Skip to content

Not My Usual Sunday Fare

November 8, 2009

Hello darlings. I’m posting from a nest of pillows with suitable heating pads distributed around, and I’ve totally got fibro brain so a review would just be silly.

But. My mom picked up Season One of BBC’s Robin Hood for me at the library yesterday, and it is so wonderful! I am completely obsessed! (Have now put second season on hold, and am eyeing the season three episodes available for free thanks to my digital cable…trying to resist them due to spoilers.) So if you too are searching for some great TV on DVD, I recommend it. :D It’s a totally modern approach to the Middle Ages-there are all sorts of 21st century jokes, and Marian is an uber-feminist, and while there’s been lots of icky near-misses with torture and murder (after all, the Sheriff of Nottingham has to be evil), there’s been nary a hint of rape or threatened rape. I find that so refreshing; it’s a fun adventure series with tongue firmly in cheek and lots of eye candy. Wit, action, romance…what more could I ask for from a TV series?

Lord knows how long I’ll be sick. So would you like to recommend some TV on DVD for me to check out from the library? I own all of Bones, The Office, and Sex and the City, and series I’ve rented in the past and enjoyed include Pushing Daisies, Scrubs, and Frasier. Just make sure it’s not wildly popular, since I’d rather not be #100-something on my library’s hold list. ;)

56 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2009 2:25 pm

    I am so sorry that you are not feeling well. I wish that I could help you feel better, but I can recommend some good stuff to rent.

    Based on what you have enjoyed, I would recommend the following series that I have watched and enjoyed:
    Arrested Development (on for three seasons, but hilarious)
    Freaks & Geeks (it only ran for one season)
    The Wire (this is more drama, but holy goodness is it AMAZING!)
    Alias (much better in the start, but still good to carry through)

    The following are series which have been recommended to me and I am passing along to you because I think that we may have similar tastes:
    Gilmore Girls
    Buffy the Vampire Slayer
    Six Feet Under
    Sopranos
    West Wing

    I have also heard good things about 30 Rock, but I believe that falls into wildly popular.

    Feel better Eva!!!!!!

  2. November 8, 2009 2:35 pm

    I hope you feel better soon! We love Robin Hood at our house – although if I was Marian, I think I’d choose Guy over Robin any day. (I’ve got a wee bit of a Richard Armitage crush.)

    I second Gilmore Girls – perfect DVD viewing for when you’re not feeling good. Also, The New Adventures of Old Christine is hysterical.

  3. November 8, 2009 2:36 pm

    I second Gilmore Girls! I love that show for the wonderful characters and all the references to books. Great series. I’m in season 6 now.

    Hope your flare up goes away soon!

  4. November 8, 2009 2:37 pm

    Sorry to hear you are not feeling well. Hope things get better soon. In the meantime, if you enjoyed the BBC’s Robin Hood, you will probably like the BBC’s new series Merlin. I much prefer it! Best wishes xx

  5. November 8, 2009 2:38 pm

    Oh and I’ve caught a few reruns of Chuck recently. It is really silly but fun!

  6. November 8, 2009 2:43 pm

    Yes to Gilmore Girls, double yes to West Wing. I also have been enjoying Big Love, Psych, and NCIS from my library lately.

  7. November 8, 2009 2:45 pm

    Sorry to hear you’re not feeling well. I third Gilmore Girls and second West Wing and Chuck.

  8. November 8, 2009 2:58 pm

    One miniseries I recently picked up is HBO’s John Adams. IDK if you’re into that kind of thing, but the historian in me thought it was really interesting. The first few episodes were my favorites.

    Feel better soon! :)

  9. November 8, 2009 3:00 pm

    If you like Scrubs, then I would highly recommend Psych, which is like JD & Turk if they were detectives instead of doctors. The mysteries are kind of flimsy, but it’s funny and you don’t really have to watch the episodes in any kind of order or pay lots of attention to enjoy the show.

    Also, not sure what your tastes are in terms of tv really, but if you haven’t seen Arrested Development then you really should because it is the funniest show ever. It is really clever and rewards faithful fans, and it’s just soooo good. Other good comedies: How I Met Your Mother, The Office (UK version), and Community (which is a new show but can be watched on Hulu)!

