Skip to content

Book Blogger Appreciation Week Interview!

September 15, 2009

BBAW_Celebrate_BooksBook Blogger Appreciation Week (BBAW) is in full swing, and I’m loving it. :) I didn’t do yesterday’s topic (spotlight your favourite blogs) simply because I have so many and I didn’t want anyone to feel left out! I can’t even direct you to my blogroll, because I haven’t updated that in months. *hangs head in shame* But I’m very excited to participate in today’s interview swap; we submitted our names and were then randomly paired up.

I got to know Jackie of This Girl’s Ever Expanding Library (I think we can all sympathise!). She was a marvelous interviewer, coming up with some great questions! You’ll have to go to her blog to see my answers. ;) Here are the (not very creative) questions I asked her, and her answers:

  • It seems you’re a pretty new blogger: what made you decide to start a blog, particularly a book blog?
    I started off signing up at LibraryThing and Goodreads and within the first month had won a book from each site. This meant I had to do reviews for them, too. So it led me to blogging which brought me to publisher contacts and ARC’s…just a whole new world for a bibliophile. My first post went up in July this year on my trial blog http://seolmara.blogspot.com (Much a’blog about nothing), which has sadly been neglected since I’ve been concentrating more on reading and reviewing books.
  • Are you enjoying blogging? What’s your favourite part?
    I love meeting new booklovers! It’s great to see other reviews and find new books that I would never have picked up from a store (I get a little dizzy going into Chapters, there’s just so much to choose from, lol)
  • How would you describe your reviewing style?
    I am not a harsh critic unless there are lots of bad grammar and spelling mistakes, which make me a little crazy. I try to take something positive from every book I read. Incidentally, I’ve just received my first 2 ARC’s that are uncorrected proofs, this will be a test of my born-editor type personality. I find if a book doesn’t appeal to me, I’ll put it away and try again another time rather than give it an outright bad review (two recent examples would be Atonement and Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, I tried with both, but just couldn’t finish either – yet)
  • Do you tend to read more of certain genres? Which ones?
    I have pretty eclectic taste. My bookshelf has YA, fantasy, humour, nonfiction, lots of classics, mystery, it all just depends on my frame of mind at the time.
  • Who are your favourite authors?
    There are authors that I insist on collecting all of their books: MC Beaton, John Grisham, Kathy Reichs, Patricia Cornwell, David Eddings, Guy Gavriel Kay, Nicholas Sparks, Robertson Davies. I’m working on my collections of Tom Robbins and Kurt Vonnegut also….so, yeah, lots of favourites, lol.
  • If you could magically make the entire world read one book, which one would you choose? Why?
    Yikes, I’m flipping between Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen and Lamb by Christoper Moore. These books are so wildly different, but if everyone in the world read them, I could talk to everyone about them! I think because of Lamb’s topic though, there would be a few resistent people that might find it offensive (I think it’s just plain ole fun), so I’ll give top honour to Jane Austen. I try to read it once per year. (Btw, I own the Jane Austen Omnibus you mention on your blog,lol.)
  • I saw that you prefer owning books to borrowing them from the library. How do you organise your books (i.e.: by title/author/etc.)? What would your ideal home library look like?
    This is easy. Much like your idea for a library, mine has a fireplace, a huge comfy chair and a half (preferably white, but I’d have to wait till my daughter grows out of her drinking Kool-Aid phase), lots of dark wood bookcases, a nice side table to stack a few books and hold my REALLY big cup of milky tea, preferably Twinings Lady Grey – if you ever have money to buy stocks, pick up Twinings shares, I should own the company by now with the amount I drink, lol – some nice big windows to let in the sun but also a bright light for those cold winter evenings when I can curl up with my book….pretty specific, huh? As for arrangement of my books, I’m temporarily living in my dad’s basement and lots of my books are packed in boxes, so what I have on the shelves are just sorted by same author with no other order involved.
  • Have you always been an avid reader? What’s the first book that you remember getting lost in?
    I was very shy when I was young, so I spent alot of time reading. I read The Hardy Boys, Agatha Christie, Madeleine L’Engle. I do remember loving this one book about a girl living in Napanee, Ontario (that’s about 2 hours east of Toronto) but I can’t remember the name of it :-( It involved a mirror, lol. Gosh, I’m gonna have to Google it now!
  • I saw you have a seven-year-old daughter: is she a reader as well? Do you guys read together? If so, what kind of books?
    I bought Jordan a bookcase for her birthday and it’s packed with stuff! She just finished Grade 1, where the year started off with books that had only a few words on each page and ended with several sentences per page. Now I’ve bought her some chapter books to get ready for Grade 2. I think she has the biggest collection of bookmarks by a 7 year old ever, lol. We do read together; she has some of the Amelia Bedelia books and Robert Munsch as well as Little Golden books. She has a cochlear implant so we use reading to improve her hearing comprehension of words as well as her pronunciations and increase her vocabulary (she was implanted at an older age, so her verbal skills are a bit behind.) But thankfully she loves to read! I caught her one day looking over my shoulder as I was reading Midnight Sun by Stephenie Meyer online, the next thing I know, she’s reading it to me! She’s come such a long way.
  • Anything else you’d like to talk about that I didn’t mention?
    “Wordy” is definitely one way to describe me when, once I get started on a topic (especially about my daughter, lol). Also, I would love to write a book but have always been afraid to put my thoughts down on paper for the world to see – they’re safer in my head – but blogging has helped me to shed some of my inhibitions, so watch out for something in the future!

