Skip to content

Vlogging the Bookshelves: Pink & Red Shelf

October 17, 2009

Ever since I rearranged my books by colour, I’ve been thinking about doing a vlog on them. So this morning, I decided to talk about the first shelf! It didn’t turn out the way I expected it to, though, so if y’all say it’s silly and you’re not interested in any more of these vlogs, I promise it won’t hurt my feelings. :) ETA: Eek! I totally meant to tell y’all that Claire (of Paperback Reader) and her coloured shelves feature helped inspire me to do a vlog series! Sorry I forgot to mention that Claire.

P.S.: I’ll try to get pictures up soon, for those who can’t watch vlogs. But my digital camera is dead, so I have to borrow one from my parents and figure out how to work it!

33 Comments
  1. October 17, 2009 10:18 am

    I absolutely love Mental Floss: I own most of their books and subscribe! Aren’t they great?!

    The color coordinated shelving is quite unique, Eva! Do you find it to be difficult at all locating a book or do you have most titles associated with colors?

  2. October 17, 2009 10:23 am

    I like, I like. Will you have trouble finding your books if they’re not in alph order?

    P.S. I like your top!

  3. October 17, 2009 10:35 am

    That was cute! I love the whole wall of bookshelves, someday I am going to have one of those :) And same question as Christina — is it hard to find the book you want sometimes?

  4. October 17, 2009 10:39 am

    I love the color coded shelves! I’m more of an alphabetical order girl but lots of fun to see — just beautiful.

    How fun to see your books! Mine are all falling apart so it wouldn’t be very pretty to see in a vlog. And my son is always pulling them off the shelf so not in order for long!

    I want that copy of War in Peace! Such a pretty cover…

  5. October 17, 2009 10:51 am

    Great vlog! I love being given virtual tours of people’s books.
    I have enjoyed showing off my books in my colour-themed bookshelves series and will be posting the last for the time-being (until I acquire more books!) tomorrow.

  6. October 17, 2009 10:53 am

    I would never be able to find anything if I organized my books like this! lol I look forward to seeing the rest of your shelves. :)

  7. October 17, 2009 11:39 am

    My bedroom is the same way…no natural light. Sounds like you are having a great time organizing by color. Thanks for sharing your books and shelves with us.

  8. October 17, 2009 11:53 am

    I love this vlog! I don’t think I could arrange my books by color. I’ll forget where each book is at! Mental Floss is such a cool magazine. Keep the vlogs going!

  9. October 17, 2009 12:07 pm

    Loved the vlog, Mine are just arranged by size, I never forget where a copy is though. I love the idea of having a whole wall of bookshelves, maybe one day when I own my own home.
    Keep them up, I love nosing at peoples bookshelves

  10. October 17, 2009 12:51 pm

    I loved your vlog and the tour through your pink and red books! I look forward to seeing what books will be revealed in your future tours/colors. I am inspired to group my books by color and see what happens!

  11. October 17, 2009 2:18 pm

    You are very cute. I never thought about rearranging by color. Mine seems to be all black and red for some reason.

  12. October 17, 2009 2:27 pm

    Your bookshelves look so neatly ordered, I’m jealous. Mine aren’t in any kind of order; I just shove books in wherever I see a space. Also, it’s not really book-related, but the Coke bottle of sand from around the Sphinx is pretty neat!

  13. October 17, 2009 3:08 pm

    Great idea! Extravagant , original, maybe not very practical but …beautiful! Your books are set in such a tidy way … I can only dream about keeping mine that way, but I’d love to. Books are actually everywhere in my house! Then I’ve got so many now, cause, unfortunately, I started reading many years ago – your weren’t born yet! – I’ve been reading since then and go on buying and reading books nowdays! Congrats for your colourful interesting vlog, Eva!

  14. October 17, 2009 3:45 pm

    Cute vlog! But it’s so blurry most of the time (just a comment). I may follow you guys’ lead and arrange my shelves that way :). One of these days.

  15. October 17, 2009 3:48 pm

    I particularly loved the comment about the short story collection. I cracked up.

    My books are just in Alpha order, but it’d be fun to redo them. I’d love to see more of your shelves!

  16. October 17, 2009 3:54 pm

    I’ve never read Mental Floss, but when I was a kid, I had Isaac Asimov’s Book of Facts (despite never having read any of his books), and it was one of my favorites, just reading random, disconnected information. I still remember it was the first place I heard about the Library of Alexandria and Sappho.

  17. October 17, 2009 5:09 pm

    Oh I totally loved this. Now talk about the marines and burgundys!

    -Aimee
    http://www.myflutteringheart.blogspot.com

  18. October 17, 2009 6:11 pm

    What a creative way to organize your books! Too overwhelming for me to think about doing mine this way but instead I’ll just admire yours. :)

  19. October 17, 2009 7:53 pm

    First of all, you are adorable! You had me laugh out loud a couple of times. I’d enjoy seeing more of your book shelves for sure! I really enjoyed seeing your super neat and organized books. And glad to hear there is another person who doesn’t break the spine.

  20. October 17, 2009 7:58 pm

    Love, love, love the vlog!!! Bookshelf tours are one of my favorite things…and so pretty!

  21. October 17, 2009 8:04 pm

    I have that same Agatha Christie. It’s not often I get a close and up front look at someone’s bookshelves–actually it’s very fun. I like your color coded shelves!

