Skip to content

Read-a-Thon Pile, Version Two (in pictures!)

October 22, 2009

Dewey’s read-a-thon is fast approaching guys. :D As Chris, Debi, and Care have so eloquently put it, it is bittersweet. I miss Dewey; I won’t say more than that for now, because I’m saving it for her read-a-thon. I’m so happy that hundreds of us now gather all because of her clever idea, and that in her name we spend twenty-four hours reading and blogging and cheerleading and rejoicing. She gave us all a wonderful gift.

I think one of the most magical parts of the read-a-thon is stockpiling books, making lists, seeing what everyone else is planning on reading, and basically going completely crazy and imagining time will somehow stop during the read-a-thon so you can read all of the wonderful books you’ve got waiting.

I’ve already discussed by read-a-thon pile in words (go here if you missed it). But now it’s time for pictures! I’ve decided to leave the files pretty big, so in case you want to see them on a larger scale, just click. ;) And in case you’re curious, I just counted, and there are 35 books in the pile.

Here’s the top-down view:
TopDown

And here, which makes it look hilariously huge, is the bottom-up view:
BottomUp

I thought it might be fun to add some perspective, namely, comparing the size of my pile to my own 5’3″ body. And my backyard’s looking pretty, so I decided to take it outside. Of course, this necessitated me setting the self-timer on my mom’s camera, which is only 10 seconds, then picking up the huge pile, making sure it doesn’t fall as I run outside, and then standing there hoping my neighbours don’t come out to see what I’m doing at 8 in the morning in the snow holding 35 books. So if you’re wondering why I have a ridiculous expression on my face, I’m laughing uncontrollably at myself, and whenever that happens my eyes disappear. ;) But you know, now you can see how big the pile is!
Perspective

52 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2009 10:00 am

    OMG! I love your pile. You’re just as crazy as I am! I still have books coming in from bookstores and the library. I can’t wait to read what you think of The Creative Family. It’s been on my wish list for months now.

    Dewey gave us such a great present. . .

  2. October 22, 2009 10:04 am

    I absolutely love that last pic :)

  3. October 22, 2009 10:06 am

    I love that last picture. I haven’t taken a picture of mine, but I will.

  4. October 22, 2009 10:10 am

    That picture of you holding the books made me grin. Can’t wait to see how many of them you get to this weekend!

  5. October 22, 2009 10:15 am

    Well, I think it’s clear you’re set for the readathon! I really love that last picture of you giving us some perspective on your stack! I am still amazed that your library lets you take out so many books!

  6. October 22, 2009 10:16 am

    That is such an adorable picture! I admire the fact that you were able to do that on self-timer. And in the snow, no less. :D

    One of my favorite readathon things is making piles so much bigger than I’ll ever be able to read.

  7. October 22, 2009 10:19 am

    Holy Moly, that is a big pile. But I think next year you should try and make it the full 5’3″ tall!

  8. October 22, 2009 10:22 am

    I started laughing the second I caught a glimpse of those pics of your stack. And then I got to that bottom photo, and my laughing immediately switched to an, “Awwwwww.” I LOVE that photo, Eva! I totally had to click and save that one to my desktop. :D

    “I’m so happy that hundreds of us now gather all because of her clever idea, and that in her name we spend twenty-four hours reading and blogging and cheerleading and rejoicing. She gave us all a wonderful gift.”…So perfectly said, Eva.

  9. October 22, 2009 10:27 am

    I love the pictures! You have an awesome pile. Lots of great choices in there, and it’s funny to see it compared to you. Also, very impressed that you could do that with a self-timer. I always mess those pictures up.

  10. October 22, 2009 10:36 am

    Too cute! I want your skirt! Your book pile is the perfect fashion accessory!

  11. October 22, 2009 10:54 am

    That is a huge pile! Good luck and have fun with the read-a-thon, Eva!

  12. October 22, 2009 10:58 am

    You are certainly ambitious!

  13. October 22, 2009 11:00 am

    Wowzers, that’s a big pile of books! Looks like you’re all set for the read-a-thon.

    I love the pictures, the last one made me laugh a lot.

  14. October 22, 2009 11:07 am

    I totally understand the “disappearing eyes” issue. I have the same problem, and I hate it! :-) You look adorable, as always! Good luck with all those books!

