Skip to content

Dewey’s Read-a-Thon: Hour 24

October 25, 2009

readathonbuttonPages Read This Hour: 263
Total Pages Read: 2, 014
Minutes Spent Reading This Hour: 40
Tot. Minutes Spent Reading: 639
Books Read This Hour: Skim by Mariko and Jillian Tamaki, Fables Vol. Five: The Mean Seasons by Bill Willingham
Books Completed: 12 (Disquiet by Julia Leigh, Expat ed. by Christina Henry de Tessan, Reservation Blues by Sherman Alexie, Miss Leavitt’s Stars by George Johnson, Chronicle of a Death Foretold by Gabriel Garcia Marquez, The Creative Family by Amanda Blake Soule, Where are the Children? by Mary Higgins Clark, Book by Book by Michael Dirda, Fables Vol. 3: Storybook Love by Bill Willingham, Fables Vol. 4: March of the Wooden Soldiers by Bill Willingham, Gray Horses by Hope Larson, Skim by Mariko and Jillian Tamaki)
Total Mini-Challenges Participated In: 22
Minutes Spent Blogging/Mini-Challenge-ing This Hour: 20
Total Minutes Spent Blogging/Mini-Challenge-ing: 351
Minutes Spent Cheerleading This Hour: 0
Total Minutes Spent Cheerleading: 453

BooksReadWell, I’ll be doing my traditional ‘read-a-thon by the numbers’ when I wake back up! For now, here’s the final mini-challenge: filling out the survey! The picture this time is of the books I read, in the order I finished them (click to make bigger). That last Fables at the bottom has a bookmark in it at page 121 of 166. :)

1. Which hour was most daunting for you? I think somewhere around Hour 16.
2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? I highly recommend graphic novels/memoirs of any kind!!! But all of the books I read kept me engaged!
3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Nope. :)
4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? Everything!
5. How many books did you read? I completed 12.
6. What were the names of the books you read? Disquiet by Julia Leigh, Expat ed. by Christina Henry de Tessan, Reservation Blues by Sherman Alexie, Miss Leavitt’s Stars by George Johnson, Chronicle of a Death Foretold by Gabriel Garcia Marquez, The Creative Family by Amanda Blake Soule, Where are the Children? by Mary Higgins Clark, Book by Book by Michael Dirda, Fables Vol. 3: Storybook Love by Bill Willingham, Fables Vol. 4: March of the Wooden Soldiers by Bill Willingham, Gray Horses by Hope Larson, Skim by Mariko and Jillian Tamaki
7. Which book did you enjoy most? Too hard to pick!
8. Which did you enjoy least? Where are the Children? by Mary Higgins Clark
9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? Too much to list here! I’ll e-mail them all next time, since I coordinate them. ;)
10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? Very likely; I loved being reader, cheerleader, mini-challenge host, and co-host of the whole thing!

48 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2009 6:09 am

    Wow Eva. just over 10 hours, and over 2000 pages? You blow me away. Seriously.

  2. October 25, 2009 6:13 am

    Congrats on such a great job. Seriously in under 10 hrs u did a absolutely wonderful job..

  3. October 25, 2009 6:13 am

    Love you, Eva! Now go get some much deserved sleep!

  4. October 25, 2009 6:31 am

    Yay we did it! Congrats girl. Now its bed time

  5. October 25, 2009 6:54 am

    How did you manage to do so much Eva, truly amazing. By the way, please do tell your mom we missed her this readathon :)

  6. October 25, 2009 7:05 am

    You are absolutely fantabulous! great job staying up, reading and visiting the blogs (including mine). Thanks so much!

  7. October 25, 2009 7:10 am

    Holy cow! 12 books is awesome. You rock!

  8. October 25, 2009 7:20 am

    You ROCK.

  9. October 25, 2009 7:21 am

    Congratulations on a job well done! Wow you really rocked it! Thanks for all you did!

  10. October 25, 2009 7:30 am

    Wow what a fabulous page count for the read-a-thon. Well done.

  11. October 25, 2009 7:38 am

    Hi Eva,

    Wow, you are doing so great! Thank-you for cheering me on, however something came up, as I was afraid it would and I was not able to participate.

    I’ll be there in April :D

    Thank-you again

  12. October 25, 2009 7:47 am

    You are AWESOME! That is funny that you started to lose your voice even though you were only cheering electronically! Somehow your voice knew what you were doing and was getting hoarse in sympathy! Hope you sleep well after all of the reading…

  13. October 25, 2009 7:48 am

    Thanks for your comments on my blog, during the RaT. They really helped keep me going. Hope you sleep well!

  14. October 25, 2009 8:16 am

    Hi Eva,
    You did a great job!! Your list of books are awesome. Thanks for stopping by my place, Just Books. Have a great day!!

    Sherrie

  15. October 25, 2009 8:36 am

    Oh my, you got to read a lot — next to all the organizing! Thank you so much for the fun!

    Somehow I wasn’t able to keep track of pc/blogging time so I that gave up pretty soon! ;)

    Putting on Arnold Schwarzenegger voice…: I’ll be back in April!

  16. October 25, 2009 8:49 am

    Eva you were amazing! Can’t thank you enough. *hugs*

  17. October 25, 2009 8:50 am

    Thanks for all your hard work behind the scenes, cheering and reading. I know that I, and everyone else, appreciates it to make the day so much fun.

    Look forward to seeing you on the next one!!

    Richard

  18. October 25, 2009 8:54 am

    Thanks for all of your hard work and your great cheers!

