Skip to content

Whiskers on Kittens

October 9, 2009

I’m in a total slump guys. Reading-what’s that? lol I’m picking up books like they’re chores, and I’m reading maybe an hour or two a day. At most. I’m thinking maybe I should break into my read-a-thon stash earlier-all those little, interesting sounding books might be just the thing! I’m also in a blogging slump. I think this is related to my reading slump, and it all has to do with my fibro acting up a bit, so my brain’s in a fog. Every time I go to write a review, I get about two sentences in, and realise I have no cohesive thoughts whatsoever. Plus, I’ve been sleeping until the afternoon this week, and I’m always less productive when my sleeping is like that than when I get up early in the morning.

But then I decided this is my chance to blog about non-review things! (Usually, I have so many reviews I feel like I need to post one every day.) Way back in April, I did a post on little things that were making me happy. I love the idea of gratitude journals (although I’m not focussed enough to actually keep a daily journal-I’m such a commitment-phobe), and it’s about time I made another post!

  • Movie nights with friends! One of my best friends and I are getting together on Sunday night for a sleepover movie night; we don’t get to see each other as much as we’d like, because he works all the time and I’m sick all the time (lol), and usually we just meet up for lunch. So this is extra special!
  • Snowfall. I put this on my first gratitude list as well, but as someone who grew up without it (Texas and southern England aren’t white Christmas kinds of places), I still think it’s perfectly magical. Yesterday was our first real snowfall of the season, and it was marvelous-not cold enough for me to have to hack ice off my car, or make the roads super-scary, just the wonderful little flakes settling down in my hair, on my coat…I couldn’t stop grinning.
  • Velvet. I got the prettiest red velvet skirt from Goodwill last week for two dollars (gotta love the kids’ section!) with all of thise elaborate golden beading and embroidery. I love the texture of velvet, and I just keep petting it! :) Also, cashmere. I scored a cashmere cotton blend lightweight sweater the same day for 75 cents, and I’m happily adding it to my small collection. I’m really big on cuddly clothes, the kind that makes everyone want to touch them.
  • Green tea ice cream. I discovered the wonderfulness of this last year, and a couple days ago my mom called saying the Hagen Daas pints (which you can’t always find) were on sale for $1.50! She brought one home, and I’ve been happily savouring a few spoonfuls a night.
  • Rice and rice cookers. Since I’m talking about food. :) Since going gluten free, I’ve managed to collect 5 different types of rice in the house, and it’s been my salvation! And my rice cooker makes it so easy!
  • The new church I’ve been going to, and its class for ‘seekers’. I love this class-first we have a free dinner (and they always have a vegetarian GF meal for me!), sitting at tables with whoever we like, then we watch a short film, and then we have discussion groups. My discussion group is the *best*-we’re always still talking even after all the other groups have left, and everyone’s very supportive. :) The whole community feel is exactly what I was hoping for from a church.
  • The changing leaves. October is one of my favourite months (along with April! for obvious reasons!), and now that’s it’s cooled off, all the deciduous trees out back have put on their autumn finery. It makes being outside even more gorgeous.
  • Glee. Chris and Trish convinced me to give this TV show about a high school glee club (i.e. they sing and dance a lot) a chance, and it’s just so adorable I grin every time I think of it. And I now sing around the house whenever I’m alone-I used to be in choir and love singing, so it’s fun. Speaking of TV, the new season of Bones has me happy too. The last season’s finale was so horrible, I didn’t know if they could come back from it. But other than the odd wardrobe decisions for most of the characters, it’s back to its old self!
  • Yoga! I’ve finally started getting back into it (after being too sick to practice it regularly for months), partly thanks to Trish’s 100 Mile Fitness Challenge, and it makes me feel wonderful. I’m starting slow, so my body can get used to it again, but it really nourishes my mind, body, and soul.

Whew! I’m feeling much happier just listing all of the joys in my life. :) (And I didn’t even include the big ones like family, book blogging friends, my parents taking care of me so I can get healthy again, my cat, Paul Newman (j/k)…) What’s one thing that’s made you happy this week? Let’s have a joyfest!

30 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2009 6:38 pm

    Snow and velvet are wonderful happy things!