    Lezlie

  15. October 22, 2009 11:10 am

    That’s the cutest pic, I haven’t even attempted to make a pile as there are so many books I want to read, maybe later tonight I’ll start picking them out and seeing how ridiculously over ambiguous I’m being. So looking forward to the weekend ^_^

  16. October 22, 2009 11:11 am

    I love it! Your stack of books looks luscious, and I couldn’t help but laugh at the pic of you carrying them. I’m 5’3″, too, so I can relate!

  17. October 22, 2009 11:21 am

    I love an impossibly high stack of books. How will choose where to start?

  18. October 22, 2009 11:32 am

    Wowie – Zowie — that is impressive!!!

    I am so giddy with excitement over this read-athon weekend.

  19. October 22, 2009 11:34 am

    I wish I had known Dewey.

    We got a little more snow over here than you did!

    We might have a winnner here for biggest read-a-thon pile :-).

  20. October 22, 2009 11:35 am

    I’m having a totally blah morning but you just gave me a huge grin! And you also solidified my decision to not take my mother-in-law up on her request for us to come visit. I’m not ready for snow yet! Brrr …

  21. October 22, 2009 11:36 am

    I won’t be surprised if you get through most of them! Being the cheerleader head nonetheless. :D Is your mom joining again?

    Like everyone else, I just love that picture of you. It’s so whimsical and candid and cheerful and bookish!

  22. October 22, 2009 11:42 am

    I love it! I especially like the picture of you holding the book tower. And of course, imagining you doing this while working with a camera timer is pretty funny. You look so happy with your books. You made my day Eva!

  23. October 22, 2009 11:46 am

    Impressive pile. And cute skirt.

  24. historyofshe permalink
    October 22, 2009 12:01 pm

    Whoa! Look at all those books! Can’t wait for it all to start.

  25. October 22, 2009 12:58 pm

    Love the photos! I’ll do the same (minus the snow shot since I am in southern California) on my blog. I am glad someone’s book pile is bigger than mine.

  26. October 22, 2009 1:18 pm

    You are the cutest thing of my life.

  27. October 22, 2009 1:23 pm

    That’s an adorable picture. I’m a fan of adventures with the self-timer. Can’t wait to hear about your weekend reading…we’re excited to be hosting a mini-challenge.

  28. October 22, 2009 1:34 pm

    Wow that’s a pile girl!

  29. October 22, 2009 2:12 pm

    What a great pile, Eva! And you look adorable, beaming in the snow with your arms full of books! I’m looking forward to hearing what you thought of Skim (which I have yet to review).

    Enjoy the Read-a-thon! I’m kinda sorry I’m not joining in the fun!

  30. October 22, 2009 3:09 pm

    Thanks for making me giggle ;-)

  31. October 22, 2009 3:29 pm

    Whoa!!! That would take me the rest of the year to finish all of those books at least!!

  32. October 22, 2009 3:32 pm

    That looks like such a good stack of books for the Read-a-thon! I’m sure you’ll have fun with them!

  33. October 22, 2009 3:57 pm

    That is hilarious!

  34. October 22, 2009 4:19 pm

    lmao! You’re crazy, girl :D

  35. October 22, 2009 4:49 pm

    You mean time really doesn’t suspend itself so I can finish all the books I chose for the Read-a-thon? Nobody told me that! LOL!

    I love your ginormous pile of books, and the picture of you and it (plus the story of course) had me laughing out loud! :D

  36. October 22, 2009 6:33 pm

    LOL. I love your pics! :D

  37. October 22, 2009 7:34 pm

    It’s a good thing you stopped at 35 books; book 36 would not have fit in your arms with your face still showing!

  38. October 22, 2009 7:35 pm

    Is that what you look like at the library when you go to check out all your loot?

  39. October 22, 2009 7:59 pm

    Vasilly, I have a few more I COULD pick up, but I think that’d just be silly at this point! lol

    Kay, thanks!

    Lisa, I look forward to your pics!

    Dana, lol-we’ll see!

    Steph, my library is awesome-it has no limit! :D Except for the tim I got really sick & couldn’t drive & was home alone & had a huge fine because of it…but that’s not the library’s fualt. :)

    Amanda, it took four tries! lol In two of them, I didn’t even make it to the right place in time. ;)

    Thomas, lol! Then I couldn’t pose in the snow though!

