Skip to content

Dewey’s Read-a-Thon: Hour 12

October 24, 2009

readathonbuttonPages Read This Hour: 88
Total Pages Read: 791
Minutes Spent Reading This Hour: 25
Tot. Minutes Spent Reading: 372
Books Read This Hour: The Creative Family by Amanda Blake Soule
Books Completed: 6 (Disquiet by Julia Leigh, Expat ed. by Christina Henry de Tessan, Reservation Blues by Sherman Alexie, Miss Leavitt’s Stars by George Johnson, Chronicle of a Death Foretold by Gabriel Garcia Marquez, The Creative Family by Amanda Blake Soule)
Tot. Mini-Challenges Participated In: 15
Minutes Spent Blogging/Mini-Challenge-ing This Hour: 15
Tot. Minutes Spent Blogging/Mini-Challenge-ing: 122
Minutes Spent Cheerleading This Hour: 20
Tot. Minutes Spent Cheerleading: 239

So I went for a little walk while reading The Creative Family (I have cultivated the reading-while-walking skill over years!), and took lots of pretty pictures of fall in the mountains. Then I got back and realised it was hour 12, and I needed to vlog! So you’ll see the pictures in the next post. ;) I finished The Creative Family, and I absolutely adored it. I think it would make a wonderful gift to anyone who’s expecting a child, and I intend to start visiting Amanda Blake Soule’s blog (SouleMama) regularly and get her newly published book from the library as soon as it’s available.

I want to finish my second round of visits with my current readers before switching to a new group at the end of the hour, so I’ll just leave you with my (super-short, around 40 seconds) vlog! You can tell it’s the midway point, because my braids are beginning to look distinctly frazzled, lol. ;)

Oh, and here’s the midevent survey as this hour’s mini-challenge!

1. What are you reading right now? I just finished The Creative Family; haven’t decided on next one, but it will be fiction.

2. How many books have you read so far? 6 BUT they were almost all short! :)

3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon? All the volumes of Fables I’ve been saving!!!

4. Did you have to make any special arrangements to free up your whole day? I started working on my sleep patterns last Saturday so I’d be able to fall asleep at 10 last night and wake up at 5:30 without a ton of problems. ;)

5. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those? Nope. I don’t have kids or a husband or anything like that, and both my parents have been doing homework all day (they’re working on their degrees!)

6. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far? Last read-a-thon, in April, I was REALLY stressed trying to cheerlead. But this time around, even though there are more readers, I’m relaxed and really enjoying it, which is a pleasant surprise!

7. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Nope!

8. What would you do differently, as a Reader or a Cheerleader, if you were to do this again next year? Nothing.

9. Are you getting tired yet? I can feel tiredness creeping around the edges. ;)

10. Do you have any tips for other Readers or Cheerleaders, something you think is working well for you that others may not have discovered? Other than going w/ really short books? lol Ummm…as a cheerleader working off the Mr. Linky, I open 10 blogs in a time in tabs on the same window, comment on them all w/o worrying about exiting out of them, and then when I’m done right click on the Mr. Linky tab and select ‘close other tabs’. I think that’s increasing my efficiency! lol

11 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2009 6:09 pm

    Wow! You’ve read a bunch of pages and 6 books! AND you’ve been visiting other people’s blogs as well. How do you do it?

  2. October 24, 2009 6:12 pm

    What Rich said…I feel like I’m trying to walk through a field of rubber cement. Must go look for the red ginseng tea….

  3. October 24, 2009 6:15 pm

    Wow, you’ve done a lot! I haven’t even counted my pages yet, I will just do it after the challenge.
    I just ate a little and I think that I will have to lay down for a while.

    Thank you so much for the cheering! I’ve been so suprised about all the support. :) I’ll be following your updates after a couple of hours. :)

  4. October 24, 2009 6:36 pm

    wow, you are pretty amazing at this. tons of reading and LOTS of cheering. you are definitely one of those secret superheroes dewey used to speak of.

  5. October 24, 2009 6:40 pm

    Do you enjoy making the rest of us feel like slackers?!! ;)

    I’ll forgive you though, since you made me smile so much with your vlog.

    Love you!!!!!

  6. October 24, 2009 7:00 pm

    You’re doing such a great job, and I loved seeing your mini-vlog!

  7. October 24, 2009 7:02 pm

    6 books? You rock!

  8. October 24, 2009 7:11 pm

    Love seeing your vlogs :) But dammit, where’s my Russian cooking video??? Where is it Eva?? :p Take a 30 minute nap if you’re sleepy…I promise it will help!

  9. October 24, 2009 7:36 pm

    You are like super read-a-thoner! I am very impressed!

  10. October 25, 2009 6:44 pm

    I have been visiting the Soulemama blog for years now – she is a wonderful writer and inspiring mother. So glad you read this during the read-a-thon!

  11. October 26, 2009 12:35 pm

    Rich, I don’t know-I get really hyper and fast-moving during the read-a-thons! lol

    Bybee, oh no-I hope you got that tea!

    Milka, if I don’t keep track during one, I’m waaay too lazy to go and count at the end. ;) Thanks for following me for awhie!

    Jehara, awww-thanks!

    Debi, LOL.

    Amanda, thanks!

    Softdrink, thanks!

    Chris, LOL.

    Kailana, thank you!

    Stephanie, isn’t she inspiring?! If you haven’t checked out her books, I bet you’d like them. :)

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

