Skip to content

Dewey’s Read-a-Thon: Hour 4

October 24, 2009

readathonbuttonPages Read This Hour: 89
Minutes Spent Reading This Hour: 30
Books Read This Hour: Expat ed. by Christina Henry de Tessan
Total Pages Read: 264
Books Completed: 2 (Disquiet by Julia Leigh, Expat ed. by Christina Henry de Tessan)
Tot. Mini-Challenges Participated In: 4
Tot. Minutes Spent Reading: 141
Minutes Spent Blogging/Mini-Challenge-ing This Hour: 15
Tot. Minutes Spent Blogging/Mini-Challenge-ing: 36
Minutes Spent Cheerleading This Hour: 15
Tot. Minutes Spent Cheerleading: 68

I finished Expat! The essays were definitely fun, and most of them were wonderfully written. :) The pictures for this post are inspired by Darren’s mini-challenge, which was to grab 3-4 books and make a sentence out of their titles. I stuck w/ read-a-thon books and came up with two:
Wherearethechildren
Where are the children? Hush: we have always lived in the castle.
AdventureDivas
Adventure divas: trading in memories north of beautiful.

So thanks for hosting the mini-challenge Darren! :) I’m on my second round of visits to my readers this time around-it’s great to see everyone’s progress. I hope you’re having as much fun as me!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2009 10:03 am

    I love the sentences people have come up with on the posts I’ve visited so far. What a fun mini-challenge. Happy reading and cheering today Eva!

  2. October 24, 2009 10:04 am

    Great job Eva! And now I see the way to do updates! okay! Thank you.

    Happy Reading!
    Amy

  3. October 24, 2009 10:06 am

    Your stats put mine to shame!! :)
    Enjoy your day!

  4. October 24, 2009 10:09 am

    I like reading your hourly updates! :D Creative sentences! Best of luck with your read-a-thon! Happy reading.

  5. October 24, 2009 10:09 am

    I’m glad you finished Expat. The essay I found disappointing was the one by the editor herself — it seemed a little light and ended as if she didn’t know quite how to end it. The Skinheads one wasn’t my favorite, either. I wish there could be an Expat 2.

  6. October 24, 2009 10:10 am

    Hi Eva,
    I’m in Denver on a business trip and getting ready to go set up for my tradeshow so I won’t be online much today. I will be cheering you in in spirit and looking forward to reading all of the posts later tonight! BTW, I did arrange one of my shelves with all the white/cream/tan books and it looks rreally pretty!

  7. October 24, 2009 10:10 am

    Austen, Hemingway
    Rushdie, Poe
    If they were here
    I’m sure they’d say hello

    Bronte, Tolstoy
    Thoreau, Albee
    They think you’re swell
    And I agree

  8. October 24, 2009 10:12 am

    Awesome stats Eva!! I stuck with my readathon books when making my sentence too :) Mine is The Magician’s Elephant Rose Between Mom and Jo :p Having a blast!!!

  9. October 24, 2009 10:14 am

    Eva Eva bo Beva Banana Fana mo Feva. Me My Mo Meva. EVA!!

    You are superhuman. No argument. :)

  10. October 24, 2009 10:17 am

    You are so organized! I love the sentences you made with the book titles!

  11. October 24, 2009 10:23 am

    89 pages in 30 minutes!!! It took me almost 4 hours to read a little of 600 pages of manga! You amaze me, you amaze me, you amaze me. And I love you, I love you, I love you!!!! Hope you’re having a ball, sweetie!!!!

  12. October 24, 2009 10:25 am

    Freudian slip in the title of this post? Because if anyone is going to “Read-A-TON” it’s Eva. :)

  13. October 24, 2009 10:32 am

    Good job! I love the sentences and what a fun idea!

    cjh

  14. October 24, 2009 10:33 am

    Wow! I’m impressed. Good job. Keep going but have fun.

  15. October 24, 2009 10:47 am

    Cool sentence! I’m getting in late reading the replies for this challenge, but what fun! I’m off to do a bit more cheerleading before I hit the books again.

  16. October 24, 2009 11:10 am

    I love the sentences you came up with especially the second.

  17. October 24, 2009 11:17 am

    Eva, you’re doing really well (of course!). I’ll be following your updates today too and can’t wait to hear more.

    Woo! Goooo, Eva! Read! Read! :D Woop woop!

  18. October 24, 2009 12:11 pm

    I’ve got North of Beautiful in my TBR too: I hope it’s as good as I’ve heard! Hope you’re having fun!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

