Skip to content

Read-a-Thon Mini-Challenge: Honouring Dewey

October 24, 2009

Welcome participants! Last read-a-thon was the first one without Dewey, the book blogger who began this event (and many others). I hosted a last-minute challenge asking participants to write a post about her, whether they knew her personally or just through her legacy to book blogging (which includes Weekly Geeks and the Bookworms Carnival). Her blog is no longer available to us, so this year I’m tweaking it a little.

Sometime in the next three hours, dedicate a post about Dewey on your blog. You can share a favourite story/memory if you knew her, you can talk about one of her events (which I listed above!), thank her for beginning the read-a-thon, read one of the tribute posts from last read-a-thon’s mini-challenge and then blog about your reaction to that post, or anything else that comes to mind. Then come back here and leave a link to your post via Mr. Linky:

At the end, one participant will be randomly chosen to win a pack of 3 advanced reader copies for books not released until 2010!

26 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2009 8:08 pm

    This is my first year so, naturally, I never knew Dewey but what a wonderful gal she must have been.

  2. October 24, 2009 8:10 pm

    Thanks for doing this, Eva *hugs* I hope you don’t mind if I add a suggestion for people who never knew Dewey: the tributes page at the Weekly Geeks site: http://www.weeklygeeks.com/2008/12/in-memory-of-dewey.html I wish I’d thought of suggesting it earlier!

  3. October 24, 2009 8:19 pm

    I never knew Dewey, but I’ve heard about how much of an inspiration she was to all bloggers. It’s great that you are keeping up the read-a-thon in her memory, and I’d love to hear what you and other bloggers have to say about her.

  4. October 24, 2009 8:19 pm

    Thanks Nymeth for the link; it was great to read about Dewey since I never met her. Here’s my post:

    http://sanmarcoshighschoollibrary.blogspot.com/2009/10/read-thon-hour-15-remembering-dewey.html

  5. October 24, 2009 8:28 pm

    I’ve linked to my first vlog, Eva, because I talk about Dewey in that, and how she got me into the readathon.

  6. October 24, 2009 8:31 pm

    Great challenge! I never knew Dewey, but I feel like I did thanks to all of you! She would be proud! :)

  7. October 24, 2009 8:43 pm

    You are doing an amazing job with the read-a-thon. Keep up the great work. I think everyone is having a great job, don’t you? I already am looking forward to April.
    Karin

  8. October 24, 2009 8:48 pm

    Dammit Eva, you got my waterjets flowing writing that post! lol…hugs to you my dear..love you!

  9. October 24, 2009 8:51 pm

    Sometimes people pass from this world without being able to see the vast number of people whose lives they have touched. Even though we haven’t all had the chance to meet her, we thank her for bringing us this chance to do what we love.

    Dewey – you have touched us, and we thank you.

  10. October 24, 2009 8:59 pm

    I didn’t know her either but she sounds wonderful. I made up a little mini tribute to her on my blog you can participate if you get bored in between posts (win an arc)! LOL

    Have Fun everyone.

    Always Remember Dewey!

  11. October 24, 2009 9:29 pm

    I wish I had known Dewey. I mention her and your mini-challenge in my most recent post.

  12. October 24, 2009 9:40 pm

    I am not going to participate in this mini-challenge because I have the tendency to get really rambling and reflective in these sorts of posts. Even though I didn’t know Dewey, it amazes me just how much she impacted so many people. She must have been pretty amazing :-) I’m glad the read-a-thon is held in her honor, and I hope that I am able to positively influence lives the way that she has.

  13. October 24, 2009 9:54 pm

    Well this is my first time doing the readathon but I have seen her name around, so I gave a little tribute to the woman who started things here:

    http://writesthoughts.blogspot.com/2009/10/15hrs-in-tribute-to-dewey.html

  14. October 24, 2009 10:15 pm

    Love you, Eva. *hugs*

  15. October 24, 2009 10:42 pm

    Although I’m not reading this year, I just wanted to do a quick post about Dewey. She meant alot to this community and to me personally, and she will be forever missed.

    http://stephaniesbooks.blogspot.com/2009/10/my-memory-of-dewey.html

  16. October 25, 2009 3:21 am

    Aw this was a lovely idea Eva.

  17. October 26, 2009 12:31 pm

    Crystal, she was. :)

    Nymeth, that’s a great suggestion! Thanks for adding it. :)

    Hazra, she was definitely an inspiration to us all.

    Helen, thank you for posting.

    Maree, thank you. :)

    Erin, thanks.

    Karin, I think everyone’s having a great time as well.

    ChauderianGirl, looking forward to April already?!

    Chris, love you too!

    Lauri, so true.

    Cindi, thanks.

    Valerie, thank you!

    Aarti, that’s my tendency too. ;)

    Stormi, thank you.

    Debi, *hugs* right back at you!

    Stephanie, thank you so much for doing a post.

    Joy Renee, yes we do!

    Gautami, thank you.

    Jodie, thanks.

Trackbacks

  1. Dewey’s Read-a-Thon » Hour 15
  2. Read-A-Thon: Tribute to Dewey Challenge – caribousmom
  3. lifeisapatchworkquilt.com » Hour 15!
  4. Read-A-Thon: Update #8 – caribousmom
  5. Dewey’s Read-a-Thon » Hour 19
  6. Dewey’s Read-a-thon: Updates post | LiyanaLand

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

