Skip to content

In Which I Share a Different Kind of Library Loot

November 14, 2009

BooksI began this post forever ago-the morning after the read-a-thon in fact. And then somehow, I forgot I hadn’t actually finished and posted it, until I was admiring my huge stack of books today. So a little late, but better than never, here’s what I came home with from my library’s latest book sale. After the read-a-thon ended, I decided to check my library account and sort out which books I needed to return soon and which I could hold on to for awhile. In visiting my library’s website, I discovered that the last day of the quarterly Friends of the Library book sale began at 11:00 AM. Of course, I couldn’t resist!

In case you haven’t been a long-time follower of my blog, in 2008 I made a resolution not to buy books (which I only broke a couple of times) and in 2009 I made it a stricter resolution-not to acquire books (I’ve relaxed that now, having done a ruthless culling of my shelves, and enter a few giveaways here and there, accept a few review copies)…I can’t remember the last time I bought a book for myself, though. Oh wait-it was about a year ago, when I was feeling super depressed and getting sick all the time at grad school, and the bookstore was the only thing that could cheer me up. :) Ok, so it’s been a year since I’ve bought a book for myself.

Keeping that in mind, imagine my reaction when I arrived at the book sale and was greeted by a kind man who handed me a paper grocery bag and explained it was $5 bag day-I could have as many books as I could fit in the bag the equivalent of 20 quarters!

Once again, for those non-long time readers, you should know that I am an excellent packer in general (comes from moving around a lot growing up) and of books into bags in particular. For proof, see the 22 books I got in a bag for a trip to TX and the 23 books I fit in a canvas bag the last time I went to a library sale.

I was shameless. The room had lots of folding tables with books on top, in addition to books in boxes on the floor. I touched every single spine, driving the people behind me insane, and regularly knelt on the floor to make sure I wasn’t missing anything special. My hand moved at lightning speed towards anything with a foreign-sounding author name or the orange Penguin spine. By the end, my bag was so heavy I was worried about my neck, so I was lifting it via squatting, lol. Usually, I’m a conservative person out in public, but I have no dignity when it comes to getting books!

It turns out a paper grocery bag can hold more than the fancy canvas version. In fact, I managed to get 32 delicious books into that bag, and I’m going to talk about them all with you now. And you can see the whole pile in the picture-sorry about the bad quality, but you can click to make it larger. I’ve mentioned before that my bedroom gets very little natural light, and I’m not good enough with cameras to fix that. (One of my big resolutions next year is going to be to improve my photography! My old digital camera died a few months ago, and you can bet what’s at the top of my Christmas list this year.) Also, as you can see, I haven’t yet attempted to squish them into my perfectly-full, colour-coded shelves (which I do intend to vlog about more, I promise). For now, I think they’re happy living in front of the shelves, lol-they’re not blocking my access to anything.

First up, six hardcovers!

  • I’m Not Scared by Niccolo Ammaniti: I actually just read this one thanks to my library system, but I loved it to bits and pieces and was sad to return it, so I’m happy to have my very own copy!
  • Waifs and Strays by Charles de Lint: I really enjoy de Lint’s urban fantasy, so I snatched up this collection of short stories set in Newford (his made-up North American city) that all have a ‘coming-of-age’ theme. AND it increases the population of Canadian authors on my shelves
  • Spirits in the Wires by Charles de Lint: the only thing better than one Newford book is two! :) Christy stars in this one; he’s been an intriguing side character in the Newford books I’ve read so far, and this will be stretching my comfort zone because it’s about people getting trapped in computers. Or something sci-fi-ish like that. ;)
  • The Lions of Al-Rasan by Guy Gavriel Kay: apparently it was Canadian fantasy day, lol. I’ve read one of Kay’s books, Ysabel, which I liked but didn’t love. However, I’m very excited to read this historical fantasy book, since it’s set in medievel Spain. I *love* the Middle Ages! Especially the meeting of Islam and Christian culture in the Middle Ages.
  • October Suite by Maxine Claire: as most of you know, I made a resolution a couple months ago that half of my fiction for the rest of the year would be written by people of colour. I’m loving that, but it’s frustrating since I get almost all my books from the library that my personal library is still quite white (especially the American parts!). I was originally attracted to this one for its pretty cover, and when I discovered it was set in 1950 and about a 23-year-old first-year teacher (just like me!), I already knew I had to have it. Discovering Claire is African American was just the icing on the cake! :)
  • Walking Words by Eduardo Galeano with woodcuts by Jose Francisco Borges: this one looks SO cool! It’s a collection of Latin American folk tales, all of them illustrated by these marvelously bold woodcuts. :)

