Skip to content

Dewey’s Read-a-Thon: Hour 17

October 24, 2009

readathonbuttonPages Read This Hour: 68
Total Pages Read: 1,218
Minutes Spent Reading This Hour: 25
Tot. Minutes Spent Reading: 489
Books Read This Hour: Book by Book by Michael Dirda
Books Completed: 8 (Disquiet by Julia Leigh, Expat ed. by Christina Henry de Tessan, Reservation Blues by Sherman Alexie, Miss Leavitt’s Stars by George Johnson, Chronicle of a Death Foretold by Gabriel Garcia Marquez, The Creative Family by Amanda Blake Soule, Where are the Children? by Mary Higgins Clark, Book by Book by Michael Dirda)
Total Mini-Challenges Participated In: 21
Minutes Spent Blogging/Mini-Challenge-ing This Hour: 25
Total Minutes Spent Blogging/Mini-Challenge-ing: 201
Minutes Spent Cheerleading This Hour: 10
Total Minutes Spent Cheerleading: 333

Ok, so here’s a vlog of me speaking in Russian. I’m much better at conversing in Russian, vs. just staring at my webcam trying to come up with the right words! lol

For those who had no clue what I was saying, I introduced myself (mentioning I was tired and nervous), explained WHY I was vlogging in Russian (my friends told me to), and then recited my favourite bit from Pushkin’s epic poem “The Bronze Horseman,” which I had to memorise several years ago. :) (Oh, and I mention that Pushkin is a hero to Russians, and that I love him!)

I finished Book by Book; I’m not a huge fan of Dirda (he seems like a total snob, which annoys me), but there were more good bits than bad ones!

I hope everyone’s doing great! And thank you to everyone in who participated in my mini-challenge; I’ve visited everyone who shared their post in the Mr. Linky.

I’m doing Infant Bibliophile’s mini-challenge this hour by listing five fave books from my childhood:
Anne of Green Gables (and rest of series) by L.M. Montgomery
The Children of Green Knowe by L.M. Boston
Nancy Drew series
Little Women by Lousia May Alcott
The Giver by Lois Lowry

14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2009 11:12 pm

    What’s Bravo! in Russian?

  2. October 24, 2009 11:21 pm

    lol, that was basically awesome :D I’m so glad we pestered you, hehehehe.

    And I have the exact opposite opinion of Dirda :P I really love him because he doesn’t strike him as snobbish in the least – one of the few “mainstream” critics who fully embraces all genres!

  3. October 24, 2009 11:21 pm

    Very nice job! Loved Pushkin when I took a Russian lit class. You make me want to dig out my copy of Eugene Onegin.

  4. October 24, 2009 11:39 pm

    Eight books! That’s wonderful! Anne of Green Gables was one of my childhood faves too.

  5. October 24, 2009 11:43 pm

    Loved your Russian vlog! I didn’t understand any of it but it did sound vaguely familiar. My grandma immigrated to Canada from Ukraine so my mom spoke Ukrainian with her but sadly I never learned.
    And well done on all the reading you’ve done! Way to go!

  6. October 25, 2009 12:20 am

    That. Was. Awesome. I understood not one single word of it. But seriously awesome!! Your coolness factor has just been leveled up!!!

  7. October 25, 2009 1:19 am

    OMGOSH! Eva, that was so incredibly awesome!!! No, awesome is totally not a good enough word, but I can’t think of a better one.

  8. October 25, 2009 3:37 am

    This is way cool! You could be a spy :)

  9. October 25, 2009 9:36 am

    Yay!!! I understood Eva and Pushkin. I think I’m ready to move to Russia! ;-)

    Thanks for doing that…it sounds like a beautiful language.

  10. October 25, 2009 3:34 pm

    I saw this last night on Jason’s computer but never got over here to comment. You did wonderful! (wish you were cooking ;P)

  11. October 25, 2009 3:35 pm

    I did understand “readathon”. :D

  12. October 25, 2009 3:38 pm

    I really want to learn Russian!

  13. October 26, 2009 2:20 am

    Had to come back and watch your Russian vlog! I learned Russian in high school and part of college and while I’ve forgotten most of it (was never all that good to start with!), I totally enjoyed picking out the few phrases and words I still understood. And I know how hard it is to speak off the cuff like that, so I’m very impressed! =)

  14. October 26, 2009 12:23 pm

    Bybee, “oo-RAH!” :)

    Nymeth, I’m glad you enjoyed it. ;) I think Dirda has much broader tastes in authors and genres, but the way he WRITES is so snobbish, lol. I think that of Fadiman too, though, and I know a lot of people don’t. So maybe I’m just sensitive. ;)

    Terri, thanks! I saw the opera version of Evegeny Onegin while I was in Russia-it was awesome! :)

    Belle, Anne’s the best! :)

    Nat, that’s so neat! I think Ukrainian and Russian are really close.

    Chris, LOL. Well, since I’m a level cooler than before, I guess it was worth it! ;)

    Debi, I’m glad you enjoyed it. ;)

    Lightheaded, lol! I do love spy novels. :)

    Softdrink, definitely ready to move to Russia! ;) When I started studying it, I was surprised by how beautiful it was!

    Amanda, LOL. I’m glad you enjoyed it, despite my lack of cooking. ;) And yay for read-a-thon! My dad and I discussed Russian-ising it, but decided not to. ;)

    Lenore, I”d recommend the Penguin intro to Russian as a great place to start. :)

    Meghan, I forgot you’d studied Russian too! :) Glad you enjoyed it!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

