Skip to content

Dewey’s Read-a-Thon: Hour 7

October 24, 2009

readathonbuttonPages Read This Hour: 110
Minutes Spent Reading This Hour: 33
Books Read This Hour: Reservation Blues by Sherman Alexie
Total Pages Read: 459
Books Completed: 3 (Disquiet by Julia Leigh, Expat ed. by Christina Henry de Tessan, Reservation Blues by Sherman Alexie)
Tot. Mini-Challenges Participated In: 7
Tot. Minutes Spent Reading: 233
Minutes Spent Blogging/Mini-Challenge-ing This Hour: 10
Tot. Minutes Spent Blogging/Mini-Challenge-ing: 62
Minutes Spent Cheerleading This Hour: 17
Tot. Minutes Spent Cheerleading: 130

ReadingOutsideReservation Blues broke my heart. In fact, part of it made me cry, and it was so exquisitely done. But I can’t explain it without talking about the end of the book, so I’ll just leave it at that. Sherman Alexie is an incredible author (this was his debut novel!), and I cannot wait to continue reading his backlist.

As I mentioned last update, I moved outside, so you have this picture. It was taken with a self-timer, which I’m not good at, so sorry about the awkwardness (it seems like every read-a-thon, I get more and more willing to post ugly pics/vlogs of myself! lol). Yes, there was snow on the ground two days ago and today I had to wear a hat to keep the sun off my face and I’ll actually be changing from yoga pants into shorts because I’m too hot (I will spare you the photo of my sleeping bootie shorts! lol). I’m excited to start cheering a new group of readers, so I’m going to stop writing now and go cheer instead! :)

16 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2009 1:14 pm

    I’ll have to add Reservation Blues to my list. Have fun the rest of the day!

  2. October 24, 2009 1:20 pm

    Just wanted to drop by and say thanks for the grand organisation, you are truely a super women if you’ve read three books as well as cheering and doing mini challenges.

  3. October 24, 2009 1:26 pm

    Happy reading! Its great that you can read outside today :)

  4. October 24, 2009 1:40 pm

    Thanks for organizing and for helping me become a cheerleader at the very last minute!

    Happy Reading!

  5. October 24, 2009 1:47 pm

    I wish I could read outside. But I’m like some kind of vampire nerd, the sun is just too bright for me even with sunglasses.

    I do love Alexie. I’ve not read R. Blues but I love The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven.

  6. October 24, 2009 1:51 pm

    Three books now! How do you do that?? I’m looking forward to reading Alexie. My sister lives in Denver. I’m assuming the weather is similar. She’ll be enjoying the sunshine!

  7. October 24, 2009 2:02 pm

    I don’t know how you can read and cheer…I can barely visit my group of readers!

    You’re amazing!!

  8. October 24, 2009 2:02 pm

    Wow – you truly amaze me! Keep up the great effort!

  9. October 24, 2009 2:09 pm

    Love the photo! I wish we had some sun here but it’s been raining again for two days!

    Congrats on the job you’re doing. I’m impressed.

  10. October 24, 2009 2:19 pm

    How lovely to be reading outside and sunning. Keep reading and smiling!!!

  11. October 24, 2009 2:24 pm

    Keep up the reading-looks like a great day.

  12. October 24, 2009 2:24 pm

    I think your picture is cute!! I just finished my third book too! Off to read J.K. Rowlings Tales of Beedle the Bard now :)

  13. October 24, 2009 2:25 pm

    Holy Jees… you are reading like a fiend!

  14. October 24, 2009 2:41 pm

    What the hell are you talking about, girl…that pic is adorable!!! I don’t think you could take a bad photo if you tried!

    LOVE YOU!!!!!

  15. October 24, 2009 4:28 pm

    Really love seeing pictures of you Eva! Love that it’s sunny there today.

  16. October 24, 2009 9:24 pm

    Hope you’re having fun reading. I had to comment on this post as it looks like you are sitting outside? And in a sleeveless top? It’s that warm where you are? And sunny? I’m envious! :)

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