Next up is the largest section: trade paperback, with sixteen books!

  • Fall On Your Knees by Anne-Marie Macdonald: why yes, I have this one out from the library right now for the Canada Challenge. But how much better to own it?!
  • Stones for Ibarra by Harriet Doer: a story about two Americans living in a Mexican village based on the author’s own experiences. Doer, published this, her first novel, as a septuagenarian! And this is a Penguin-I love that orange spine! :D
  • Child of All Nations by Pramoedya Ananta Toer: I read the first (This Earth of Mankind) in Toer’s quartet set in colonial Indonesia earlier this year and loved it. So you can imagine my squeals of excitement when I found the second in a box with Nora Steele and V.C. Andrews. ;) Another beautiful Penguin edition!
  • House of Glass by Pramoedya Ananta Toer: After finding the second, I was even more surprised to find the fourth (and last) in the series! I couldn’t find the third, but that’s ok; I feel blessed to have these two. :) Should I mention the publisher yet again? ;)
  • Daughter of Fortune by Isabel Allende: I’ve loved everything I’ve ever read by Allende (somewhere around 4 novels and a memoir), but the only book of hers I actually own is the audio version of Zorro (which I definitely recommend!). So I snatched this up immediately! This is actually a prequel of sorts (dealing with an earlier generation) of Portrait in Sepia, which I just devoured awhile back. I’m excited to find out more back story to the family!
  • Moby Dick by Herman Melville: this seems to be everyone’s favourite classic to pick on, but I listened to the first quarter of it on CD last year while painting my niece’s bedroom and really enjoyed it! Then I had to return the book-on-CD to the library, but I’ve been wanting to read it ever since. And this edition has ‘scholarly notes,’ hehe.
  • Lullabies for Little Criminals by Heather Oneil: I grabbed this and tossed it in my bag because of its bright, cheerful cover and fun title. And then I ended up being able to fit everything in, so I didn’t even read any more about it until just now! lol Apparently it’s depressing and about a little girl w/ no mother and a drug-addict for a father. So I might not actually read this one. (Dear publishers: please do not package edgy, depressing books in girly, chicklit-ish colours. It’s deceptive and mean.)
  • The Stone Diaries by Carol Shields: another Canadian! When I read her short story collection Dressing Up for the Carnival, everyone said I should read this one. I didn’t know anything else about it, but I just realised it’s historical fiction, which makes me happy. :) And it’s another Penguin too!
  • Perfume by Patrick Suskind: I saw the movie, and it was weird in an awesome way, and TY is always going on about her disturbing crush on the protagonist/serial killer. So I totally wanted to try it out from myself! :)
  • Clay Walls by Kim Ronyoung:this is being compared to a Korean-American Roots, which should be interesting! Both of my parents have lived in Korea, and I know lots of Korean-Americans (and love kimchee), so I’m curious.
  • Saturday Ian McEwan: I’ve loved McEwan for years and have been slowly working my way through his oevre (especially in pre-blogging days, when I didn’t have an insane TBR list). But I haven’t read this, probably his second-most famous one!
  • Breath, Eyes, Memory by Edwidge Danticat: I’ve read several Caribbean authors this year, and I’ve loved them all! So even though I haven’t actually read Danticat yet (though I have a different novel of hers on my Caribbean Challenge list), I expect to really enjoy this one.
  • Pilgrim at Tinker Creek by Annie Dillard: this was already on my Year of Reading Dangerously challenge list-I’ve heard great things about it. So why not snap it up?
  • The Temple of the Golden Pavillion by Yukio Mishima: I read The Sound of Waves last year and loved it! So I snatched this right up when I saw Mishima’s name. Then a week or so later, Claire posted about it, which made me even more excited to read it.
  • What Looks Like Crazy on an Ordinary Day by Pearl Cleage: as y’all know, I’ve been reading much more POC authors these past few months, and Cleage’s name seems to appear on everyone’s lists of faves. It’s about time I got around to reading her. :)
  • Odd Girls and Twilight Lovers by Lillian Faderman: nonfiction was quite scarce, as you might have noticed, but I literally squealed with delight when I saw this one. The subtitle is A History of Lesbian Life in Twentieth-Century America! I’ve been reading more GLBT works this year, and this just sounds fascinating.

