Skip to content

Dewey’s Read-a-Thon: Hour 23

October 25, 2009

readathonbuttonPages Read This Hour: 112
Total Pages Read: 1, 751
Minutes Spent Reading This Hour: 20
Tot. Minutes Spent Reading: 599
Books Read This Hour: Gray Horses by Hope Larson
Books Completed: 11 (Disquiet by Julia Leigh, Expat ed. by Christina Henry de Tessan, Reservation Blues by Sherman Alexie, Miss Leavitt’s Stars by George Johnson, Chronicle of a Death Foretold by Gabriel Garcia Marquez, The Creative Family by Amanda Blake Soule, Where are the Children? by Mary Higgins Clark, Book by Book by Michael Dirda, Fables Vol. 3: Storybook Love by Bill Willingham, Fables Vol. 4: March of the Wooden Soldiers by Bill Willingham, Gray Horses by Hope Larson)
Total Mini-Challenges Participated In: 21
Minutes Spent Blogging/Mini-Challenge-ing This Hour: 10
Total Minutes Spent Blogging/Mini-Challenge-ing: 331
Minutes Spent Cheerleading This Hour: 30
Total Minutes Spent Cheerleading: 453

The final vlog: (although I will be posting at the end of Hour 24, I think it makes more sense to post this now!)

I read Gray Horses by Hope Larson quite quickly. It’s charming, without a ton of text, but what writing there is bilingual (French and English) which I really enjoyed! It follows a French exchange student in America, and her waking adventures as well as her dream ones. ;) Loved it, and will be reading more of Larson in the future! For cheerleading, I visited everyone who left a comment on the Hour 22 post at the official blog! We’re almost done guys! We rock! hehe

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2009 5:19 am

    As soon as I saw your vlog, I said, “There went the braids!” You still look great after 24 hours.

    Glad to hear that you liked Gray Horses. I liked the look of it when you previewed it on Library Loot.

    Sweet dreams!

  2. October 25, 2009 5:22 am

    Woo hoo!! You’ve almost made it!! The final hour! Congrats on a GREAT read-a-thon!

  3. October 25, 2009 5:29 am

    You’re amazing, I can’t believe you manage to read 11 books and comments on so many blogs. Fantastic job! =] WOOTS!

  4. October 25, 2009 5:48 am

    *Just* 23 hours?? :) Wonderful job, Eva!

  5. October 25, 2009 5:49 am

    Yay, Eva!!!

  6. October 25, 2009 9:31 am

    That’s so appropriate that you were losing your voice! I hope it recovers soon!!

  7. October 25, 2009 2:24 pm

    Gray Horses sounds like a book i would like. is it manga?

  8. October 26, 2009 12:07 pm

    Bybee, lol: yep, I was using headphones to listen to music via laptop, and they got caught in one of my braids and ripped half of it out! Gray Horses was marvelous. :)

    Stephanie, thanks!

    Kate, thank you!

    Trish, lol-it did feel like longer than that! ;)

    Mary, thanks!

    Jill, I think I had forgotten to drink anything for a couple of hours, and that’s why I was losing it.

    Jehara, I don’t really know what manga is…it’s a graphic novel, but it doesn’t read in reverse, and it didn’t feel cartoon-ish to me. Does that make sense?

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

