Skip to content

Library Loot: October 14-20, 2009

October 14, 2009

library-lootLibrary Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by myself and Marg that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries!

Want to share your loot?

As for my loot, still no vlog. :/ I’m going to ask my dad to see if he can make the webcam work, because I miss rambling about books! And the read-a-thon’s coming up! But at least you can look at all the pretty covers and follow the links to Powell’s to find out more. (And those of you who have seen my read-a-thon pool won’t be surprised by much this week!)

row1
Paper Towns by John Green (read-a-thon), Hush by Jacqueline Woodson (read-a-thon), Parable of the Sower by Octavia Butler (on CD) (like the author)

row2
North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell (like the author), Disquiet by Julia Leigh (read-a-thon), The Day the World Came to Town by Jim DeFede (read-a-thon/Canadian Challenge)

row3
The Ragamuffin Gospel by Brennan Manning (on a Christian theology kick), I’m Not Scared by Niccolo Ammaniti (Orbis Terrarum Challenge), My Mother’s Wedding Dress by Justine Picardie (read-a-thon)

row4
Expat ed. by Christina Henry de Tessan (read-a-thon), My Heartbeat by Garret Freymann-Weyr (read-a-thon/GLBT Challenge), The Cat Who Went to Paris by Peter Gethers (read-a-thon)

row5
Trading in Memories by Barbara Hodgson (read-a-thon), Baby of the Family by Tina McElroy Ansa (read-a-thon/R.I.P. IV), Miss Leavitt’s Stars by George Johnson (read-a-thon/Science Book Challenge)

row6
Fables Vol. Seven: Arabian Nights (and Days) by Bill Willingham (read-a-thon), Where are the Children? by Mary Higgins Clark (read-a-thon/R.I.P. IV), Fables: 1001 Nights of Snowfall by Bill Willingham (read-a-thon)

row7
You Were Always Mom’s Favorite! by Deborah Tannen (like the author)

27 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2009 6:17 am

    Nice haul! I read all of Peter Gether’s books several years ago and loved them. Read Butler’s Wild Seed years ago, too–loved it, although I still remember the tension.

    Have fun reading!

  2. October 14, 2009 6:32 am

    Expat looks like a lot of fun! I’m jealous of the Deborah Tannen book. My library hasn’t got it, and as the third of four sisters, I am very curious to see what she says.

  3. October 14, 2009 7:00 am

    Good loot, sure a lot of different things in there

  4. October 14, 2009 7:21 am

    Aaahhh… North and South is one of my ALL TIME FAVORITE books. After reading it, Mr. John Thornton completely displaced Mr. Darcy as my favorite leading literature man.

    Hope you enjoy it :)

  5. October 14, 2009 8:39 am

    I LOVED I’m Not Scared by Niccolo Ammaniti. Hope you liked it too.

    You Were Always Mom’s Favorite made me laugh out loud.

  6. October 14, 2009 8:52 am

    I’m curious about Tannen’s book (I have two sisters). I hope you review that one!

  7. October 14, 2009 11:01 am

    Yay Paper Towns and Fables!!! And a few of those other books look good too!! I miss your webcam Eva :( I really hope it’s back to working again in time for the readathon! That would be sad if there were no Eva vlogs during the readathon. Especially at 4 in the morning!

  8. October 14, 2009 11:04 am

    Darn, I was looking forward to the vlog! Especially as I went to the library this morning. Ah, well, hope you get the computer issues sorted and maybe next week you’ll be able to vlog again.

    I’ll be posting my library loot in the evening. yay.

  9. October 14, 2009 1:34 pm

    Great loot!

  10. October 14, 2009 1:48 pm

    You always find the best looking books! Enjoy!

  11. fleurfisher permalink
    October 14, 2009 2:14 pm

    What a great mix of books. I have the Justine Picardie anthology, and it’s lovely.

  12. historyofshe permalink
    October 14, 2009 2:51 pm

    A friend told me North and South is absolutely fabulous– I hope it’s true for you!

  13. October 14, 2009 2:56 pm

    For the longest time I thought the only “North and South” book was by John Jakes about the American Civil War so I was VERY confused during book discussions!

    Also I just read Fabels Vol 1 and can’t wait to devour the rest of the series, hope you enjoy Vol 7!