    Debi, I’m glad I amused you! ;)

    Meghan, thanks! It took some sans bookpile practice runs first!

    TY, thanks-I got it on ebay last fall for like $6! (I have this weird compulsion to tell anyone who compliments me on my clothes where I got it from & how much I paid, lol.)

    Kailana, thanks!

    BermudaOnion, more that I want a lot of variety. ;)

    Alita, I’m glad it made you laugh!

    Lezlie, isn’t is frustrating?! I’m so not photogenic-I usually have multiple chins in pics too, lol. I’ve learned one particular way to hold my head that looks weird in rl but good in pics, but I couldn’t do it with that huge pile of books under my chin!

    Katrina, I hope you post about your pile!

    Andi, thanks! And yay for us short people! hehe

    CB, I don’t know how I’m going to choose! Although right now, I’m leaning towards Disquiet.

    Molly, giddy’s a great word for it!

    Valerie, I figured you’d have some extra snow-we always get way more snow/rain/etc. than my friend who lives in the southside of town. Mountains are so weird! lol

    Kristen, I’m glad I could pick up your morning!! lol-the snow melted by lunchtime. :)

    Claire, no. :( I was hoping she could, but in addition to her full-time job she’s taking a 5 credit hour Spanish class, so she’s too busy.

    Terri, aww-thanks!

    Charley, thank you!

    History of She, isn’t it exciting?! The countdown’s begun.

    Helen, I’m looking forward to seeing your picture!

    Raych, awww-you made my day with that!

    Trisha, I’m glad you’re excited about your mini-challenge! :)

    Jodie, yeah-I went a little crazy. ;)

    Avisannschild, aww-thanks! I’m definitely getting to Skim. :D And maybe you can join in during April!

    SuziQ, no prob! ;)

    Lola, yeah-there’s no way I’m finishing them all! lol

    Olduvai, thanks!

    Ted, :D

    Ana, I know! I tend to have fits on insanity in the morning. ;)

    Megan, LOL

    Melody, thanks!

    Lisa, I know, right?! When I saw the huge pile of books, I didn’t think I’d be able hold them all at once. I was quite surprised. :)

    Softdrink, NO! I have an awesome library bag. ;) But the one time I forgot it, I did look like that. hehe A couple nice men helped me to my car. (Note to self: include library bag in next vlog!)

  40. October 22, 2009 9:12 pm

    That last photo is so funny, lol. I wonder how many of those books you will get through in 24 hours? Anyway, I just discovered your blog a few months ago and have enjoyed your posts and recent vlogs, so I thought I would delurk and say Hi!

  41. October 22, 2009 9:54 pm

    Oh my god that is the most adorable picture ever!!!! YOU ARE the readathon cover girl!!! :)

  42. October 22, 2009 11:40 pm

    haha…you look so cute Eva with that book pile. It is ridiculously huge and looks heavy too.

    Oh, yes and the backyard? Definitely pretty

  43. October 23, 2009 4:56 am

    I want an after picture where you show us how much of the stack you read!

  44. October 23, 2009 7:35 am

    Eva – What a fabulous pile and beautiful photo of you in the snow! I wish I had known Dewey but she left us before I started blogging. I’m getting to know her just a litle bit through everyone’s comments about her.

    I am so excited about the read-a-thon. Have a great time reading!

  45. October 23, 2009 10:05 am

    That is so funny! I love the photo of you with the books. Good luck reading through as many as you can! I’m really curious to see how many I can get through in my pile.

  46. October 23, 2009 1:41 pm

    That is SO AWESOME!!! Happy reading!

  47. October 23, 2009 6:33 pm

    Eva–I don’t see a cape on top of that (AWESOME) coat. But I’m seriously convinced that you are either superhuman or something above and beyond that all together. You are just too cute (and get wayyyyyyyyy too much done).

  48. October 24, 2009 4:56 am

    That last pic is incredible!

    Best of luck with the readathon. :)

  49. October 24, 2009 9:08 am

    What a cool picture. I love that huge stack of books! Must be heavy.

  50. October 27, 2009 2:27 pm

    :)

Trackbacks

  1. ‘Friday Salon’: the Early Post « A Striped Armchair
  2. Dewey’s Read-a-Thon: Hour Zero « A Striped Armchair

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

