Skip to content

Dewey’s Read-a-Thon: Hour 11

October 24, 2009

readathonbuttonPages Read This Hour: 114
Total Pages Read: 703
Minutes Spent Reading This Hour: 35
Tot. Minutes Spent Reading: 344
Books Read This Hour: The Creative Family by Amanda Blake Soule
Books Completed: 5 (Disquiet by Julia Leigh, Expat ed. by Christina Henry de Tessan, Reservation Blues by Sherman Alexie, Miss Leavitt’s Stars by George Johnson, Chronicle of a Death Foretold by Gabriel Garcia Marquez)
Tot. Mini-Challenges Participated In: 14
Minutes Spent Blogging/Mini-Challenge-ing This Hour: 5
Tot. Minutes Spent Blogging/Mini-Challenge-ing: 107
Minutes Spent Cheerleading This Hour: 25
Tot. Minutes Spent Cheerleading: 219

PumpkinBrowniesI’m not going to lie; I was quite cranky as this hour began. Read-a-thon brain had begin to set in, I think I was in a caffeine crash from the Diet Pepsi I drank awhile ago, and I didn’t even want to have to pick my next book (a nonfiction one). So I decided on The Creative Family because it seemed uplifting, and I got myself to the kitchen for a big mug of milky tea and the dessert I baked yesterday: pumpkin brownies! Amanda from the BlogJar baked these on Thursday, and since I had all the ingredients, I just followed the recipe from BakingBites, except I subbed gluten-free flour and had to bake it for about ten more minutes (baking at 6,000 feet is always kind of weird). And OMG, they are the most delicious, magical things ever (despite the lack of chocolate, which makes me hesitant to call them brownies). Of course, I had to sample them last night, and my mom did too. She doesn’t even LIKE pumpkin all that much, but I just asked her how she’d describe them & she said ‘Scrumptious.’ My dad took this picture; I was muttering to myself (remember that bad mood?) about why the camera wouldn’t focus (I was trying to take a close up), so he took the camera away from me, removed a couple crumbs from the plate (lol!), and then said his picture would do it. ;) And then I was reading The Creative Family, and it was as wonderful as I thought it would be, and the author is exactly the kind of mother I hope I am if I ever have children. So my happiness has returned!

And can you believe in an hour I’ll be recording my midway vlog?! Time always seems to pass so quickly!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2009 5:06 pm

    You continue to amaze me (despite your sugar crash!)

  2. October 24, 2009 5:13 pm

    703 pages! Wow! Keep up the good work!

  3. Bellezza permalink
    October 24, 2009 5:21 pm

    FIVE BOOKS?! You’ve read FIVE? I’m so completely impressed, as all I’ve finished is one. One sad, lonely little book. I’m off to remedy that number. You’re pumpkin brownies look delightful, by the way! What a perfect treat for a Fall Read-a-Thon.

  4. October 24, 2009 5:21 pm

    You are amazing.

  5. October 24, 2009 5:44 pm

    Um, pumpkins and chocolate are like the best combination ever ;-) Hope that your reading is going well. Clearly it is, if you’re through five books!

  6. October 24, 2009 5:59 pm

    I’m glad your book managed to cheer you up, sweetie! I hate the crankies, and I’m sorry you had to go through a bout of them.

    But you know what…I finally figured something out…you’re really identical triplets, aren’t you?!!! That has to be it!!! How the heck else can you manage to do all you do? One of you is reading, one of you is updating your blog, and one of you is cheerleading. Yep, you are so busted, girl. Errr…girls!

  7. October 24, 2009 6:03 pm

    Yeah Eva! I can;t wait for the midway vlog. Happy reading

  8. October 24, 2009 6:04 pm

    Sorry you had a case of the crankies…. hope your mood stays up the rest of the night! :)

  9. October 24, 2009 6:06 pm

    Oh my! Those brownies look delicious. I’m going to have to try those because everyone in my house loves pumpkin. I went through a bad case of the crankies this afternoon, but I just finished a good book and I think I’m over it.

  10. October 24, 2009 6:10 pm

    Good book selection…sometimes you need something a little lighter to spur yah on!! Never heard of pumpkin brownies…they look awesome!! Happy reading!! Keep up the great reading!

  11. October 24, 2009 6:32 pm

    Go, you! And those brownies sound wonderful. Might have to steal that idea!!

  12. October 24, 2009 6:55 pm

    You’re more than halfway there…yahoo!!

  13. October 25, 2009 7:15 am

    Aha! I see that you linked to the pumpkin brownie recipe…YAY!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

