Skip to content

Library Loot: October 28-November 3, 2009

October 28, 2009

library-lootLibrary Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by myself and Marg that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries!

Want to share your loot?

Can you believe it’s almost November?! I can’t! I didn’t get that much loot from the library this week, and I returned a BUNCH of books, so my books checked out number is back to normal (in the 30s), which makes me feel better. :) Also, I’m still a bit vlogged out from the read-a-thon, so there won’t be a vlog this week. Instead, since I barely got any books, I’m going through them individually with more comments than usual. Next week will see the return of my standard LL style! :)

UnderstandingComics
Understanding Comics by Scott McCloud
I’ve been on the hold list for this one for some time thanks to Nymeth, and Rebecca’s review made me even more excited to read it! I’ve just really gotten into graphic books this year, and so I hoped this book would give me some background and insight into the form. (I actually already read this one, and it was so totally awesome you will see me gushing soon!)
SaudiArabiaExposed
Saudi Arabia Exposed by John Bradley
This is for my World Citizen Challenge (I’ve been trying to read 2 books a month for it); obviously, it’s about Saudi Arabia. I’m a little hesitant because the title and cover are so sensationalistic, but Bradley does speak Arabic. And I can always stop reading if it seems silly.
Connected
Connected by Daniel Altman
Isn’t that a fun cover? This is for my World Citizen Challenge as well; it’s a book about globalisation, but it seems to be more from the descriptive stance than an argumentative one. I have pretty high hopes. :)
Backpack
Backpack by Emily Barr
After reading Tara’s review, I thought this would be perfect for the read-a-thon! Unfortunately, my library’s copy was missing, so they ILLed it for me, but it came in two days after the read-a-thon. I might give it a try anyway-I can’t remember the last time I read a chick lit book, and this one has a fun travel spin!
TheOwlKillers
The Owl Killers by Karen Maitland
Honestly, I’ve been on the hold list for this one for so long I have no clue why I orginally went for it! I’m guessing it was a British book blogger, though, because it wasn’t released in the States until September. :) Reading the summary at Powell’s, I bet I grabbed it because it’s set in the 1300s and involve an all-women commune. Isn’t that cover gorgeous?! I’ve just been staring at it since I got it from the library.
UnnaturalDeath
Unnatural Death by Dorothy Sayers
Several bloggers have reviewed/discussed Gaudy Night recently, and since I’ve been a long-time fan of Sayers, I suddenly started craving Lord Wimsey.
Truckers
Truckers by Terry Pratchett
I’ve only read some of Pratchett’s YA books (Nation and the Discworld spinoff Tiffany Aching books), but I’ve loved them all. I was saying on Twitter the other day that his Discworld series intimidates me from its sheer size, and a couple people recommended trying out this (also YA, also a Discworld spinoff) trilogy. :) One day soon, I’ll graduate to Pratchett’s adult books…I promise. ;)

32 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2009 8:51 am

    Wow, this was a slow week for you!

  2. October 28, 2009 9:37 am

    I’ve never read Truckers but I love Pratchett. Enjoy!

  3. October 28, 2009 10:10 am

    Great selection! I’m looking forward to seeing your reviews!

  4. October 28, 2009 10:13 am

    Understanding Comics is sublime. He’s Making Comics is another fascinating read if you’re interesting in creating comics, and if you’re not then it’s still great.

    I would recommend Comics and Sequential Art by Will Eisner.

  5. October 28, 2009 10:14 am

    Understanding Comics is sublime. His Making Comics is another fascinating read if you’re interesting in creating comics, and even if you’re not then it’s still great.

    I would recommend Comics and Sequential Art by Will Eisner.

  6. October 28, 2009 10:14 am

    whoops double post

    now triple

  7. October 28, 2009 10:46 am

    You always have such a good collection of loot. I’m always a little jealous. I’m almost afraid to go to my own library because my TBR pile is so high.

  8. October 28, 2009 11:00 am

    Wow, that is a lot of looT!

  9. October 28, 2009 11:41 am

    I enjoyed Understanding comics so much I ended up returning the borrowed copy to the library and buying my own. I would also recommend the book Wordless Books. Different slant on a similar topic.

  10. October 28, 2009 12:26 pm

    I have a couple of Emily Barr books in my book collection. I really need to get around to reading them.

  11. October 28, 2009 12:41 pm

    Thank you for the fabulous book suggestions. I shall definitely write those ones down to choose from.

  12. anidaadler permalink
    October 28, 2009 2:09 pm

    Oooh, Terry Pratchett! I lurve his books too, and highly recommend The Amazing Maurice and his Educated Rodents, in the YA category. But the man is hardly capable of putting a letter wrong, I think you can read anything by him and it will be great.

    Here’s my loot list, hope I did everything right. I think this is a fantastic idea.

    http://anidaadler.wordpress.com/2009/10/28/library-loot/

  13. October 28, 2009 2:30 pm

    The Bromeliad trilogy is actually not related to Discworld, but it’s totally awesome and I hope you love it :D And yes, you MUST read Maurice too!! One of my VERY favourites of his books, and you know that’s saying a lot.

