Skip to content

Dewey’s Read-a-Thon: Hour 18

October 24, 2009

readathonbuttonPages Read This Hour: ZERO
Total Pages Read: 1,218
Minutes Spent Reading This Hour: ZERO
Tot. Minutes Spent Reading: 489
Books Read This Hour: none!
Books Completed: 8 (Disquiet by Julia Leigh, Expat ed. by Christina Henry de Tessan, Reservation Blues by Sherman Alexie, Miss Leavitt’s Stars by George Johnson, Chronicle of a Death Foretold by Gabriel Garcia Marquez, The Creative Family by Amanda Blake Soule, Where are the Children? by Mary Higgins Clark, Book by Book by Michael Dirda)
Total Mini-Challenges Participated In: 21
Minutes Spent Blogging/Mini-Challenge-ing This Hour: 30
Total Minutes Spent Blogging/Mini-Challenge-ing: 231
Minutes Spent Cheerleading This Hour: 30
Total Minutes Spent Cheerleading: 363

HotChocolateAnd now we enter the phase where I’m running the main site! I saved my graphic novels for this, so I’m hoping to sneak in some reading, though I was WAY too nervous to concentrate on a book this hour! Did more cheerleading! I can’t wait to visit my last group of readers. :D Picture is of hot chocolate! The lovely Debi sent me this delicious Fair Trade organic hot chocolate, Jill (who’s the cheerleader who keeps leaving ridiculously clever comments everywhere!) sent me the adorable bookworm mug! And my dad showed me how to use his espresso machine to steam milk (I can’t drink coffee w/o getting a migraine, so sadly that’s the extent of my espresso machine playing). Best mug of hot chocolate EVER!

We’re entering the part where readers start dropping like flies. Don’t feel bad if you need to call it quits-you’re still awesome. :) And if you’re going to go for the last six hours, I’ll tell you a secret: *whispers* this is my fave part of the whole thing!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2009 12:00 am

    Mmmm. The hot chocolate looks really good. I swear, I’m moving over there so I can eat and snack with you! Love that bookworm mug!

  2. stacybuckeye permalink
    October 25, 2009 12:02 am

    I’m up and feeling (sorta) strong. Listening to a book right now. You are doing a wonderful job, Eva!

  3. October 25, 2009 12:14 am

    I love hot chocolate or hot cocoa! That mug is so very cute!

    Happy reading in these wee hours!

    Here’s a quote that reminded me of you and your recent bookshelf vlog:

    “I know every book of mine by its smell, and I have but to put my nose between the pages to be reminded of all sorts of things.” ~George Robert Gissing

    Keep enjoying the readathon!

  4. October 25, 2009 12:17 am

    I doubt I’ll make it the whole way through, but I’m up for at least another book!! So another 3 hours…And that really is the best cup of hot chocolate!! So sweet of Debi and what a cute mug from Jill :D I love this part too…this is where I get delirious :p

  5. Vishy permalink
    October 25, 2009 12:18 am

    Thanks for stopping by and cheering! Your pages read and books read look wonderful! Best of luck with your reading for the rest of the read-a-thon!

  6. October 25, 2009 12:21 am

    As long as I don’t get too bogged down with work, I’ll be here off and on from the rest of the readathon!! keep it up, Eva. You are awesome!!

  7. October 25, 2009 12:22 am

    Great job, Eva! I dropped for a few hours, but I’m back in the game. We’ll see if I can last the entire last hours.

    As for that hot chocolate, it looks AMAZING. I could swim in it!

  8. October 25, 2009 12:27 am

    Brilliant hot chocolate and mug!

    Have fun running the show!

  9. October 25, 2009 12:31 am

    Have fun running things! I hope you manage to get some reading in. :)

  10. October 25, 2009 12:37 am

    Cappuccinos for me! Caffeine is greatly appreciated this time of night. I must tell you that I look forward to your comments, I think we are kindred spirits lol

  11. October 25, 2009 12:49 am

    I can’t believe this is your favorite part! Ugh. This is the part I hate. I’m always sooooo sick feeling by this time. But too damn stubborn to just throw in the towel, so I just suffer instead.

    But I’m so glad you love it!!! After all, you can’t just haul off and give up. You are so super fantastic to be doing this for everyone, you know!

    Love you!

  12. October 25, 2009 1:01 am

    We’re in the home stretch! Let’s have some fun!

  13. October 26, 2009 12:14 pm

    Terri, come join me! You’d be welcome! :D

    Stacy, I’m glad you’re awake!

    Julie, I love it too! :) And that quote is MARVELOUS; thanks for sharing!

    Chris, exactly-the delirium is so much fun! And everything starts making me giggle uncontrollably. ;)

    Vishy, it was fun to see what you were up to during the read-a-thon!

    Stephanie, thanks for joining us! :)

    Andi, it was sooo delicious!

    Bybee, thanks!

    Kailana, thank you!

    Ashley, I wish I could still drink coffee! And anyone who quotes Anne of Green Gables is a kindred spirit in my book. :D

    Debi, lol-I hate the 3rd part. That’s when I start getting tired and CRANKY and am wondering why the hell I’m doing this. ;)

    Nicole, thanks for cheering me on!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