Finally, it’s time for those mass market paperbacks, rounding at the numbers with ten.

  • Busman’s Honeymoon by Dorothy Sayers: I love Sayers’ mysteries, and I’ve read most of them, but I have this thing with favourite authors where I try to keep a couple back, so I haven’t read this one yet. And it’s in my favourite edition of the Lord Wimsey, Harriet Vane books, so it matches the ones I already have!
  • The Heart of the Matter by Graham Greene: back in high school, I loved Greene. I’m not sure why I stopped reading him, but I need to get back into him. And it has that bright orange spine. ;)
  • Hullabaloo in the Guava Orchard by Kiran Desai: I wasn’t really a fan of Inheritance of Loss, but I do love Indian lit, and I’m all about giving authors a second try. Especially when the title is that awesome-don’t you want to just roll it around in your mouth?
  • Tristan and Iseult by Hilaire Belloc: this is one of my favourite legends, so I’m curious to see this retelling!
  • Another Country by James Baldwin: I read Go Tell It on the Mountain a couple months ago, and Baldwin’s talent blew me away. So now I want to read everything he wrote.
  • Best Canadian Short Stories: once again, I saw this and grabbed it for the Canadian Challenge. It’s from the 80s and is out of print, so I’m curious to see what it’ll be like.
  • The Theban Plays by Sophocles: I’ve got a good grounding in Roman authors thanks to high school Latin, but I’m shamefully deficient in the ancient Greek department. I know the storylines of all three of these plays, but I’ve never read them! (I did read a French adaptation of Antigone for a French lit class in college-it was written during WWII and a comment on that apparently.) And these would be great for the Really Old Classics Challenge.
  • Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry by Mildred Taylor: I don’t know how I got through elementary school without reading this Newbery award winner, but I want to make up for it now!
  • A Pocket Full of Rye by Agatha Christie: remember what I said about the Sayers book? Well, I adore Miss Marple, and this is the only book featuring her that I haven’t read. Once again, it’s the same edition as all of my other Miss Marple books, which makes me quite happy!
  • The Terror by Dan Simmons: when I asked for 1,000+ book recommendations, a couple people mentioned this one. And Daphne wrote an awesome review of it awhile ago. It makes me happy just looking at how thick it is! Although at 960 pages, it’s kind of a tease.

Whew! There you go-that’s all of the new books that will be ignored while I get too many library books instead. ;) Have you read any of these? Where should I start?

48 Comments leave one →
  1. justabookreader permalink
    November 14, 2009 4:02 pm

    All I have to say is WOW! I read The Terror by Dan Simmons last year and really enjoyed it.

  2. November 14, 2009 4:21 pm

    What a fantastic book haul. I think I’m most jealous of those hardcover de Lints.

  3. November 14, 2009 4:31 pm

    Wow! What a haul! You’re obviously an uber-book packer. :D

    I’ve got a couple of those on my shelves: The Lions of Al-Rasan & Saturday.

  4. November 14, 2009 4:40 pm

    That’s an amazing haul!!

    I like Allende too, and have read The Stone Diaries. I will be interested in what you think of it.

    As for Pilgrim At Tinker Creek…I tried. I have another of her books (The Maytrees), and hope it’s more my cup of tea.