    From the more dramatic standpoint, if you like Bones, you might enjoy Castle, which is a detective series, but generally less gory and maybe more funny. And Castle is a writer of pulp crime novels which is always fun! Other “hour-long” shows that we have enjoyed: The West Wing (surprisingly funny), Gilmore Girls (I really only love the first season, but I did watch it to the bitter end), first season of The O.C. (this is really the only season worth watching), and Buffy The Vampire Slayer (my all-time favorite show), Chuck and Alias (it fantastic the first two seasons, and then goes downhill). You might also enjoy Felicity, which has an AMAZING first season.

    Hope your fibro works itself sooner rather than later! I was sick for almost a week with something flu-ish and that was bad enough, so I know all about only wanting to watch tv rather than doing much reading!

  10. November 8, 2009 3:17 pm

    Well my most of my favourites have already been said but I’ll just add my vote

    Castle
    The West Wing
    Gilmore Girls
    Buffy
    NCIS
    Merlin

    Ones I don’t know if you have seen but are well worth it:
    Foyle’s War
    Cranford

    Really anything from the BBC will be good.

    Hope you feel better soon

  11. November 8, 2009 3:22 pm

    TOTALLY agree on West Wing. That show is amazing. I don’t know if you’re a LOST fan, but it’s a pretty unbelievably awesome show, although it is pretty popular. But there have been 5 or 6 seasons so you might be able to get the first few easily? I also loved Nip/Tuck back before it got super weird as it is now, but it’s a pretty gory show so I don’t know what your tastes are on that…

    I really hope you feel better soon!

  12. November 8, 2009 3:33 pm

    I agree with everyone who suggested Gilmore Girls. If you have never watched it you absolutely must give it a try. I also agree with the numerous Buffy suggestions.

    One less well-known but excellent show is Dead Like Me. If you have Netflix, they are usually available to watch instantly.

    Hope you feel better soon.

  13. November 8, 2009 3:47 pm

    I love Robin Hood as well. I think last season was the best (the season finale was unforgettable). I’m a bit disappointed with this season but I am not giving up on the show yet.

    I agree that Gilmore Girls and Buffy are always good shows to fall back on.

    A friend recently recommended Dead Like Me, which I rented from Netflix, and my husband and I are really enjoying it. It is full of fantastic dry humor that Ellen Muth pulls off perfectly. Give the first episode a chance and you will be hooked.

    I hope you feel better soon. Enjoy all the shows.

  14. November 8, 2009 3:52 pm

    Since I’m here late, some of my suggestions have already been made by other people :-), but I’ll cast one more vote for “Gilmore Girls,” “The West Wing,” and “Buffy.” (Especially in the first three seasons, “The West Wing” has some of the best TV writing EVER.)

    Other suggestions:
    “Burn Notice” (currently partway through its third season, but I think the first two are on DVD) – character-driven crime drama with major/minor story arcs and a LOT of humor
    “Life on Mars,” the US version (it was originally on BBC, but I’ve never seen that version) – it only ran one season, and it’s kind of quirky, but my husband and I really liked it.

  15. historyofshe permalink
    November 8, 2009 4:24 pm

    Pushing Daisies = one of the most amazing shows that was ever on TV.

    I am so sad they cancelled it– I think it was too clever and abstract for primetime TV ;P Shame.

  16. November 8, 2009 4:46 pm

    I’ve been watching all the old episodes of Dark Shadows. Good old fashioned Gothic goodness!

  17. November 8, 2009 5:02 pm

    The Wire
    The Wire
    The Wire
    The Wire
    The Wire

    oh and The Wire

  18. November 8, 2009 5:32 pm

    Hi Eva,
    Sorry to hear you’re not feeling well and I hope you’re better soon. I don’t watch much television myself, but was recently considering renting all the Buffy shows just because I feel like I’m the only person left who has never seen that show.

    How about the X-files? That’s probably the only tv show I ever watched religiously.

  19. November 8, 2009 5:36 pm

    Oh dear. Hope you feel better soon. No recommendations as I don’t watch tv, but there’s always books on audio….

  20. November 8, 2009 5:48 pm

    A lot of my favorites have already been mentioned, but here they are:

    Gilmore Girls
    NCIS
    Buffy the Vampire Slayer
    Sopranos (although I still haven’t seen the last season)
    Dead Like Me (there’s also Wonderfalls by the same guy which is about 13 episodes long, but I haven’t seen it yet)
    Castle
    Veronica Mars

    I hope you feel better soon!