  14. fleurfisher permalink
    October 28, 2009 3:00 pm

    Nice loot – if a small haul by your usual standards. I read The Owl Killers a few weeks ago and was quite bedazzled. and I’ll second Tara’s recommendation of Emily Barr – I’m not a lover of chick lit, but she does something quite distinctive – and she does it very well.

  15. October 28, 2009 7:00 pm

    That is quite an array of books – Enjoy your reading!

  16. October 28, 2009 11:22 pm

    Understanding Comics is such a great read. You’ll love it. Happy reading.

  17. October 29, 2009 1:22 am

    I love The Bromeliad Trilogy :)

  18. October 29, 2009 4:36 am

    All ur books sound good. Hope u enjoy them. I haven’t read Discworld series too.. Will do that eventually..

  19. October 29, 2009 6:19 am

    I’m so glad you loved Scott McCloud’s book too!

  20. October 29, 2009 7:43 am

    Hi!
    Great stack of books! Love the cover on Backpack! I’ll have to see if my library has that one. Yea, I’ve a book cover reader. They get me every time. Have a great day!!

    Sherrie
    Sherrie’s Stuff

  21. October 29, 2009 8:01 am

    I read Backpack many years ago, when I was going through a serious chick lit phase. It’s good. You have to be a little patient with the heroine because I recall she starts out totally drug-addled and messed up, but she does eventually redeem herself.

  22. October 29, 2009 8:36 am

    I’m SO glad you’ll be gushing about Understanding Comics!!! It’s one of my favorites, and I used it heavily when I wrote my thesis on the relationship between the oral tradition and comics. McCloud is genius!

  23. October 29, 2009 9:07 am

    I like the sound of The Owl Killers and I look forward to your thoughts on it. Happy reading.

  24. October 29, 2009 9:12 am

    The Owl Killers is the one that caught my attention as well. Like Sara, I look forward to your thoughts!

  25. October 29, 2009 9:28 am

    One of my favourite writers is Terry Pratchett!
    His books are always so funny and beautifully written.
    Have fun reading the books you got!

  26. October 29, 2009 1:44 pm

    BermudaOnion, I know-I had so many books out for the read-a-thon, I hesitated to put more on hold!

    Linda, Pratchett’s great, isn’t he?

    Amy, thanks!

    Uenohama, thanks for the other recs! (and don’t worry about double-commenting-I fixed it!)

    CB, lol-I totally get that! I just ignore all my OWNED TBR books, which probably isn’t good. ;)

    Liz, hehe-you should see my more normal weeks if you think this is a bunch! ;)

    Deborah, I want to own it too! And make everyone read it. :D Thanks for the rec-hope my library has it!

    Vivienne, I’d never heard of her before! Hope you enjoy any of my loot that you end up reading. :)

    Anidaadler, thanks for participating-be sure to add your link the Mr. Linky too so other participants come visit you! :)

    Nymeth, whoops! Why did I think it was?! lol Um, I have a pretty big issue w/ rats, so I doubt I’ll read Maurice. *shudders*

    Fleurfisher, so glad you found Owl Killers bedazzling! And that you like Emily Barr. :)

    Kristi, thanks!

    Vasilly, I TOTALLY loved it!

    Lightheaded, awesome!

    Docshona, thank you.

    Rebecca, it was so good! hehe

    Sherri, I’m attracted to covers too. ;)

    Nancy, I’ll keep that in mind. :)

    Andi, he’s definitely a genius!

    Sandra, thanks!

    JenClair, I’ll try to read it sooner rather than later!

    Nina, he is good at combining humour and good

  27. October 30, 2009 1:21 am

    Yeah…I need to get my number of books check out down. I picked up a couple tonight. I’m so bad. But I really wanted to get the next season of the Gilmore Girls. Now that I’ve started, I’ll be damned if I don’t finish it!!

    Looking forward to your reviews. Especially The Owl Killers. That one looks absolutely facinating!!

  28. October 30, 2009 3:47 am

    Brilliant, you have ‘The Owl Killers’, after reading ‘Company of Liars’ this is high up on my radar, can’t wait to see the review.

    If you’re concerned about the Discworld series why don’t you try one of the stand alone novels set in Discworld, but not part of one of the long running character series (Guards, witches, wizards and Death basically). I think the first Discworld book I fell for was ‘Small Gods’, a standalone book about a god whose followers ahve stopped really believing in him. There’s also ‘Moving Pictures’, ‘Pyramids’ or ‘the Truth’.

  29. October 31, 2009 8:52 pm

    Stephanie, lol! My numbers are about to go back up. ;)

    Jodie, thanks for those recs! I didn’t realise there were standalone Discworld books.

  30. November 2, 2009 10:42 am

    Looks like some great choices. Enjoy!

Trackbacks

  1. Library Loot « Fleur Fisher reads
  2. Library Loot « chasing bawa

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