  5. November 14, 2009 4:44 pm

    This is exactly why I don’t go to my library sales. If I came home with 32 new books, my husband would ban me from leaving the house!

  6. November 14, 2009 4:46 pm

    $5 for all those books! Gotta’ love libraries! And, you got quite the mix of books; they should keep you busy for quite a while. Have fun.

  7. November 14, 2009 5:15 pm

    Odd Girls & Twilight Lovers was really interesting & well done. You have lots of good places to start!

  8. historyofshe permalink
    November 14, 2009 5:18 pm

    I’m interested to see what you think about Perfume. I saw the movie and really liked it in that weird creepy sorta way, but I had to put the book down before finishing it. I think I’ll need to pick it up again because from what I remember it was good– I just wasn’t in the mood :D

  9. November 14, 2009 5:41 pm

    Oh my, this post had me swooning! I even had to call Rich in so he could admire your haul, too! :D

    You also had me laughing hysterically…”Usually, I’m a conservative person out in public, but I have no dignity when it comes to getting books!”

    If it was me, I’d start with Odd Girls and Twilight Lovers! But dang, Eva, you got so many great sounding books that I don’t think you can go wrong. :D

    And YAY…I can’t wait for futures tours of the other “colors”!

  10. November 14, 2009 5:46 pm

    “Lullabies for Little Criminals” is Canadian as well. It was shortlisted for pretty much every literary prize going and it won the Canada Reads competition in 2007. I haven’t read it but everything that I’ve read about it suggests that it has much going for it to counteract the grimness of the plot, so you may find it wasn’t such a bad pick after all! What an excellent haul overall!

  11. November 14, 2009 6:00 pm

    Awesomeness. This is exactly why I don’t allow myself to attend my local library sale. Maybe when I’ve read some of the books I currenly own but haven’t read, which currently stands at 204. Gees…Loved reading about your acquisitions, though :)

  12. November 14, 2009 6:23 pm

    Nice haul! I really liked Carol Shields’ The Stone Diaries. It has a really interesting narrative structure. And I really need to read some de Lint.

  13. November 14, 2009 6:50 pm

    That is such an impressive list. I would love to hear your tips for packing so many books into such a small space!

  14. November 14, 2009 8:01 pm

    Wow. You are a talented one to fit all those books in that tiny bag. This looks like you held up the library; you have reading fodder for a year.

    Perfume! Okay, Raych read it and wasn’t too fond of it but I still love the hell out of it. Probably because I love the anti-hero. He’s CRAZY but so complex. He is also feral and we all know I relate to my own kind.

  15. November 14, 2009 8:18 pm

    What a great haul! Enjoy your books!

  16. November 14, 2009 8:25 pm

    Um Eva, it is now me who is turning an unflattering shade of green! Wow. We just had our Friends of the Library sale too. The paperbacks were $1 each. The hardbacks were $3 and $2 each. The $3 ones were published in 2005 and later. Meaning the book could be falling apart but if it was published in 2005 it was $3! Kids books were .50 and $1. I bought 3 books – 2 books for the boys and one for myself. Not sure I’ll even bother going next year! Congrats on your great loot!

  17. November 14, 2009 9:00 pm

    What an incredible haul! My next friends of the library sale isn’t until January, but I’m eagerly awaiting. I’ve got a few of your new acquisitions lurking on my shelves, but I think the only one I’ve read is Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry. I remember loving it so much when I was younger that I picked up a copy somewhere so I can read it again – which says a lot coming from me, considering I’m really not much of a re-reader. If I recall correctly, Taylor wrote a few books about those same characters, so if you like that one, I think there are more to be had! :)

  18. November 14, 2009 9:21 pm

    Now that is an impressive pile. And impressive too that you went so long without buying books. You deserve a nice pile after holding out so long. Library sales are great and cheap, so you don’t even need to feel guilty!

  19. November 14, 2009 10:12 pm

    That is one fantastic pile of books. How fun!