  21. November 8, 2009 5:48 pm

    I used all these great suggestions to add titles to my netflix and now my queue is almost at 300. Granted, I had a lot of other titles already, but I could not resist taking advantage of all the terrific suggestions :)

  22. November 8, 2009 6:06 pm

    I don’t like it when you’re not feeling well…

    Have you seen any Curb Your Enthusiasm? How about My So-Called Life? It was only on for a season, but it was great. Good old Simpsons and Family Guy are always fun. I’ve also been on a bit of a documentary kick lately. The John Adams miniseries that came out last year is amazing.

  23. November 8, 2009 6:39 pm

    I’ve had robin hood on the netflix queue for a while! I think someone recommended it to me some time ago. Plus, I’m pretty sure Richard Armitage is in it, and he’s just so fun to look at…

    I HIGHLY, HIGHLY recommend the series Deadwood. It is absolutely fantastic. And maybe Flight of the Conchords, though that is probably harder to get your hands on. But it’s fun :-)

  24. November 8, 2009 7:21 pm

    Yet another vote for Gilmore Girls!!

    Lately I’ve also been loving:

    The Big Bang Theory
    Castle
    Lie to Me

    Oh, another good one is Firefly. I wasn’t into the whole space cowboy thing at first, but ended up loving the series.

    I hope you’re feeling better soon!

  25. November 8, 2009 8:01 pm

    So sorry you’re not feeling well.

    Like everyone else, I get Gilmore Girls even if you saw them all before.

    How about Rome? Or a miniseries: Bleak House? Bleak House is really well done and stars Gillian Anderson.

  26. November 8, 2009 8:08 pm

    Hope you’re better soon.

  27. November 8, 2009 8:09 pm

    Television is a (kind of pathetic) passion of mine, and now you’ve given me another series to watch! As for some recommendations for you, I would say Firefly (over and over and over again), NCIS, The X-Files, and Battlestar Galactica. I hope you feel better.

  28. November 8, 2009 8:42 pm

    I hope you feel better soon! For tv shows here are a few of my favorites:

    The Big Bang Theory

    I don’t know how you feel about sci fi shows, but I’ve watch them a lot. Here are some of my favs:

    Sanctuary (Sci Fi Channel)

    Being Human (BBC-it’s about a vampire, werewolf & ghost trying to be human-it’s on season 1)

    Torchwood-(Another bbc show. Explaining it is hard~but it’s my absolute fav show right now.)

    I totally loved the movie Lost In Austen-if you rent it, give time as it starts off slow.

  29. November 8, 2009 8:47 pm

    I’d recommend Buffy as a general thing, just because it’s amazing – but only watch maybe the first, seventh, and last episode of the first season, to get a feel for how things are going; and then go on to the second season. (Or just read recaps of series one on Wikipedia and skip to the second season to start with.) And Gilmore Girls is nice for when you’re sick – it’s fun and it doesn’t demand too much from your brain.

  30. November 8, 2009 9:11 pm

    I’m not going to read the comments, so I’m totally sure someone’s said this before: it’s got Richard Armitage! LOVE him in the second season… We tried to watch the 3rd (but it jumped the shark at the end of the 2nd) on YouTube… perhaps we’ll get it. But the first season is totally worth it.

    Hope you get to feeling more like yourself again. :-)

  31. November 8, 2009 10:15 pm

    LOST, Buffy, Wonderfalls (if you enjoyed PD, it’s a must), 24, Mad Men, Supernatural, The Closer (seriously one of my favorite overlooked shows), LOST….

    I can’t wait to hear more about what you’re watching!

  32. November 8, 2009 10:34 pm

    How about just watching North and South, and then Vicar of Dibley and then Robin Hood over and over and over again! LOL!

    Hope you feel better soon.

  33. November 8, 2009 11:26 pm

    Sorry to hear you aren’t feeling so hot. :( I hate that feeling. I’ve been feeling the blahs, and my shoulder is killing me. Not the same thing, but still. I’d give just about anything to curl up under my covers and just hibernate for awhile. Ah…dare to dream!!

    Well….I’m a new Gilmore Girls follower, but I love the show. Hmmm….so many good recommendations. I’m a huge LOST fan, so if you like really weird shows that never tell you what’s really going on….that’s for you!!

    Also just started the seasons to Supernatural. Fun. Ummmm. Have you ever watched Torchwood? It’s on the BBC. Kind of fun too!!

