Skip to content

Library Loot: September 16-22, 2009

September 16, 2009

library-lootLibrary Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by myself and Marg that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries!

Want to share your loot? Marg has the Mr. Linky this week!

Here’s my loot! Sorry if the vlog’s beginning and ending are a little wonky; my dad’s been home for the past two days, so I feel awkward *listening* to a video of myself while editing it!

And covers/Powell links:
rowone
Half the Sky by Nicholas Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn (because I’m very interested in women’s issues-and for the World Citizen Challenge), The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness (for a group review I’m doing with some awesome bloggers!), The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan (I’ve never read a book with a zombie in it!)

rowtwo
A Suitable Boy by Vikram Seth (Chunkster Challenge), Better by Atul Gawande (really enjoyed his first book Complications), Kristin Lavransdatter by Sigrid Undset (Chunkster Challenge)

rowthree
Palomar: the Heartbreak Soup Stories by Gilbert Hernandez (Nymeth said it’s as if Gabriel Garcia Marquez wrote a graphic novel-I am helpless before such a description!), Bless Me, Ultima by Rudolpho Anaya (Banned Book Challenge), 20th Century Ghosts by Joe Hill (on CD-R.I.P. IV Challenge)

rowfour
Hard Love by Ellen Wittlinger (GLBT Challenge)

23 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2009 11:40 am

    I have to warn you – The Forest of Hands and Teeth is post-apocolyptic/dystopian as well. I hope it works out for you.

    Hard Love sounds interesting. It reminds me a bit of Chasing Amy (the movie).

  2. September 16, 2009 11:48 am

    So many good books! I have 20th Century Ghosts on hold, so I’m hoping it comes in any day now. I also want to read The Forest of Hands and Teeth since you mentioned it. And of course everyone is raving about The Knife of Never Letting Go. I was surprised to see that my library actually has multiple copies on the shelf as we speak. Apparently it was on the local middle/high school summer reading lists, so that explains that. And finally, I haven’t read Palomar, but it’s one of those graphic novels that’s discussed endlessly in graduate English classes (and some undergrad), so I hope you love it. I’ll read it one of these days! Enjoy your chunksters, Eva!

  3. September 16, 2009 12:12 pm

    I call 10 books a lot of books!

  4. September 16, 2009 12:15 pm

    I hope you love The Knife of Never Letting Go as much as I did. Even though I absolutely hated one part, I really loved the rest.

  5. September 16, 2009 12:21 pm

    Ooh, 20th Century Ghosts. :-D That’s been on my wishlist forever because I loved Heart-Shaped Box!

  6. September 16, 2009 12:48 pm

    Great Library Loot for someone who wasn’t planning on looting this week! LOL

    I’m interested in reading the big group review of The Knife of Never Letting Go. Do you know when and where it will be posted? Thanks.

    Enjoy your books!

  7. September 16, 2009 1:14 pm

    I’m of course curious about Palomar, but given its “rawness,” I think I’ll wait for your review before I go looking for it in my library. By the way, your link for it is to Better.

    Great vlog!

  8. September 16, 2009 3:33 pm

    Did you know about the KL read-along? over three months: details here. But, um, three weeks probably would not be much of a read-along if that’s the one due back soon.

    Happy reading, you’ve got great books!

  9. adevotedreader permalink
    September 16, 2009 4:39 pm

    I read a good review of Half the sky at Salon (the link is http://www.slate.com/id/2227598/pagenum/all/ if you’re interested), overall it was postive but did raise some points of doubt/disagreement. I will have to read it and make up my own mind!

    I have both your chunkster picks in my TBR pile, you might inspire me to get cracking on them.

    And ther’e been a lot of hype about the Ness and Ryan books, I will be interested to hear if you think either/both live up to it.

  10. September 16, 2009 7:26 pm

    I strongly support your decision to check out The Knife of Never Letting Go. I just finished rereading it, and it’s even better the second time around.

  11. September 16, 2009 9:17 pm

    You’re in for a treat with Kristin L. I have my copy over here; I’m contemplating a re-read.

  12. September 16, 2009 9:58 pm

    Wow..you got a lot of good stuff this week! I love my library.

  13. September 16, 2009 11:21 pm

    As I just told you on twitter :p I think this is my favorite vlog of yours yet! You seem so happy in it. And so many good books!! Seriously, I either let out a squee or added the book to my wishlist for like every one there :p

  14. September 17, 2009 5:31 am

    Oh Eva, there is seriously nothing quite like an “Eva vlog” to put a smile on my face!!!! Of course, I love hearing about your library hauls (as dangerous as they are to my wish list!), but I swear you could be reading the local weather report from your newspaper and I would be sitting here smiling, feeling all warm and fuzzy, just because I was listening to you. :D
    Can’t wait to see what you think about Half the Sky…that one sounds like one I’d really love to read!

