December 31, 2009 6:17 am

    I enjoyed Soldier’s Heart earlier this year, it gave me food for thought as well as quite a few books for the TBR list.

    Like many commenters, I also really liked Gosford Park.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