  22. October 17, 2009 11:33 pm

    Ok, I’m off of work now and I’m home and I can comment!! I loved this vlog Eva :D It’s one of my favs yet!! I loved getting to see the decorations on your shelves and hearing the stories behind them. And of course your shelves look gorgeous!! I have that same beautiful edition of War and Peace. I just had to have it the day it came out. I don’t know if I’ll ever read it though :p I’m so intimidated by it!! I still have The Trouble with Boys on my wishlist because of you!! You reminded me that I really need to read that one!

  23. October 18, 2009 1:57 am

    Christina, they’re definitely great! :) You know, I just rearranged them last month, but I have a very visual and tactile memory, so I don’t really have a problem finding books (except for some of the neutrals, but even then it only takes a few extra seconds!). Plus, since nothing’s double-stacked, it’s easy to scan my eyes over them. ;)

    T.Y., thanks-I got it at a Banana Republic outlet for $10 years ago! :) I answered your question in my reply to Christinia, but I’ll expand…back in January, I rearranged my bookshelves & put all of my TBR books in the middle case w/ my ‘already read’ ones to the left and right. The read ones I sorted by genre, then alpha by author, as I always did, but the TBR ones were so random, that colour made the most sense. And since I didn’t have a problem finding the books I wanted to read, I figure I could do the whole case that way!

    Kim, thanks! These are three of those cheap-o bookcases from OfficeMax put side-by-side. :) I’d like to paint them white one of these days, but the logistics of it seems frustrating. As for the answer to your question, see my replies to Christina and TY! ;)

    Rebecca, thanks! lol @ your son; when my niece is here, she *loves* playing in my room because it has so much fun stuff, especially the bookshelves! ;)

    Claire, I’m sorry I forgot to link to your bookshelf feature to begin with! Obviously hadn’t had enough of my morning tea!

    Kailana, it helps that I don’t have a ton of books-maybe 400!

    Serena, I’m glad you enjoyed it!

    Vasilly, thanks!

    Katrina, that’s interesting-arranged by size! As I told Kim, these are just 3 cheap bookshelves put next to each other. :)

    Kathleen, thanks-I’m glad you liked it! And if you rearrange, you should have pictures! (Or a vlog.)

    Daphne, I was surprised by how some of the colour ended up working out…like I have way more purple books than I would have expected!

    Ashley, thanks! Having a ban on book buying/mooching/etc. helps keep the shelves neat. ;)

    Maria, thanks! As I told Ashley, since I’ve had a book buying ban for two years, it’s easier to fit all the books on the shelvee (but I cull regularly as well).

    Mee, thanks! I don’t know why it’s so blurry. :( It wasn’t that bad when I was editing it, so I think Youtube did something. I want picks if you rearrange your shelves!

    Amanda, :D

    Jason, that sounds like fun! I think you’d enjoy Mental Floss. :D

    Aimee, thanks!

    Trish, it took about three days, during which my floor had random stacks of books everywhere. ;)

    Dana, thank you! And yes-even my mass market paperback of Gone With the Wind, that I reread at least 4 times when I was younger doesn’t have a crease. ;)

    Andi, awesome!

    Danielle, isn’t Miss Marple great?! I’m glad you liked the vlog!

    Chris, thank you! Don’t be intimidated by War & Peace! A lot of it is straight up story, and you can kind of skim through the philosophy of history bits if that’s not your thing. :)

  24. October 18, 2009 3:17 am

    Thanks for the link, Eva; I wasn’t angling for that in my comment! I am pleased as punch that I inspired what is going to be a great vlog series – I look forward to meeting your other colour-coded shelves!

  25. October 18, 2009 7:43 am

    Definitely continue the tour! (standing ovation)

  26. October 19, 2009 1:39 pm

    I didn’t mind your sound effects – I thought it was adorable. I enjoyed watching this vlog. I’d like to see your other shelves.
    I like your organization style by colors and I really loved your descriptions of your trinkets and all the books, of course. More to add to my TBR pile now :) Plus, It sounds like you’ve been to some interesting places in your travels.

  27. October 19, 2009 2:19 pm

    Visually, I love arrangement by color, but alpha arrangement seems to work best for me. I love the Russian translations by Pevear and Volokhonsky. I have Brothers Karamoz translated by them. Your version of War and Peace is very attractive — I like the aqua color too :o)

  28. October 20, 2009 2:42 am

    This was so interesting! I think bookshelves ordered by color look amazing (as yours do) but I could never do it myself. I’m not so great at remembering what books look like, strangely enough! I look forward to the next one though, it’s fun to see what you have and hear about all your little decorations as well. =)

  29. October 20, 2009 4:02 am

    I loved the Pevear and Volokhonsky translation of Anna Karenina, and really would like to get their translation of War and Peace. One day!

    Can’t wait to get to see your purple shelf!

  30. October 20, 2009 5:58 am

    Claire, I didn’t think you were angling-I had meant to mention you in vlog and post, but got nervous and forgot! lol

    Bybee, thank you!

    Julie, lol-I tend to make a soundtrack to my day. ;) I’m a military brat, so I’ve gotten to see some fun places!

    Terri, I have Brothers Karamazov too! And Anna Karenina! And I really want The Master & Margarita and the complete short stories of Chekhov and Gogol. I’m a total P&V groupie. :D

    Meghan, it’s interesting how all of our brains work differently! I’m glad you enjoyed the vlog. :)

    Marg, there are TWO purple shelves-isn’t that exciting?! hehe I have their translation of Anna Karenina too-both are marvelous!

  31. October 20, 2009 1:16 pm

    Great vlog! I may do a book shelf vlog one day but w/o myself in the picture ;)

Trackbacks

  1. The Other Green Shelf | Paperback Reader
  2. Vlogging the Bookshelves: Red & Maroon Shelf « A Striped Armchair

Comments are closed.

