Skip to content

Library Loot: September 30-October 6, 2009

September 30, 2009

library-lootLibrary Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by myself and Marg that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries!

Want to share your loot?

Here’s my loot via vlog:

And via covers/links:
rowone
Fables: Animal Farm by Bill Willingham (for fun), Fables: Storybook Love by Bill Willingham (for fun), Fables: the Mean Seasons by Bill Willingham (for fun)
rowtwo
Fall On Your Knees by Ann-Marie MacDonald (Canadian Challenge), Built of Books by Thomas Wright (I love Oscar Wilde! And books!), A Year in Japan by Kate Williamson (Japanese Lit III Challenge)
rowthree
The Devil’s Picnic by Taras Grescoe (Canadian Challenge), The Innocents Abroad by Mark Twain (I thought it’d be fun to read a classic travelogue), Angels & Insects by A.S. Byatt (on CD) (Byatt’s one of my fave authors!)

rowfour
The Claudine Novles by Colette (GLBT Challenge)

26 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2009 6:46 am

    Always a treat to see you talk about books.

  2. September 30, 2009 6:49 am

    A lot of interesting books in there :)
    My loot was way way smaller .)

  3. September 30, 2009 6:51 am

    I absolutely LOVE the cover and title to the Oscar Wilde bio! What a great lot of loot.

  4. September 30, 2009 7:47 am

    I’ll be curious to see if anyone answers your question regarding the covers of graphic novels. I have the same question!

    Lezlie

  5. September 30, 2009 7:55 am

    I always see Fall on Your Knees in stores. Let us know if it’s a good book!

  6. September 30, 2009 8:00 am

    Jason LOVES Colette, especially the Claudine novels. In the first letter I ever received from him (we met through letters through a mutual friend), he mentioned Colette! I’ve been a little scared to read t hem simply because I tie them so closely to that beginning to know Jason period of my life, and I dont’ want that broken. I know that’s silly…but I still haven’t been able to read any of her novels.

  7. September 30, 2009 8:20 am

    I’m not totallly sure about this, but, I know James Jean does/did the covers for the Fables books and had no part in the illustration on the inside. I would assume that is why the cover art is always different. He recently said he would no longer be doing the covers however and I’m not sure who will be taking his place.

    And YOU are absolutely adorable. Really enjoyed your vlog!

  8. September 30, 2009 9:28 am

    those are some great books. I really liked Fall on Your Knees. Great book.

  9. September 30, 2009 9:35 am

    Great loot. I didn’t get anything this week. Hopefully that means I’ll have time to write a couple of reviews!

  10. September 30, 2009 10:40 am

    Hi!
    Sounds like a lot of great books! Haven’t heard of any of them. I’ll have to check them out. My loot is posted at my place, Sherrie’s Stuff. Have a great day!

    Sherrie

  11. September 30, 2009 11:15 am

    Great loot! And you got the Wilde book! :) I still have some other (library) books I need to read before Oscar’s Books, but am looking forward to reading what you thought of it. I finally got Woolf’s The London Scene yesterday. Did you read it already?
    The Innocents Abroad seems very interesting. I was a bit dissapointed when I realised we don’t have in our library system, but then I noticed that we have it in Finnish translation from year 1922 in our stack collection!! :) I just have to visit the stacks tomorrow and take a look!

    Greetings,
    Tiina

  12. September 30, 2009 12:02 pm

    That would be an extravagant week of loot for me, but definitely a tame week for you. Hope you love every last one of them, too!!! :D

  13. September 30, 2009 12:58 pm

    The Innocents Abroad sounds really good! I’ll be watching for your review.

  14. September 30, 2009 1:29 pm

    I really love watching your vlogs. Even my husband thinks you’re adorable and watches along with me when he’s here. Lol. Anyway, okay, you’ve added another one to my wish list. Built of Books looks great!

  15. September 30, 2009 4:26 pm

    How lovely to see and hear you while you’re describing your books!