    Hm…what’s making me happy this week…readathon stuff, preparing for NaNoWriMo, stupid Sonic commercials…yeah. :)

  2. stacybuckeye permalink
    October 9, 2009 6:41 pm

    I love leaves and fall and October. Isn’t it nice to focus on averything we have and love? Hope your post gets you over your slump!

  3. October 9, 2009 6:42 pm

    One of my wonderful co-workers hosts “Mad Men Mondays” at her apartment and several of us get together and watch the latest episode.

  4. October 9, 2009 7:02 pm

    I’m guessing you mean besides this post, right? Because this post did make me very, very happy!

    Honestly, it’s been a pretty “heavy” week. One of the most emotional I’ve had in I don’t know when. But it is the most profound kind of happiness that I got to really, really help someone I love this week. I’ve also found profound happiness in friends that help me be a better person.

    And those little joys…the electric blue mustache Max has been sporting this evening, lots and lots of warm cozy hugs from Rich the past few days, Lucky curled up on my chest purring away, Logan not getting booted from Project Runway…

  5. October 9, 2009 7:15 pm

    I sure wish I could say baseball made me happy this week but my team, the Tigers, broke my heart, again! Other than that, it’s been an okay week and the thing that’s made me the happiest has been my fur kids (always) and my sister, who came over on her day off to help me clean my house and yard. Oh, and I somehow managed to lose 11 pounds since I was last on the scale a couple of weeks ago.

    And I have to ask – green tea ice cream? I’ve got to try and find that!

    cjh

  6. October 9, 2009 7:25 pm

    Nice list! I’m in a bit of a reading slump myself, so maybe I should make a list of my own! I’ve never had green tea ice cream, although I’ve seen it around – it doesn’t sound so great, but you’re such a fan maybe I’ll have to get it at least once to taste it!

  7. October 9, 2009 7:54 pm

    So many happy things! I’m happy about all the new clothes I bought last weekend (call me shallow) and that fact that it’s cool enough to wear sweaters again and that it’s the weekend!

  8. October 9, 2009 8:11 pm

    Your post made me grin – thanks!

    I stumbled upon Glee a few weeks ago, and oh is it cute! I’ve been watching lots of The Big Bang Theory lately, which always makes me laugh.

    It’s getting cooler here (not quiet snow weather, though!), and I’m looking forward to wearing mittens and scarves and sipping scalding-hot hot chocolate from styrofoam cups. I don’t know where I would be sipping on said hot chocolate, but wearing mittens always makes me want some hot chocolate.

    Oh, and I got a book in the mail this week – that made me very happy. Brown paper packages, and all :)

  9. October 9, 2009 8:30 pm

    My first response to this blog and it’s all about being happy. Yea! We never get snow (southern California), but I am loving my Teacher Librarian job right now; the students are so awesome! But, little things that delight me…walking my dog in the quiet morning fog, the little smiling buddha statue on my desk, taking photographs, my Ugg boots…

  10. October 9, 2009 8:39 pm

    Great post! I understand the brain fog thing. I get it too. Different ailment similar symptom! I think your idea to break into the readathon stash is a good one, something to pick up your spirits a bit. You can always add to the stash next week or something.

    I started an on-line gratitude journal with some friends several years ago. Mostly we just email eachother but some days it really helps to list the things your grateful for.

    Your Sunday night movie sleepover sounds like a lot of fun. Snow is lovely and a great time to wear red velvet and cashmere, 2 of the best fabrics. Glee is a great show! It’s awesome you can do Yoga. I have thought about trying it tailored for people with disabilities but haven’t yet.

    Great gratitudes! I hope you have a good weekend.

  11. October 9, 2009 8:42 pm

    Glee = AMAZING!

  12. October 9, 2009 9:13 pm

    Oooooh … rice cookers! I got mine 2 years ago for Christmas, and it makes perfect rice every time. It’s my favorite kitchen gadget.

  13. October 9, 2009 9:36 pm

    Oh man, I wish I could keep up with Glee & Bones because I love them both! But we have to watch all our TV after the girl goes to sleep. She has a nasty habit of blabbering very loud while the TV is on in her presence. ;-)

    One thing that made me happy this week was getting to catch up on The Office (after her bedtime of course!).