  19. October 25, 2009 9:12 am

    Eva, you were the best cheerleader ever! Thanks so much for all your encouraging comments!

    And way to go, yourself, to manage the commenting you did and the reading too!

  20. October 25, 2009 9:37 am

    Congratulations on a fantastic job…with everything!! I hope you’re sleeping right now!

  21. October 25, 2009 9:58 am

    Wow! You were awesome, Eva! Well, you still are awesome but you know what I mean. ;)
    Congratulations on a very successful read-a-thon!

  22. Jenn permalink
    October 25, 2009 10:14 am

    Wow, all 24 hours, congrats! And I’m glad you enjoyed all of your books. (:

  23. historyofshe permalink
    October 25, 2009 10:22 am

    Wow, you did amazingly! Congrats on finishing, cheerleading, & making awesome blog posts!

  24. October 25, 2009 10:44 am

    Thanks for stopping by and cheering me on yesterday. I appreciated very, very much. Hope you had as much fun as me.

  25. October 25, 2009 11:09 am

    Wow! Talk about commitment! Congrats on all your reading and thanks for all your hard work with the cheerleaders and all!

  26. October 25, 2009 11:17 am

    You did a great job, Eva! Thanks so much for helping to host. What did you think of Fables and The Creative Family?

    Sweet dreams!

  27. October 25, 2009 11:18 am

    As you know Eva, I’m just in complete awe of everything that you did during this readathon!! I don’t know how the hell you do it AND stay up the ENTIRE 24 hours!! It’s fun to come back and see what you read during those last hours :D And I’m thrilled to see that we read the same volume of Fables last night!! And I’m jealous that you got to start Volume 5, because with that last panel of Volume 4 I was like “oh no, I need the next one now!!!” LOL….Did you love Skim? I thought it was one of the best GNs I had read in a long time when I read it. Truly a great one.

  28. October 25, 2009 11:21 am

    Fantastic answer to question #10! What a great event … I lurked just a little this year, as I was busy on 10/24; I’ll put the next readathon (April?) on my calendar as soon as I see the date.

    Your enthusiasm is contageous!

  29. October 25, 2009 11:35 am

    Wow, I’m in awe of everything you did for this Read-a-Thon!

    Thanks for organizing the wonderful crew of cheerleaders, and thanks for your comment on my blog, and congratulations on all of your reading and challenge participation.

  30. October 25, 2009 11:43 am

    Great job Eva!

  31. October 25, 2009 11:53 am

    You are seriously impressive, Eva! I don’t know how you do it, but it amazes me. Good work reading, cheerleading, ORGANIZING and all the rest! I think we can all forgive you for not being on Twitter ;-)

  32. October 25, 2009 12:51 pm

    Thanks for all your efforts-you made it a real fun day yesterday-the type of event that I am sure will attract more people as time goes on.

  33. October 25, 2009 1:00 pm

    It was a great day/night, huh? I thought that it went smoother this time than any other time before and it’s obviously the awesome work you guys did behind the scenes to make that happen. I’ll definitely be reading/cheering again in April–you made it so fun to be a cheerleader! :D

  34. October 25, 2009 1:26 pm

    Eva! You rocked the ‘Thon so hard! Thanks for all of your dedication and support!

  35. October 25, 2009 2:21 pm

    i don’t know how you manage to do so much of everything!! so many books, so much cheering and co-hosting. you are pretty amazing! i really enjoyed your spirit and enthusiasm. as a first-time cheerleader, i’d like to say thanks for making it so fun. i really enjoyed all the emails and support everyone showed, especially during those last hours.
    i look forward to doing it all again next time!

  36. October 25, 2009 4:49 pm

    I haven’t had a chance to check and see who won for most pages or books, but my God woman! Total Pages Read: 2, 014!!! You are amazing. Congrats on a fabulous read-a-thon.

  37. October 25, 2009 4:55 pm

    **bowing down**

    Over 2000 pages in 10 hours? I’m completely in awe!

  38. October 25, 2009 5:34 pm

    You’re my read-a-thon hero! Tons of books read, tons of cheering done, great hosting… you rock!

  39. October 25, 2009 9:10 pm

    I love Alexie, I think he’s great. Try What You Pawn I Will Redeem, it’s a short story and you can get it on the New Yorker site for free.

  40. October 25, 2009 9:14 pm

    Congratulations on all of the reading you got done, especially considering all the other stuff you had to do!

  41. October 25, 2009 10:04 pm

    You did so wonderful! Congratulations! :)

  42. October 26, 2009 2:38 am

    Holy cow Eva! How on earth do you manage to read 2000 pages and lead the cheerleaders and organise things! I am seriously impressed!

  43. October 26, 2009 6:24 am

    Wow, you did great! As I read everyone’s wrap-up posts, I feel dumb that I read the same book the whole day and didn’t even finish it. LOL But I had a great time, and that’s what counts. I’m looking forward to the next Read-a-Thon.

  44. October 26, 2009 6:54 am

    O my gosh! Rock on….Twelve books!!

  45. October 26, 2009 8:05 am

    Wow, Eva – your stats are IMPRESSIVE! You managed to squeeze a lot into 24 hours – you rock! Thanks for your dedication to this event!

  46. October 26, 2009 9:25 am

    Gosh, thanks so much for the cheers!

    *Hugs*

  47. October 26, 2009 9:41 am

    Great job! I read a graphic novel prior to the challenge, and now I wish I waited and read it during. I think it’s the perfect format to give your eyes a break.

  48. October 26, 2009 11:36 am

    How, how HOW can you read 2,000+ pages when you’re updating every hour? You rock.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