  20. November 14, 2009 10:26 pm

    Oh, how I can relate to the cheering powers of the library booksale after a bad day of grad school. Of course, I don’t have the willpower to abstain for a year – I think three months or so is the longest I’ve managed!

    The Lions of Al-Rassan is one of my favorites of Kay’s books; I hope you love it too!

  21. November 14, 2009 10:41 pm

    beautiful haul…I was drawn to Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry since I’ve been more into YA/Childrens Lit lately.

  22. November 14, 2009 11:15 pm

    I love bag day at the library sale! I’ve read a few of these- Pilgrim at Tinker Creek is very good, Clay Walls I couldn’t get into, Moby Dick is intricate and long and fascinating. All the others are new to me!

  23. twyls permalink
    November 15, 2009 12:05 am

    You know, I became interested in Goodreads.com, book blogs, and eventually blogging with my husband about books in order to talk about them. I had no idea that this venture would explode my book list. I’m very happy that you have obtained some of the books off your list. Now to find the time to read them all, right?

    Congrats on the finds. Oh, and consider this an open invite to help me pack books in the next bag sale I go to, okay?

    Amanda (twyls)

  24. November 15, 2009 12:18 am

    What a haul! Totally impressed – and I am a fool for those friends of the library booksales at my library. Am noting a number of your titles for future reading, but have read the first, I’m Not Scared which was very good. Happy Reading!

  25. November 15, 2009 12:22 am

    It seems like the Friends sales are always when I can’t go! At least my branch has the shelves of used books that I look at everytime I go to the library. Sometimes I’m lucky, sometimes not.

    I have been trying to find “October Suite” ever since reading about it somewhere a few years ago (I guess it’s now out of print). Let me know if I should keep looking for it!

    I have all of Christie’s and Sayers’ books, but its been years since I’ve last read them! Lord Peter is awesome!

    “Roll of Thunder, Hear Me Cry” is a wonderful book; I read it so many times when I was a kid and I still have my old, battered copy. I need to re-read it now, because I don’t think I remember too much of the plot anymore!

    Enjoy all your new-to-you books :-)!

  26. November 15, 2009 3:28 am

    Wow – 32 books in a bag. I am so jealous. I wish we had sales like that over here. Enjoy your lovely books.

  27. Shanra permalink
    November 15, 2009 4:37 am

    (Please, someone remind me that wanting books because you’re fond of the protagonist’s name is not a good reason to put it on your wishlist…)

    Whinge out of the way… 32 books?! O_O I wish our library had sales li– No, actually, I don’t. They’d only have Dutch books and bestsellers I have no interest in reading. If they had a sale like that it’d be useless for me to attend. But still! That’s an awful lot of books! O_O

    I’ve only heard of (and read!) two of the books in your haul. “The Lions of Al-Rassan” (which I promptly passed on to my mum, who doesn’t like fantasy, but I can hope books like that will change her mind a little regarding subgenres) and “Perfume” which I should really reread. I first encountered (and read) it in secondary school. It was on our German reading list, sounded interesting and (as a bonus) would count towards two books instead of one because of the difficulty. I’m not sure how much I missed out on understanding because I’m not the most fluent in German, so eventually I picked it up in English and… it’s been sitting on my shelf ever since.
    I liked it, but thought it was just that tad disturbing. I think. It was years and years ago.

    And that would probably more than you wanted to know. ^-~

  28. November 15, 2009 4:40 am

    I would definitely recommend the Carol Shields, she is fantastic, then The Terro which I read for RIP III. What a wonderful pile of books!

  29. November 15, 2009 7:05 am

    Wow what a wonderful collection of books, thats quite the haul. Library sales I have been to in the UK are dreadful they mark them and stamp them and they are torn etc, ok they maybe 10p but even so. This looks amazing.

    Where to start… oh goodness the choice is too great. Go for something McEwan and Saturday is menat to be the hardest of them all!

  30. November 15, 2009 7:06 am

    You have so many great books there, I can’t decide which ones to mention in this comment!! Enjoy.