  14. October 10, 2009 12:32 am

    My happy thing this week is such a little thing but it’s so incredibly sweet. This afternoon I was sitting and reading and Z disappeared into the kitchen. I heard him opening the fridge and then he usually calls me to hold the door open while he gets some water from the filter container. Today he didn’t call me so I was a little concerned but then he walked back out with my cup and brought it over. He got me a drink of water! It was so sweet and he just wanted to make me happy. I love that my little five year old is already learning to be thoughtful! He also giggled in his sleep last night which was adorable. I’ve been sick all week with a lingering cold so it’s fabulous to have family to take care of me. I’m glad that you have that too!

  15. October 10, 2009 7:03 am

    Wow, I’ve never had green tea ice cream before. Sounds yummy! :-D

    That’s a really good idea, Eva. I think too many people focus on the negative aspects of their day rather than the good things that happened.

    My happy thing this week was that I got to see my boyfriend for the first time in weeks. Last night my best friend came over and I hadn’t seen her in months! Today I’m having a lazy day (one of my favourites ;-) ). It’s all good. :-D

  16. October 10, 2009 7:20 am

    This week my happiest moment came when I finally finished a writing project that I have been working on since May. Now THAT’S happy!!

  17. October 10, 2009 10:01 am

    What a lovely post. It made me feel really happy. I wish we got snow here, unfortunately being in southern England, we lack the snow.

    I hope you come out of your reading slump soon.

  18. October 10, 2009 11:59 am

    I’m sorry about your slump. :( I’m kind of in one too. I haven’t been reading much at all, so I don’t have much to talk about on my blog. It’s frustrating, but I love that you used your slump as an opportunity to write this post! Your new skirt sounds absolutely amazing. It’s been ages since I found anything really good at the thrift shop.

    It snowed here yesterday, and that’s both a blessing and a curse. I hate the cold, but I love the way the sky glows at night when there’s snow on the ground. Winter skies are one of my very favourite things about life, and I get them early this year!

  19. October 10, 2009 12:05 pm

    Nice post — I’ve been somewhat in a reading slump myself, too. We’ve had a sick household lately (so far I’m fine…knock on wood). Blah.

    So what am I grateful for (other than my family, for whom I’m grateful for everyday)?

    Hmmm, today I picked up a lovely beaded necklace. There is this bead shop that also sells beautiful jewelry (at very reasonable prices) made by mentally disabled adults. I love that this is something they enjoy keeping busy with.

    A day like this makes me want to coccoon up in front of the fireplace, am grateful that I don’t have to go anywhere for the rest of the day….maybe I’ll finish up some unfinished books :-).

  20. October 10, 2009 1:33 pm

    I hope you get over your slump soon, those are really hard! I’ve been loving Glee too, I just think it’s such a funny show. The pilot was great, but the first few episodes struggled a little bit. I feel like it’s been getting better every week though.

  21. October 10, 2009 2:58 pm

    Congrats, Eva, you made me want to buy two things: 1. green tea ice cream, and 2. a rice cooker! ;)

    I’m feeling really grateful for my family lately. My husband and I are actually in serious discussion about moving to another state (shh don’t tell my family/friends… nobody knows yet) and the more positive we get that we’ll actually move, the more I get really sad about being away from my family, especially my niece. So as long as we’re still here, I’ll count my blessings that I get to see my mom, sister, and niece about once a week.

    And when I’m in a reading funk, which happens every couple of months, I usually pick up either a quick, fun read or a comfort read. Maybe that will help you?

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

  22. October 10, 2009 4:08 pm

    What a lovely list! October is making me VERY happy… I’m in love with Autumn. Also started a book blog this week, after going through a major blogging slump for the past several months. Now, I’m actually excited to blog again :)

    {found your blog via Leafing Through Life}

  23. October 10, 2009 4:46 pm

    This post is one thing that made me happy this week Eva :D I couldn’t help but have a smile on my face while reading this!! And really great friends have made me happy this week as well. Seriously helped me. I love posts like this Eva!

  24. October 10, 2009 5:04 pm

    Reading your list made me smile :)

    Green tea ice cream tastes a lot better than you’d think, doesn’t it?

  25. October 10, 2009 6:35 pm

    Love this post! So much to be happy about and thankful for. I’m especially fond of the weather in Texas now that it’s cooled off a bit. It’s down in the mid-50s (which we think is rather chilly), and I adore curling up with a cup of decaffeinated tea and a book. My reading always picks up this time of year. Whee!

