Skip to content

Dewey’s Read-a-Thon: Hour 10

October 24, 2009

readathonbuttonPages Read This Hour: 61
Total Pages Read: 589
Minutes Spent Reading This Hour: 20
Tot. Minutes Spent Reading: 309
Books Read This Hour: Chronicle of a Death Foretold by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
Books Completed: 5 (Disquiet by Julia Leigh, Expat ed. by Christina Henry de Tessan, Reservation Blues by Sherman Alexie, Miss Leavitt’s Stars by George Johnson, Chronicle of a Death Foretold by Gabriel Garcia Marquez)
Tot. Mini-Challenges Participated In: 12
Minutes Spent Blogging/Mini-Challenge-ing This Hour: 20
Tot. Minutes Spent Blogging/Mini-Challenge-ing: 102
Minutes Spent Cheerleading This Hour: 20
Tot. Minutes Spent Cheerleading: 194

ChocolateMy picture is of the chocolate I ate this hour! My mom brought these home earlier this week; I’m not sure if it was partly as a joke, since I’m always saying I love dark chocolate and these are 88%, but once I got over the shock of the first bite, I really liked them! There were ten squares, and I think there are four left now, lol. And they’re ethnically traded and save endangered animals. It’s a win-win-WIN! (Any other Office fans out there?) I finished up the Marquez novella, Chronicle of a Death Foretold, and I’m still thinking about it. It’s as lush as Marquez’s writing always is, and I enjoyed reading it, but I’m trying to decide if it was mocking a standard Latin American lit theme or not. I’ll have to go read more reviews of it when the read-a-thons done! :) I’m on the my second round of visiting the readers assigned to my cheerleading team, which is fun as always!

So two more mini-challenges to talk about this hour! First, Ana FINALLY brought back her webcomics mini-challenge! hehe I loved this during the first read-a-thon, and I loved it again. How did I spend my ten minutes? First, I checked out Nice Hair and read the Halloween special that involved Neil Gaiman turning into a were-panda. I liked the drawing style, but I don’t feel compelled to read any more of it (I’m kind of sketched out by taking real, living people and turning them into comicstrip characters). Then I went to the Unshelved Bookclub, which is the book review part of a webcomic Dewey recommended about librarians, and read reviews of any book I’d read. They were quite amusing! Then I had a couple minutes left, so I went to the main Unshelved site and laughed my way through several strips. Definitely a webcomic I’d recommend trying out!

Meanwhile, Nicole’s featuring a mini-challenge that asks you to share a passage about eating you come across in your reading. And I found a good one in Chronicle of a Death Foretold:

I found Maria Alejandrina Cervantes awake as always at dawn, and completely naked as always when there weren’t any strangers in the house. She was squatting like a Turkish houri on her queenly bed across from a Babylonic platter of things to eat: veal cutlets, a boiled chicken, a pork loin, and a garnishing of plantains and vegetables that would have served five people. Disproportionate eating was always the only way she could ever mourn and I’d never seen her do it with such grief.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2009 4:07 pm

    Neil has said he loved Nice Hair, though, which makes it sort of okay :P Thanks for participating!

  2. October 24, 2009 4:16 pm

    Mmmm … dark chocolate. I usually stick with about 70% but my husband loves 88%. I’m with you … after getting over the initial shock, the 88% kinda grows on you.

  3. October 24, 2009 4:17 pm

    You got a lot done in one hour. Thanks for cheering on the cheerleaders, Eva.

  4. October 24, 2009 4:33 pm

    I’m here to cheer you on! Wow, not only have you gotten a lot of reading done, you’ve also managed to participate in several mini-challenges. Awe!

    Enjoy the rest of the readathon.

  5. October 24, 2009 4:34 pm

    I’ve seen that Endangered Species chocolate somewhere before and was quite curious about it. I don’t like my chocolate superdark, though, so I guess maybe it’s not for me. That’s pretty neat that it helps save the endangered animals.

    As usual, it looks like you’re putting the rest of us to shame with your Read-a-thon superpowers (I’ve heard rumors about these – LOL!). Keep up the great reading – love reading your updates!

  6. October 24, 2009 5:03 pm

    If your eyes are burning put up a fight
    Cocoa and cookies are yummy at close of day;
    Read, read into the dead of the night.

    Sorry Dylan.

  7. October 24, 2009 5:10 pm

    Wow, 5 books already? You are doing great. Enjoy the rest of the Read-A-Thon!

  8. historyofshe permalink
    October 24, 2009 5:25 pm

    Chocolate & books = an amazing combination.

    Cheer cheer cheer! You can do it! You can do it! : ) : )

  9. October 24, 2009 5:45 pm

    whoa, that’s a lot of meat. what a feast.

  10. October 24, 2009 5:48 pm

    Wow, you’ve managed to participate in a lot of reading challenges, and still get a lot of reading done, how do you do it?

  11. October 24, 2009 5:53 pm

    You’re doing fantastic! I want some of that chocolate now!

  12. October 24, 2009 6:02 pm

    Wow!! Look at you Miss 589 Pages Read! Great job!! Keep it up!! Nothing says happy reader like a bag of chocolate!!! =) Keep up the great reading!! (And noshing on chocolate, though I probably don’t need to do much cheering for you on that point! lol)

  13. October 25, 2009 1:58 am

    That is some awesome meal! Thanks for that.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

