Skip to content

Dewey’s Read-a-Thon: Hour Zero

October 24, 2009

readathonbuttonPages Read This Hour:
Books Read This Hour:
Total Pages Read:
Books Completed:
Mini-Challenges Participated In: 1
Time Spent Reading:
Time Spent Blogging:

Squee! We’re here guys! And here’s my half-awake vlog (I showered right before bed last night & braided my hair, so I didn’t get out of bed until 20 minutes ago, lol).

In case you can’t watch it, it pretty much comes down to: Dewey’s awesome! I love her and miss her! Let’s have a ton of fun today!

Here’s the intro meme that’s the first mini-challenge:
3 facts about me: I live in the Rockies. I’ve done 3 of the 4 other read-a-thons and always lasted all 24 hours. I recently discovered I’m allergic to gluten.

How many books do you have in your TBR pile for the next 24 hours? 35! See me holding them all here.

Do you have any goals for the read-a-thon (i.e. number of books, number of pages, number of hours, or number of comments on blogs)? Post a pic or vlog w/ every update post! I’m getting away from numbers; it’s not good for my type-A personality. hehe

If you’re a veteran read-a-thoner, Any advice for people doing this for the first time? Have fun-don’t take it too seriously! Sign up as a cheerleader (lol)! And include some pics on your posts. :)

17 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2009 6:19 am

    i last for nearly all 24 hours, but inevitably end up passing out for 30 minutes or so right around hour 22. ;)

  2. October 24, 2009 6:19 am

    Good luck, my dear *squeezes you until you go purple*

  3. October 24, 2009 6:29 am

    Go Eva! I think Dewey would be amazed and flattered at the job all of you guys have done organizing and carrying on this tradition.

    I don’t want to bug you this early in the morning, but I haven’t received my cheerleader assignment yet-I have 2 gmail accounts, and for some reason, gmail doesn’t keep them separate, so that could be causing problems…grrr. For now, I’m just visiting any one who is posting. If I don’t hear back from you, I’ll just continue doing that until I peter out! =)

  4. October 24, 2009 6:44 am

    Good luck Eva!!!

  5. October 24, 2009 6:45 am

    Hi Eva! Good morning and happy reading! :D

  6. October 24, 2009 6:49 am

    Good morning in the Rockies Eva :) Here in Denmark its already 2.47 PM and the readathon has been going for 47 minutes. Its my first, as you know, and I was determined to be there from the beginning. The #readathon Tweets at twitter are already trending and I am already dizzy from trying to follow all. So I’ll just stick to the cheerleading for now, although there are not that many posts up yet :) HAPPY READATHON

  7. October 24, 2009 6:53 am

    Oh, what a nice tribute to Dewey!

    Good morning and happy reading!

  8. October 24, 2009 6:57 am

    yay have fun Eva!

  9. October 24, 2009 7:08 am

    Jehara, this time we’ll cheer you into staying awake! ;)

    Nymeth, now we’re both purple! lol

    Dreamybee, thanks-I’ve e=mail you! :)

    Rhapsody, thanks!

    Claire, good to see you-good morning!

    Louise, wow-already teh afternoon! Goign to be a long read-a-thon for you, eh? I’m avoiding Twitter today-I’m afraid of being sucked in!

    Rebecca, thank you!

    Amanda, you too!

  10. October 24, 2009 7:15 am

    Ahhh!!! Nymeth is trying to make your avatar look like hers!! :p Sweet vlog Eva :D I love you my dear. What a sweet vlog. I think that the October readathon will always be a little more hard and a little more special because it was her first one and because it’s around the time of her death. But it’s a celebrations too. Thanks for making it even more special with all that you do Eva!

  11. October 24, 2009 7:28 am

    Good luck!

    cjh

  12. October 24, 2009 7:49 am

    I miss Dewey too. I didn’t participate in the last read-a-thon before Dewey passed and still feel bad. She was a great person with a wonderful spirit, who made everyone feel good about themselves.

  13. October 24, 2009 7:59 am

    Isn’t amazing how the read-a-thon has grown?

    And you look lovely with no makeup. I cheated and put on some mascara! :P

  14. October 24, 2009 8:06 am

    Your braids look so cute!
    Happy reading and cheering.
    I got a little tear in my eye hearing you talk about Dewey. The last blog comment I ever got from her was her agreeing with me that you’d been missed during that last readathon.

  15. October 24, 2009 9:45 am

    wishing you the best and cheering you on! i don’t know how you guys manage it…i would be destroyed for the rest of the week if i didn’t sleep. guess i’m not in college anymore!

    have fun!!

  16. October 24, 2009 10:18 am

    Hope all is going well now that we are into the 5th hour of the Read-a-Thon :) Cheering from Copenhagen, Denmark…

  17. CCQDesigns permalink
    October 24, 2009 3:26 pm

    Great afternoon and the leaves are falling, wind is whipping through the trees, great time to curl up with that next book and keep on reading!!! Hot chocolate and cookies have got to be around there somewhere!!

    Go Reading,Go Reading,Go Reading!!!
    Rebecca
    the Transcendentalists team!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