  15. tuulenhaiven permalink
    September 17, 2009 6:41 am

    There’s a Kristin Lavransdatter read-along planned for Oct.-Dec., hosted by Richard of Caravana de Recuerdos and Emily of Evening All Afternoon – here’s Richard’s post about it: http://caravanaderecuerdos.blogspot.com/2009/09/kristin-lavransdatter-readalong.html
    Just in case you need more on your plate!! Happy reading. :)

  16. September 17, 2009 7:54 am

    It’s always so fun to see your vlog posts! I actually do have library loot this week finally. I’ll be posting on it soon.

    Hope you enjoy Bless Me, Ultima. Such a great book.

  17. September 17, 2009 8:07 am

    Hi Eva, I just stopped by to say congrats on your best nonfiction blog win from BBAW! Well deserved!
    p.s. I voted for you. :) shhh

  18. September 17, 2009 8:38 am

    Hello — just followed you over here to your WordPress blog … lovely (as expected). I’m leaving Blogger for sure.

    A few thoughts on your library loot. First, how long do you have to check out these books? Because “A Suitable Boy” is like 1,536,030 pages I believe. I saw it in the bookstore and it took up something like 6 inches of shelf space! In my BBAW interview, I was asked what book I would take to a desert island for a year and I picked this one because that is how long I think it would take for me to read this. Curious to see what you think of it.

  19. September 17, 2009 9:38 am

    No loot for me, but I had fun looking at your stacks. I’ve got a copy of The Forest of Hands and Teeth. My library doesn’t have it. Our YA section sucks.

  20. September 17, 2009 3:47 pm

    Amanda, thanks for the warning! Dystopian lit bothers me when there’s a crazy totalitarian government, but I think the actual definitiong of dystopian lit is broader. ;)

    Andi, so far, one of the stories in 20th Century Ghosts will be on my Top Ten for the year list-it’s heartbreaking and wonderful! And they’re all very literary-does that make sense? I need to harass you for more Gn recs one of these days! And I can totally see why TKONLG was on school reading lists-it raises lots of ‘issues.’

    BermudaOnion, lol-I guess you’re right!

    Vivienne, I know exactly what part you hated. ;) I didn’t love it, but I did enjoy it!

    Ceri, so far, it’s got a bit of a different feel than Heart-Shaped Box, but it’s still good!

    Christine, the best laid plans of mice and men…lol I think we’ll probably divide up the big group review amongst the blogs participating-I’ll definitely link to it when it’s done!

    Avisannschild, that was jsut an initial impression-my mom was flipping throgh it while I was driving! Thanks for letting me know about the blink-I’ve fixed it. ;)

    Rebecca, I do, but I don’t think I could keep it out from library for that many months! :/ I’ll definitely be reading their posts though. :)

    ADevotedReader, thanks for link-I read the review! I definitely don’t agree 100% w/ the book, but it’s still important. Does that make sense? I don’t think the Ness book lives up to the hype, personally. But that doesn’t mean it’s bad.

    Jenny, cool!

    Bybee, they’re doing a read-a-long in the next few months-you could join in!

    Jessica, me too!

    Chris, I never know what to do with twitter comments, lol! But thanks again for the compliment!

    Debi, awww-thank you. :D Half the Sky will break your heart and then restore it within a few pages.

    Tuulenhaiven, I did know about it, but thanks for the link! :) As I mentioned to Rebecca, since it’s a library book, I doubt I’ll be able to keep ahold of it for that long.

    iliana, thanks! And I’m looking forward to your LL post. :D

    Heather, thanks so much!!! You’ve made me smile. :D

    Jenners, the one thing I miss from Blogger is being able to play with code. My library checkout phase is 3 weeks. lol @ the length of A Suitable Boy-I’ve over halfway through it now (700+), and I hope to finish it this week! It’s absolutely wonderful so far. :D

    Nancy, that’s too bad. :/ I feel so blessed to have my library system.

  21. September 18, 2009 12:06 pm

    I was going to mention the Kristin Lavransdottir read-along, also; but I see others did already :-)! I already had the first book before I found out about the read-along, so I’m going to start it sooner rather than later :-).

  22. September 18, 2009 12:07 pm

    P.S. I hope you love “A Suitable Boy” as much as I do :-)!

  23. September 20, 2009 4:19 pm

    Lots of good books this week! I am interested in Forest of Hand and Teeth, Knife of Letting Go and the two massive chunksters! I too love reading big books!

    Must say the idea of a GGM style graphic novel sounds very intriguing to me.

    Love the earrings you are wearing in this video!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