  31. November 15, 2009 8:06 am

    Wow I’m so impressed (and I checked out your haul in the canvas bag, which contains some pretty great books). I think you should start with Moby Dick because I have yet to know anyone who has finished it and I think it’s time I was vicariously intellectual.

  32. November 15, 2009 8:23 am

    Oh my heavens! What a supremely delicious haul, Eva. You are quite the book-in-bag packer! I’m especially interested to find out what you think of Pearl Cleague. I’ve wanted to read her stuff for years, so I’m hoping it’s good. I have Saturday and a number of others on my own shelves, so I’m no help there, but I would heartily recommend you jump on the Theban Plays ASAP. My English teacher in our Sophomore year of high school had us read Oedipus Rex and Antigone, and I fell in looooove. Especially with Antigone–awesome stuff. I plan to re-read one day, but those are always famous last words. lol

  33. November 15, 2009 9:30 am

    My eyes almost just popped out of my head. You lucky girl. I loved Fall on Your Knees.

  34. November 15, 2009 9:35 am

    My eyes, officially not unlike saucers upon reading you could pay $5 for as many books as you could fit in a bag. What kind of madness is this? Were you limited to only one bag? I think I’d have tried for two.

  35. piningforthewest permalink
    November 15, 2009 10:57 am

    I’m so jealous. I would start with Busman’s Honeymoon although that’s not my favourite – Gaudy Night is. I love Sayers and when I lived in Witham the office I worked in backed on to the house she had lived in for many years, unfortunately she was dead by then.

  36. November 15, 2009 11:47 am

    Wow, that is just simply a ton of books :) Congrats on finding all those treasures!

    I have read Fall on your Knees, and it is one of my all time favorites. Its been haunting me since I read it. Dark and sad, but also with humour added.

    Daughter of Fortune is a wonderful read, which I also laughed, smiled and cried my way through. I’ve loved most Isabel Allende books I’ve read, and this one was no exception.

    What looks like crazy on an ordinary day was also a great read. It was strong and powerful, but in a way I think I had expected a bit more, since it was the talk of the town when I read it.

    HAPPY READING!

  37. November 15, 2009 12:45 pm

    We read Roll of Thunder… in seventh grade, I can’t believe it wasn’t a standard when you were in middle school, that’s so weird! But anyway, it was pretty good… you’re lucky, you’ll be reading it without having to analyze every character’s action because in school my teacher made us come up with an explanation for every detail and usually that starts to make the book a huge weight on your shoulder after a while. But I’m sure you’ll enjoy it, it’s an easy read but it has some powerful messages.

  38. November 15, 2009 4:51 pm

    ohmigosh, I LOVE Lions of Al-Rassan! One of my favorite books ever and definitely on my pile to re-read for the challenge that I still haven’t posted about :-) I can’t wait to see your reaction to it (unless you dislike it).

  39. November 15, 2009 5:14 pm

    I loved Spirits in the Wires. It’ really wel-done :)

  40. November 16, 2009 3:56 am

    Wow a resolution not to buy books? I don’t think I can do it. But I going to attempt to do it next year. Because I really need to cut down on my reading and study more. I am really impressed by your resolution!

    Happy reading, enjoy your books!

  41. November 16, 2009 4:51 am

    That is just fantastic loot! Two of my very favorite books are among the many great ones in your bag – The Lions of al-Rassan by Guy Gavriel Kay and Daughter of Fortune by Isabel Allende. Ysabel was not one of Kay’s great books, although it was pretty good, while Lions is one of my two favorites by him.

    Anyway, I hope you enjoy!

  42. November 16, 2009 11:06 am

    funny, I picked up some of those same titles at a similar sale a couple months ago!

  43. November 16, 2009 11:56 am

    JustaBookReader, I’m glad!

    Kerry, I love de Lint, but the only one I owned before this was THe Little COuntry.

    Darrne, thanks!

    Biblio Brat, isn’t Allende marvelous? I’ve read one of Sheild’s short story collections and dind’t love it, but everyone said Stone Diaries is much better! I hope I enjoyed Pilgrim at Tinker Creek more than you. ;)

    Lisa, LOL. I’ve culled my shelves a lot, so I’ve given up morebooks that I bought. ;)

    Helen, thanks!

