Skip to content

Dewey’s Read-a-Thon: Hour 8

October 24, 2009

readathonbuttonPages Read This Hour: 70
Minutes Spent Reading This Hour: 25
Tot. Minutes Spent Reading: 258
Books Read This Hour: Miss Leavitt’s Stars by George Johnson
Total Pages Read: 529
Books Completed: 3 (Disquiet by Julia Leigh, Expat ed. by Christina Henry de Tessan, Reservation Blues by Sherman Alexie)
Tot. Mini-Challenges Participated In: 7
Minutes Spent Blogging/Mini-Challenge-ing This Hour: 10
Tot. Minutes Spent Blogging/Mini-Challenge-ing: 72
Minutes Spent Cheerleading This Hour: 25
Tot. Minutes Spent Cheerleading: 155

Fudge! I told this to publish 40 minutes ago, and it didn’t and I didn’t realise it until now! *sigh* You’re going to be getting another update very soon. ;)

LunchAnd now we find ourselves a third of the way through! Insanity! I had planned on doing two pictures this post for two of the current mini-challenges, but I got hungry and decided to eat lunch. So the next update will have my mini-challenge entries! ;) Lunch was gluten free and vegan thanks to three salads that I made yesterday: one is tomatoes fresh from my best friend’s mom’s garden and artichoke hearts with a light oil and vinegar dressing, one is cucumbers in an Asian-style dressing, and the last one is a chickpea salad that is so magically delicious that I make enough to fill a 2.5 quart (aka 10 cups) bowl every time and it never lasts more than three days. Even my dad, a total meat-and-potatoes kind of guy loves that salad. We fight over the last bowl! ;) I also had a can of Diet Pepsi, lest you think I’m a health freak. ;) I’ve cut soda out of my life for some time now, but I always bring it back for the read-a-thon!

Oh-I’m supposed to be talking about books, right? I start Miss Leavitt’s Stars by George Johnson, a Science Book selection, and it’s marvelous so far. Lots of pictures and simple writing makes it a quick read, and it’s so short I’m already halfway through it!

Cheerleading is going great-I’m almost done visiting all the readers in my new section for the first time. :D I hope everyone’s having as much fun as me!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2009 2:43 pm

    You are doing so awesome!! Terrible English, but you know what I mean!

  2. October 24, 2009 2:50 pm

    I want to come to your house for lunch! Looks delish :o)

  3. October 24, 2009 4:16 pm

    One day I’ll ask you for the chickpea salad recipe. Would love to try it!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

