Skip to content

Dewey’s Read-a-Thon: Hour 15

October 24, 2009

readathonbuttonPages Read This Hour: 49
Total Pages Read: 1,096
Minutes Spent Reading This Hour: 15
Tot. Minutes Spent Reading: 446
Books Read This Hour: Book by Book by Michael Dirda
Books Completed: 7 (Disquiet by Julia Leigh, Expat ed. by Christina Henry de Tessan, Reservation Blues by Sherman Alexie, Miss Leavitt’s Stars by George Johnson, Chronicle of a Death Foretold by Gabriel Garcia Marquez, The Creative Family by Amanda Blake Soule, Where are the Children? by Mary Higgins Clark)
Total Mini-Challenges Participated In: 18
Minutes Spent Blogging/Mini-Challenge-ing This Hour: 35
Total Minutes Spent Blogging/Mini-Challenge-ing: 174
Minutes Spent Cheerleading This Hour: 10
Total Minutes Spent Cheerleading: 293

DietPepsiI started reading Book by Book by Michael Dirda, which is especially appropriate since I won it in the last read-a-thon. It’s a random collection of Dirda’s thoughts, quotes from various authors he likes, and booklists. So far, my favourite bit by far are the pages he devotes to advising people on how to stock their guest bedrooms with books; it opens:

Now the essential quality of a proper guest-room book is that i must avoid all the normal requirements of a “good read.” Nothing too demanding or white-knuckled suspenseful. Ideally, items should be familiar, cozy, browsable, above all soothing…All guest rooms are presumed to start with the Bible, Shakespeare, and at least one novel by Jane Austen.

Picture is of the Diet Pepsi I had to drink during the last hour, my second can of the day.

Now I’d like to do my own tribute to Dewey, as part of the mini-challenge I’m hosting.

Dewey had more brilliant ideas, more ability to follow-through, more ability to make people love her than any other book blogger I’ve met. At times, in fact most times, she seemed super-human. And as if that wasn’t enough, she also worked with teenage girls, had a teenage son and wonderful husband, and dealt with fibromylagia. I too have fibromyalgia, and I looked up to Dewey. She gave me hope about what my life could be like; that I didn’t have to allow my illness to define my boundaries, and that I could still create good in this world.

I’m now crying, so it’s a good thing I didn’t decide to vlog this.

Dewey always had time for anyone. I know that book bloggers who didn’t know her might think we’re lionising her, that she couldn’t possibly be this incredible, it’s simply that her tragic passing has made us remember only the good bits. But they’re wrong. I can’t remember Dewey ever being the center of anything but admiration. Her book blog grew quite big quite quickly, but there was no backlash or posts about ‘popularity.’ Because Dewey simply wasn’t like that; she had a ton of followers because she was so amazing. I think book blogging today has need of a patron saint, and I shall always see Dewey in that role. I miss her, and I’m sure as the anniversary of her death approaches, many of us are going to find ourselves more and more sad. I know that I will; I loved her (and honestly, putting that verb in past tense looks incredibly strange). But I also know that the book blogging community, and myself, would be infinitely poorer if we had never known her. So thank you Dewey, for giving so much of your time, your spirit, your energy, your intelligence to our community. You will always be missed.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2009 9:24 pm

    Beautifully written, Eva. You said everything I wanted to say.

  2. October 24, 2009 10:17 pm

    So wonderfully said, Eva. *hugs*

  3. October 24, 2009 10:22 pm

    You are so right, Eva. Dewey was someone we still look up to. She was kind and generous, she was so welcoming to everyone who blogged even when she didn’t know you. The girl was just plain wonderful. I loved her and will always miss her. . .

  4. October 26, 2009 12:27 pm

    Andi, thank you.

    Debi, *hugs*

    Vasilly, she was just plain wonderful!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