    The Wilde bio looks fascinating. I’ve read Fall on Your Knees and found it excellently written but SOOOOO depressing…prepare yourself!

  16. September 30, 2009 4:31 pm

    woohoo! You got your Fables!

  17. September 30, 2009 6:07 pm

    I’ll be curious to see what you think of Fall on Your Knees!

  18. October 1, 2009 3:27 am

    Everything looks wonderful except Fall On Your Knees, which I didn’t like very much. The Wuthering Heights quote goes with the book though. I’m not completely put off of McDonald; I’d like to try As The Crow Flies.

  19. October 1, 2009 8:39 am

    I’m waiting on some holds to come through so I can go to the library. And, I’m with you, I would not be reading 20th Century Ghosts at night :)

  20. October 1, 2009 11:28 am

    I’d love to hear what you think about Innocents Abroad. I read the first half of it several years ago. There is a lot of very funny/interesting stuff in it, but Twain says such openly racist things about the Irish and the Italians that I stopped reading halfway through. It made me really give the charges of racism against Huck Finn some serious thought. Twain was a man of his time.

    The Devil’s Picnic sounds like fun.

  21. October 1, 2009 3:37 pm

    You are SO cute!

    Fall on Your Knees is an amazing book but, as Rachel warns, it is depressing and thoroughly devastating.

    I love Colette too and she DOES make you want to be French!

    I need to read more plays too; I think I’ve only read two this year.

    As for my library loot this week, I picked up some African Literature: So You’re One of Them by Uwem Akpan, What is the What by Dave Eggers, and The Opposite House by Helen Oyeyemi.

  22. October 1, 2009 9:43 pm

    This week I am KEEPING MYSELF FROM THE STACKS because I’ve already got a ton to read and if I get any more I’ll just procrastinate on reading them. lol.

  23. October 1, 2009 9:52 pm

    Oh, and I think the covers thing is because sometimes they get special guest artists to do them (like with the Sandman comics, I think?), or because they want the covers to look super spiffy and draw people into read the insides. To get attention on the book, you know? It works a lot like book covers in that way.

  24. October 2, 2009 9:33 am

    Care, thank you!

    Blodeuedd, I should have smaller loot, but I can’t resist!

    Rebecca, isn’t it marvelous?!

    Lezlie, I know! It’s so weird!

    Amanda, you know I will! :)

    (other) Amanda, I think that makes sense!

    Heather, interesting! It’s just odd to me that they wouldn’t have the same artist do the cover. And thanks so much re: my adorableness! ;)

    Serena, it seems a lot of people loved it!

    Linda, lol-I wish I had a big pile of draft reviews to fall back on when I feel lazy, but I never manage to have the time to write them!

    Sherrie, thanks for participating. :D

    Tiina, I did read The London Scene-I LOVED it. That’s neat you can get The Innocents Abroad in translation! :)

    Debi, thanks!

    BermudaOnion, doesn’t it sound interesting?!

    Claire, awww-thanks so much!!

    Rachel, thank you! The Wuthering Heights quote and first sentence pretty much told me it would end badly. ;)

    Olduvai, yep! Just waiting on Vol. 4 now!

    Tara, I’m curious too. :)

    Bybee, hmmm…well, if I end up not liking it, at least I’ll bein good company!

    Iliana, yeah-that was a poor decision on my part! Sometimes I’d stay up instead of falling asleep because I was SO creeped out by a story I needed to know how it ended!

    CB, oh dear…I didn’t realise there’d be racism in it. But then, I loved Out of Africa despite all of its horrid racism. So we’ll see.

    Claire, thank you!! And yay for your African lit-I haven’t read any of those, so I’ll be on the lookout for reviews!

    Anatastia, lol! I should do that, but I have no will power. Thanks for answering my question about the covers!

  25. Carol permalink
    October 5, 2009 9:22 am

    What a great list. I only grabbed one this week.

Trackbacks

  1. Library Loot « Fleur Fisher reads

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