    Hope you feel better soon. I’ve missed your late nights on Twitter!! I was lonely last night!

  34. November 9, 2009 2:39 am

    Another suggestion is The Wire :)

    For comedy, I’m really enjoying How I Met Your Mother…don’t believe the naysayers who say it’s a clone of Friends…it’s better

    Arrested Development is still the greatest comedy show

    Deadwood is brilliant…filthy, absolutely profane, demanding and utterly unmissable.

    Buffy & Angel – love, love them

    The Inbetweeners – a UK comedy show about a group of friends who are between children and adulthood. It’s an acquired taste….I think it’s very funny but it is quite puerile and immature humour but they do get the fears and anxiety of being a teenager down quite well.

    Six Feet Under….in fact you can’t go wrong with HBO

    finally…The Wire: The Best TV Show EverTM

  35. November 9, 2009 4:14 am

    Most people have covered all of my suggestions already! I’ll echo Gilmore Girls, Firefly, and The Big Bang Theory in particular. I love LOST as well, and the first seasons will definitely help you take your mind off anything else, but it gets complicated towards the end and I’m not sure I would be able to figure everything out while I was sick. Still, I will hope you feel much better before you get that far.

    My own suggestion would be Red Dwarf, if your library has it. It’s a British comedy show about a bunch of people that get stranded in space something like a million years in the future, and I think it’s just hilarious.

  36. November 9, 2009 5:55 am

    Sorry, I don’t have any recommendations. But I do want to send loads and loads of hugs, my sweet friend!

  37. Katie permalink
    November 9, 2009 6:18 am

    Hi Eva,

    I follow you on my google reader and enjoy your book recommendations and postings. Here’s my recommendation:

    It’s not available at the library yet, but you can find Val McDermid’s “A Place of Execution” at the website for PBS Contemporary Masterpiece. The first and second “chapters” are currently available there and the DVD version comes out in December. This is one of my favorite McDermid mysteries and the first chapter was great.

    Feel better soon!

  38. November 9, 2009 7:29 am

    We have some really good TV series here in the UK. I’m not sure how many are available in the US, but it is worth looking for any of the Sarah Water’s adaptations: Fingersmith, Tipping the Velvet, Affinity.

    I also love Outnumbered. It is a really funny series on parenting.

    I agree with the anything by the BBC recommndation above.

    I also love 24, 4400 and Fastforward.

    Happy watching!

  39. November 9, 2009 8:20 am

    I’ll add to the chorus: The West Wing, Gilmore Girls, Veronica Mars, Felicity.

    Agree with Jackie about the Sarah Waters’ adaptations and Lost in Austen also great.

    If you can find it, I’d recommend The House of Eliot which is about two sisters in 1920s London who open their own fashion house.

    I’m watching John Adams just now and think it is too heavy for when you are feeling poorly – feel better soon!

    I hope you enjoy whatever you end up watching.

  40. November 9, 2009 8:27 am

    I always recommend House M.D. The early seasons (1-3) were breathtaking and hilarious and dramatic and awesome. Now, not so much. lol Hope you’re feeling better soon, dearie!

  41. November 9, 2009 8:37 am

    I completely agree with Jackie, Fingersmith was brilliant. I love BBC America, and some of my favorite series now on DVD include Gavin & Stacey, a delightful comedy, and Primeval, which is a sci-fi series, really well done.

    If you like classic literary adaptations, Bleak House is FANTASTIC, it got me completely hooked on Dickens. There are also a lot of great Jane Austen adaptations, and Wives & Daughters is just wonderful. Oh! Also, Love in a Cold Climate.

    For American TV, I love Mad Men and Project Runway.

    Hope you feel better soon.

  42. November 9, 2009 9:28 am

    I hope you’re feeling better soon. It looks like people have given you a lot of great suggestions in the meantime.

  43. November 9, 2009 10:13 am

    If you want something totally addictive, I suggest Battlestar Galactica. I’m not a sci fi person, and I loved this series. Great characters, great themes.

    Also Mad Men, which is fun.

    And anything from the BBC!

  44. November 9, 2009 10:46 am

    Sorry to hear you’re under the weather, but at least you get to watch great TV! I really enjoyed the Robin Hood series, which surprised me because I like my history accurate but it was funny, fresh, and Richard Armitage was just such a hoot.

