Skip to content

Dewey’s Read-a-Thon Hour 9

October 24, 2009

readathonbuttonPages Read This Hour: 123
Minutes Spent Reading This Hour: 31
Tot. Minutes Spent Reading: 289
Books Read This Hour: Miss Leavitt’s Stars by George Johnson, Chronicle of a Death Foretold by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
Total Pages Read: 529
Books Completed: 4 (Disquiet by Julia Leigh, Expat ed. by Christina Henry de Tessan, Reservation Blues by Sherman Alexie, Miss Leavitt’s Stars by George Johnson)
Tot. Mini-Challenges Participated In: 9
Minutes Spent Blogging/Mini-Challenge-ing This Hour: 10
Tot. Minutes Spent Blogging/Mini-Challenge-ing: 82
Minutes Spent Cheerleading This Hour: 19
Tot. Minutes Spent Cheerleading: 174

TeddyBearSorry about two updates at once; I don’t know why Hour 8 didn’t publish when I told it to. :( And I’m publishing this one before the hour’s up to make sure I make the mini-challenge deadlines; I’ve already done my reading, so I know the rest of the time will be spent cheering! I finished Miss Leavitt’s Stars: it was a really neat book that looked at a few pivotal years in astronomy in the early 1900s, and how Miss Leavitt was a key player despite the lack of historical acknowledgement. I also start Marquez’s Chronicle of a Death Foretold, which is really short and so far a nice little novella. The subject matter isn’t nice, all about the machismo of the Latin male, but more about that later. I have two pictures for this post, both for mini-challenges! Nise asked us to post a picture of our reading buddy, so I thought I’d share one of my fave teddy bears along with the book I was reading then. :) This was a fun mini-challenge Nise!

Then Wendy asked us to share a picture of whatever we collect aside from books. I was puzzled by this one at first, and even talked to my mom and she agreed I don’t really collect things. But then I realised I was overlooking my HUGE collection: clothes! lol So here is a picture of my closet: I’ve left the file full size, so if you want to make it huge, just click. As you can see, I have more than a few dresses, shirts, and skirts (all hanging), sweaters (on the shelf above), shoes (on the floor), and purses (on the door). You can also kind of see my collection of ‘pashminas’ hanging on the other side of the door to the left. Yes, my closet is always open! lol My coats and jackets live elsewhere. ;) (Sorry about the ridiculous cropping; I had to edit out some family pics that are on my desk, and I only have Paint right now and it wasn’t cooperating! lol)
Closet

14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2009 3:10 pm

    im taking part but I havnt posted an update because ive just been readin is that ok?

  2. October 24, 2009 3:12 pm

    ill do an update soon.

  3. October 24, 2009 3:27 pm

    Eva – I love to hear about how you’ve been doing today. Sorry, your post didn’t publish when you wanted. I hope to do alright at this cheering thing and I hope to be more involved in many more readathons!
    I wish you a happy readathon day. Keep up the great work with all you do and have done so far! I know your involvement is appreciated by so many. :) Thank you.

  4. October 24, 2009 3:38 pm

    I hated Chronicle of a Death Foretold when I read it at 16, but it’s possible that I missed the bigger picture :P I have since become a big Gabo fan, after all.

    Look at all those pretty dresses! I love the purple one (of course :P) next to the striped one. I love the striped one too, actually!

    Thanks for everything, and sorry I couldn’t be around more!

  5. October 24, 2009 3:39 pm

    Billy says to say hi to the bear!

  6. October 24, 2009 3:50 pm

    Your teddy bear looks familiar? Is he a Boyds? You are doing a great job on the reading.

  7. October 24, 2009 4:00 pm

    Look at all those clothes! And that cute little bear :D I think I might be crashing soon for a few minutes Eva :/ I’m feeling a tiny headache coming on and I want to knock it out before it gets bad!! I want to do a vlog sometime too!! Maybe I’ll save that for like 2 in the morning :p

  8. October 24, 2009 4:06 pm

    Looks like you’re doing great so far! Good luck in the rest of the read-a-thon!

  9. October 24, 2009 4:14 pm

    Goodness you are fast! I must not compare my progress with yours, lol. You are A superwoman girl! Go Eva go!

    Love your closet, btw. Wish I could participate in the mini-challenge as I used to collect stamps.. I left them all at my dad’s though. My most valuables ones were two from the 1800s.

  10. October 24, 2009 4:27 pm

    I collect clothes and shoes too! Enjoy your reading. Good luck with the rest of the Read-A-Thon. It looks like you’ve had some yummy snacks and food to eat!!

  11. October 24, 2009 4:35 pm

    Oh, yes, I think those purses themselves count as a collection. So jealous. I’m a mom–most of mine are pretty utilitarian. You’ve got some purty ones!

  12. October 24, 2009 4:37 pm

    Looks like you’ve had a successful read-a-thon. Have you read more or less this time?

  13. October 24, 2009 11:01 pm

    Impressive closet! :)
    It sounds like you’re having a great read-a-thon so far! Hope the rest is just as fun.

Trackbacks

  1. Green Books Campaign: Style, Naturally (thoughts) « A Striped Armchair

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