    Becker, I’m glad you enjoyed it!

    HistoryofShe, that’s interesting…I know Raych wasn’t a huge fan, so I’m curious about it too. :)

    Debi, lol! Seriously-I looked like I was in a weight room at the gym trying to get access to all those books. ;)

    Kate, I didn’t know that! That makes me feel better about getting it, so thanks for telling me. :)

    BookshelfMonstrosity, I think I’m around 200 TBR books as well. ;)

    Christy, if you haven’t read him before, I highly recommend starting with The Little Country.

    Beastmomma, I just keep moving them around so I take advantage of every little space. ;)

    TY, lol-thanks! And you’re OBSESSED with ferality girl.

    Kailana, thanks!

    Dana, I think earlier in the sale, that’s what prices were like too. But this was the last day. I’m sorry you didn’t get more!

    Megan, that’s awesome about Roll of Thunder!!!

    Danielle, exactly. :D

    Trisha, thank yoU!

    Fyrefly, I’m excited about it!

    Bybee, I’ve been enjoying more YA/children’s list this year too. :)

    Jeane, glad to hear that you’ve read a few of them!

    Amanda, lol! I’d definitely help you pack if we lived close enough. ;)

    Susan, thanks. I loved I’m NOt Scared too!

    Valerie, aww-well, I’m glad you have a browse whenever you go to the library. :) Once I read October Suite, I’ll pass it along to you. Lord Peter is awesome!

    Vivienne, thanks! :)

    Shanra, LOL. I’m glad you loved Lions of Al-Rassan! I can’t imagine reading Perfume in German, lol.

    BrrdeoftheBOokGod, thanks for your recs! :)

    SavidgeReads, that sounds depressing. This was a friends of the library sale, so instead of actual former library books, they’re books people have donated. :)

    JoAnn, lol-thanks!

    Jodie, yeah-there are so many books at our library sales that you can find some real gems as long as you check everything. :) THere’s a Moby DIck read-a-long beginning that I find really tempting.

    ANdi, thanks! I love that you loved the Theban Plays!

    Lola, lol-thank you!

    Jenny, hehe. YOu could have more than one bag, but these were all the books I wanted. There’s a lot of dross at the sales too. ;)

    PiningfortheWest, Gaudy Night is so awesome. :D

    Louise, thanks for sharing your thoughts on those three! I’d never hard of WHat Looks Like Crazy, etc. so at least I don’t have super high expectations going in.

    Nosilas, my 7th grade English teacher was a bit odd, lol, so maybe she deviated from the curicculum. ;)

    Aarti, your parantheses crakced me up! But you’ve made me more excited than ever to read it!

    Maree, awesome!

    Kate, it helps when you’re unemployed so you don’t have any money anyway. lol

    Meghan, ohh-I’m glad to hear that about Guy Gavriel Kay! (I love his name, btw)

    JT, that is funny! I know several of these were Oprah picks, so I’d imagine they’re a bit more common. ;)

  44. November 16, 2009 12:25 pm

    AWESOME! What a great collection of books. I can’t even begin to tell you where to begin. For me, it would be, as always, the library book(s) due this week ;)

  45. stacybuckeye permalink
    November 16, 2009 12:59 pm

    As soon as I leave this message I’m going to my library’s website to find the next sale. I’m so jealous! Thanks for reminding about Portraits of Sepia. I read Daughter of Fortune (loved it) years ago and forget it had a sequel.

  46. November 16, 2009 5:19 pm

    Congratulations on all those books for $5! You got some great titles. And you are indeed a master packer. I can’t believe you got all of that in one bag! By the way, I look forward to future vlogs featuring your color coded shelves. I enjoyed the pink and red episode :)

  47. December 9, 2009 6:50 pm

    I’m sure you already know about Canada Reads, but Fall On Your Knees by Anne-Marie Macdonald is one of the contenders.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