    In addition to RH, Gilmore Girls, West Wing, I can contribute the suggestion of The House of Elliot–set in the 1920’s in England, it chronicles the story of two sisters who make their way in the fashion world. The clothes and music are worth watching the series for, but the acting and stories are superb.

    I also really enjoyed Rome and The Tudors, but both are definitely in the R category, so be forewarned.

    Feel better soon.

  45. November 9, 2009 10:49 am

    Have you seen Firefly? I love love that series. So funny and the characters are just amazing. You don’t have to like sci-fi to enjoy it.

  46. November 9, 2009 11:54 am

    Isn’t Robin just gorgeous! Secret Diaries of a Call Girl is funny and cute, if a little saucy. Also Cutting It and Jake’s Progress are good English dramas that aren’t so likely to be too in demand in the US
    West Wing as everyone has said is fab, I just sit their drooling over Sam

    Hope your feeling better soon xx

  47. November 9, 2009 12:48 pm

    Oh I love TV on DVD! I have a lot of it to! I liked Smallville (which is probably popular), Friends, The X-files, One Tree Hill, Friends, Will & Grace, Grey’s Anatomy, I Love Lucy is really good to! I have a lot more then that but for whatever reason I can only think of those. I started The Tudors but there’s a lot of sex in it although I don’t think any more then Sex and the City. It’s also kind of upsetting because I already know how it ends since it starts with the Anne Boleyn part.

    Hope you feel better!

  48. November 9, 2009 12:54 pm

    Gilmore Girls definitely:) I love love loved it. Along with it West Wing and Grey’s Anatomy and Fraiser.

  49. November 9, 2009 1:38 pm

    Charmed is good if you like the supernatural and witch style of programming. I loved Brothers and Sisters too. If you are watching English programmes, can I also recommend Primeval. It is utterly fabulous and was one of the programmes put out on a Saturday night, receiving the highest viewing. It is British drama at its best.

  50. November 9, 2009 1:39 pm

    Can you get Most Haunted out there. That is fabulous. They go around haunted houses, trying to prove that ghosts really exist. This is so British.

  51. November 9, 2009 4:34 pm

    I read through all the comments to get some suggestions on what to watch while I recuperate from flu (and for my two family members who haven’t caught it yet). So thanks for asking this question.

    I’d like to put in a third (I think) vote for Firefly. It’s by Joss Whedon, like Buffy the Vampire Slayer, but it’s clever instead of gross and scary. And it’s old enough to be off the wildly popular list. If you like it, there’s a movie that should be watched after you’ve watched all the tv shows.

    I’m sending lots of sympathy for you being laid up.

  52. November 10, 2009 11:27 am

    I’m going to throw my votes behind Gilmore Girls, Arrested Development, and Big Bang Theory (which gives me the serious lolz).

  53. November 11, 2009 9:15 am

    Most of my favourites have already been mentioned multiple times, so I’ll just second Lie To Me. And I’ll suggest The Mentalist – crime, comedy, and the very cute Simon Baker.

    I hope you’re feeling better.

  54. November 11, 2009 9:54 pm

    Eva, I’m so sorry you’re not feeling well! I certainly hope you get back to your normal healthy self again soon.

    I’m late chiming in because I’ve been down with the flu, but I’m feeling so much better tonight!

    As for tv shows, obviously you’ve got a ton of suggestions and someone else has probably already mentioned this but I LOVE The West Wing and I have all seven seasons. It’s the only tv series I keep going back too! Since I know you’re into political stuff (well, more international stuff), maybe you’d love it if you haven’t seen it already. The first four seasons are the best…ah, now I want to go watch it again!

    Anyway, feel better soon!

  55. November 12, 2009 5:35 pm

    I’m a bit late to this (sorry, been juggling mama and sick partner) but I one-millionth the Buffy recommendations (you will love it!) and Terri is really into The Wire. I’ve heard good things about Battlestar Galactica and Rome, too. We also really enjoy Criminal Minds and, if you want total fluff, most seasons of Top Model are pretty fun to watch.

    I think all my suggestions have been suggested. When I’m feeling sick, all I really want to watch are old 80s movies like Moonstruck and anything with Michelle Pfeiffer.

  56. November 16, 2009 12:56 pm

    Thanks so much for the suggestions everyone! My library didn’t have all of the series (especially some of the cool-sounding British ones), and some I’m at the end of a long queue, but I did get a few of the ones you suggested. :) I’ll post about them in my Library Loot.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