  14. Ashley permalink
    October 14, 2009 5:12 pm

    Oh I just read Parable of the Sower, and I thought it was fantastic (if a bit disturbing). You’re in for a real treat! And North and South is lovely too, of course.

  15. October 14, 2009 7:26 pm

    Oh, I think I might have read Miss Leavitt’s Stars. Very interesting book–one of those that reminds us that everyone has a contribution to make. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

  16. October 15, 2009 5:25 am

    JenClair, thanks! I’m glad to hear you loved Gether! I just recently read Fledgling, whcih I loved so much I wanted more Butler. :D

    Jenny, I’ve read the first few essays from Expat, and it was a lot of fun!

    Blodeuedd, thanks-I like a variety in my reading!

    Debilyn, I’ve seen the miniseries, so I’m fairly certain I’ll enjoy it! :)

    Violet, I can’t wait to get to I’m Not Scared!!! And isn’t the Tannen title great?!

    AvisannsChild, *cough* I actually reviewed it in this past week’s Sunday Salon. ;)

    Chris, webcam is working again!!! I got the sad cover of Paper Towns, though. :( I like the perk yellow one more!

    Iliana, I’ll have a vlog up this morning!

    Linda, thanks!

    BermudaOnion, it’s thanks to all those great book blogs! :D

    FleurFisher, I’m glad to hear good things about it!

    HistoryofShe, have you seen the miniseries? If not, you HAVE to!

    Lusty Reader, LOL-I thought the same thing when I first heard of North and South!

    Ashley, wonderful!!!

    DS, I’m excited about it!

  17. October 15, 2009 5:49 am

    Looks like you got a lot of great books! I currently have Paper Towns waiting for me so hopefully I’ll get to it soon.

    Disquiet is a great choice for the read-a-thon.

  18. October 15, 2009 6:17 am

    I’m thinking I need to read Paper Towns at some point soon. I keep hearing great things about it!

  19. October 15, 2009 8:51 am

    Whoops! Thanks for letting me know! *scurries off to check out said review*

  20. October 15, 2009 9:27 am

    Looks like some great books! This is our first time participating, thanks for hosting!

  21. October 15, 2009 4:20 pm

    You wil LOVE LOVE LOVE 1001 Nights of Snowfall! Or at least I loved it, so I hope you do, too. The artwork is just stunning as every selection is illustrated by a different artist. Fabulous. And I adored having more backstory on characters like Flycatcher. Can’t wait to read what you think of it!

  22. October 15, 2009 7:20 pm

    I want to get my hands on Paper Towns – can’t wait until it arrives here at my library. And I do hope you will like Miss Leavitt’s Stars – I thought it was well written & covered an interesting topic.

    And of course I know you will like North & South – John Thornton, mmmm. :) Although Wives & Daughters is still my favourite Gaskell.

  23. October 16, 2009 9:50 am

    Lola, I’m glad you approve of Disquiet! I have the sad cover of Paper Towns, and it makes me not want to pick it up. (I’m aware that that’s irrational.)

    Rebecca, I really enjoyed Looking for Alaska, so I’m hoping this Paper Towns is as good!

    Avisannschild, no problem! :)

    3T, thanks for joining in!

    Andi, I LOVE the cover-I’ve just been admiring it, and I can’t wait to actually read it! (I’m planning to after Vol. 7)

    Melanie, I’m glad you enjoyed Miss Leavitt’s Stars. I want to read Wives and Daughters, but I hesitate since Gaskell died before writing the ending. But I guess you think it’s great even without the ending!

  24. October 16, 2009 3:43 pm

    I’m very interested in hearing about “The Day The World Came to Town.”

  25. justabookreader permalink
    October 20, 2009 4:42 am

    Great books! I can’t wait to hear about My Mother’s Wedding Dress.

  26. October 21, 2009 3:14 pm

    I missed this post last week, but had to comment today anyway, because The Day the World Came to Town has totally just captured my eye. I put it on my must read list, because I just know it will capture my heart as well. I live in a NJ suburb of NYC that was directly affected by the fall of the twin towers, having lost six people from my own town that terrible day, including a neighbor. I think this book would be very enlightening to me… to see how lives outside my own neighborhood were also so deeply affected.

Trackbacks

  1. Library Loot « Fleur Fisher reads

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