  26. October 11, 2009 1:51 am

    I’m in a bit of a reading slump too. I’ve been watching a lot of TV series lately, which usually helps me come back to reading. But this is also a good idea.
    Green tea ice cream, that’s a flavor I haven’t heard of before.

  27. October 11, 2009 6:07 am

    Amanda, the Sonic commericals are so funny! :)

    Stacy, it is nice to redirect the focus. :)

    Bybee, that sounds like so much fun!

    Debi, lol @ Max’s mustache! And I’m so jealous and you and Rich-I hope one day I have a marriage like that. :)

    CJ, awww-sports can be rough! Congrats on the weight loss! And green tea ice cream rocks. ;)

    Rhapsody, it’s kind of like the green tea lattes at Starbucks, if you’ve ever tried them. :)

    Softdrink, I’d never call someone shallow because clothes make them happy! I love clothes! :D

    Alita, one of my roomies watched Big Bang Theory-it was funny! Mittens and hot chocolate definitley go together. And yay for book mail!

    Helen, thanks for commenting! Very jealous of your job! :)

    Amy, brain fog sucks doesn’t it? What a neat thing to do among friends! I am lucky I can do yoga, although I have to slooooooooowly ease back into it right now.

    She, so true!

    Felicia, my favourite kitchen gadget is my KitchenAid immersion blender, but my rice cooker is up on the list!

    Kelly, yay for another Bones fan. :D lol @ your daughter; I’m fairly certain I was that girl to my parents (…and probably still am when it’s not my show…hehe) I haven’t caught up on the Office, but I’m excited about the wedding!

    Kristen, that is aweet. :D

    Ceri, sounds like you had a great reunion week! I love lazy days too!

    Randall, congrats on finishing!!

    Vivienne, thank you. :) I sympathise-I lived in England for seven years, and the one Christmas it actually snowed, we were on vacation in Egypt and missed it! lol

    Memory, I live right near a great Goodwill-and it’s on the way to the library! ;) I love winter skies too! I hope your slump ends soon.

    Valerie, thanks! Your necklace sounds great!

    Kim, I agree that the pilot was *awesome* and now the epi’s are getting better!

    Heather, lol! My rice cooker was $10 at Walgreen’s. :D I hope you can find the green tea ice cream! And how exciting about a possible move, although I understand the sadness too.

    Debilyn, congrats on starting a book blog, and thanks for commenting! :)

    Chris, thanks!!! Friends are the best. :D

    Becca, thanks! It does-people always give me strange looks when I say it’s my fave, but they don’t know what they’re missing!

    Andi, 50s is perfect curl-up-and-read weather!

    Hazra, I first tried it at a Thai place, and then I became addicted. ;) I always watch a lot of TV and movies when I’m in a reading slump too!

  28. October 11, 2009 7:43 am

    I really needed to read this post today! Thanks for listing all your “gratitudes”, I really need to do this. Something about the past week had me feeling blah, so this is a great idea. Thanks again :)

    PS – isn’t Glee the best new show?!

  29. October 13, 2009 1:01 pm

    I’ve been in a blogging slump too (although I’ve still been reading, probably been reading even more!!) so I completely understand! I love your list of happy things. Just what I need upon opening a very full google reader!

    Things on my list from the last few days:
    Jumping in a huge pile of leaves with my 2-year-old an hour ago (the smile on his face was priceless!)
    The squeal of delight when my son saw his grandma last night
    The sound of the children’s voices when they sing in my church’s children’s group (I lead them and they are so cute and excited!)

  30. October 17, 2009 8:13 pm

    I’ve been in a reading slump, too. I managed to finish Fingersmith earlier this week but I didn’t enjoy it as much as I feel I should have so I’ve been avoiding my review. :( I’ve been trying all week to read Rebecca but have only managed 60 pages–hopefully things get better by the read-a-thon!

    I’m glad you’re enjoying Glee. The past few episodes I’ve been missing more of the showtune type songs, but hopefully they’ll sneak in a few more throughout the rest of the season.

    And good for you getting back into yoga! I’ve actually been wondering if sometime later this month or next month if you’ll write a post for the challenge blog about the benefits of yoga–exercise for the body and the mind!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

