Skip to content

Dewey’s Read-a-Thon: Hour 16

October 24, 2009

readathonbuttonPages Read This Hour: 54
Total Pages Read: 1,150
Minutes Spent Reading This Hour: 18
Tot. Minutes Spent Reading: 464
Books Read This Hour: Book by Book by Michael Dirda
Books Completed: 7 (Disquiet by Julia Leigh, Expat ed. by Christina Henry de Tessan, Reservation Blues by Sherman Alexie, Miss Leavitt’s Stars by George Johnson, Chronicle of a Death Foretold by Gabriel Garcia Marquez, The Creative Family by Amanda Blake Soule, Where are the Children? by Mary Higgins Clark)
Total Mini-Challenges Participated In: 20
Minutes Spent Blogging/Mini-Challenge-ing This Hour: 12
Total Minutes Spent Blogging/Mini-Challenge-ing: 186
Minutes Spent Cheerleading This Hour: 30
Total Minutes Spent Cheerleading: 323

DinnerMy hands and arms started shaking during the last hour, and I wasn’t sure what was wrong! Then I realised not only had a drank my 2nd Diet Pepsi, when I haven’t had soda for months, but I forgot to eat dinner! So I warmed up some roasted butternut squash risotto that I cooked a couple of days ago, stirred in some cranberries, and even remembered to take a picture before I dug in. ;) I also guzzled two more glasses of water, and am now feeling much better! Book by Book is interesting, but I find it hard to read just 3 pages of quotes; I think it would have been better if Dirda had sprinkled them among his own writing. Still, I’m enjoying it. I finally finished visiting all my readers for this section of cheering! Now I get to start second visits! :)

Care’s asking us to name our favourite books with older protagonists, or our favourite older authors. Both A.S. Byatt (born in the 30s) and Salman Rushdie (born in the 40s), two of my faves ever, are still publishing marvelous books! As far as a book with an older protagonist, Gandalf from Lord of the Rings sprang to mind! And Dracula of course, heehee. ;) My poor, slightly tired brain can’t think of any more right now.

Meryl’s post asks us to name a book we’ve read w/ a protagonist that makes something. Since she’s giving away knitting needles and yarn (bamboo yarn too! Dewey would approve-she was allergic to wool), I immediately thought of The Knitting Club, centered around a group of women who knit. I just read The Forest Lover, a novel about Emily Carr, the famous Canadian artist. So there’s two for you! :)

And now, I’m going to enjoy one of my last non-co-hosting hours, lol. (There will be a vlog of me speaking Russian with my next update! Promise!)

14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2009 10:00 pm

    Famous Reader’s Toast

    May you…
    Always have books on your shelves,
    Snack like there are no calories,
    Blog as if you were Dooce,
    Win copious challenges and drawings,
    And read like it was the read-a-thon.

  2. October 24, 2009 10:05 pm

    I am amazed – you are doing so great! Thanks for stopping by to cheer me on. :)

  3. October 24, 2009 10:05 pm

    Howdy Captain! How’s it going? :) gosh does Jill crack me up. HOW do you read 1000+ and still comment everywhere. You must have more than one of you…

  4. October 24, 2009 10:06 pm

    You are amazing, Eva!! I’m here to cheer you!! So, imagine my pom poms shaking!!

    Keep it up!! Sorry, I can’t come up with a cute little poem like Jill. Just know I’m here to keep you going!!

  5. October 24, 2009 10:12 pm

    Oh goodness, I know what that feels like, getting all shaky. Take care of yourself!

  6. October 24, 2009 10:16 pm

    Oh no! All that soda and no food is a bad combination! I’ve been trying to take the soda/coffee easy but might grab a Mountain Dew. Also drink lots of water! Hydrate Hydrate Hydrate. Hmmmm…might tweet that.

  7. October 24, 2009 10:18 pm

    I can’t wait to watch your vlog. I also need to hire you as a chef, I’ve been eating frosted flakes :D

  8. October 24, 2009 10:19 pm

    Mmmm…your dinner looks so delicious! Glad you’re feeling better now, sweetie!

  9. October 24, 2009 10:20 pm

    Oh my God that squash risotto looks delicious!! Take care of yourself though Eva!! I don’t want you making yourself sick during this thing!!

  10. janicu permalink
    October 24, 2009 10:21 pm

    Wow, you write such detailed updates! I’m impressed. Mmm, butternut squash risotto!

  11. October 24, 2009 11:17 pm

    Just a cheer–you are doing amazingly well (glad you finally got to eat some dinner)! I so admire the stamina of everyone who is doing this.

  12. October 24, 2009 11:48 pm

    You’re doing wonderful! And your risotto looks delicious!

  13. October 25, 2009 9:49 am

    That looks delish! Glad you figured out the shaking arm mystery. :O)

  14. October 26, 2009 12:26 pm

    Jill, LOL.

    Carrie, thanks for visiting me back! :)

    Care, Jill cracks me up too!I think my mom sneaks speed into my tea on read-a-thon days. ;)

    Stephanie, I’m jealous of Jill’s cleverness too! lol

    Amanda, yeah-I hate it when I forget to eat! lol

    Trish, I hadn’t drank soda in so long, I think it had a stronger effect than it would have otherwise!

    Icedream, lol-since going gluten free, I’ve had to kiss most convenience foods good bye. But frosted flakes are GRR-EAT! ;)

    Debi, thanks!

    Chris, it turned out quite yummy!

    Janicu, thank you!

    DS, thanks!

    Lu, thanks for stopping by!

    Pam, thank you! lol

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