It was wonderful getting to know Jackie, and I can’t wait to go read all of the other interviews! I’m incredibly nosy, so this is like heaven to me. :D

32 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2009 11:38 am

    How fun! My questions weren’t very creative either, but I also enjoyed the process. Thanks, Eva, for introducing us to another great blogger!

  2. September 15, 2009 11:47 am

    I’m not a creative interviewer either but I enjoyed reading this one! I was also shy when I was a kid and hid through reading, so I think Jackie and I have a lot in common.

    I’m nosy too, Eva, I’m loving learning all these details about so many bloggers!

  3. September 15, 2009 12:03 pm

    Thanks for introducing me to a new blogger. I’m nosy, too.

  4. bluestockingbb permalink
    September 15, 2009 12:53 pm

    It’s nice to meet you Jackie!!

    BBAW Interview with This That and the Other Thing

  5. September 15, 2009 1:58 pm

    I agree. The whole world should have to read Lamb! Or at least one of Christopher Moore’s books.
    My questions weren’t very exciting either, Eva, so no worries. I think it was an excellent interview.

  6. September 15, 2009 2:06 pm

    Great interview! I agree. . .I couldn’t finish Johnathan Strange and Mr. Norrell either.

  7. September 15, 2009 2:44 pm

    I hate when I can’t remember the names of books I read as a kid!

    • September 16, 2009 7:45 am

      My Google search didn’t work! I’m very sad about it, but I’ll keep looking, lol.

      There was another book that I remembered the cover of and the synopsis, so when I searched for it, I found it right away…Richard Cormier’s After the First Death. I must have been 12 or so when I read it, but it left a lasting impression.

  8. September 15, 2009 3:34 pm

    This is a great interview! I didn’t know about this part of BBAW and love it as I share that nosey gene! It’s fun to discover new bloggers and learn about them.

    Thank you!

  9. September 15, 2009 4:15 pm

    Fun interview! :D

  10. September 15, 2009 6:00 pm

    This was a fabulous interview. I am really liking her “library”. I would love to have a room in my house dedicated to reading all things books.
    I am glad to now know of Jackie. I need to check out her blog.

  11. September 15, 2009 6:04 pm

    I’m another nosy one. It was great getting to meet Jackie; I’m off to check out her blog right now!

  12. September 15, 2009 6:11 pm

    Her dream library sounds just like mine. Great interview.

  13. September 15, 2009 7:11 pm

    I hadn’t “met” Jackie before — I love these BBAW interviews!

    It’s so nice, Jackie, that your daughter seems to be following in your reading footsteps :)

    Thanks for the introduction, Eva!

    • September 16, 2009 7:46 am

      I’ve always been a huge reader, so I think I’d be a little disappointed if she wasn’t. As it stands right now, she gets excited to go to the library. I hope it stays with her!

  14. September 15, 2009 7:45 pm

    Much a’blog about nothing was such a great blog name!

    Nice to meet you Jackie!

    • September 16, 2009 7:47 am

      Thank you! I was going for a Seinfeld feel, lol. I’ll start posting there again soon.

  15. September 15, 2009 7:57 pm

    Ooh the editor in me comes out sometimes when I get an uncorrected proof. I think it comes from editing managers’ documents so much at work.

    Nice interview, and great to meet a new blogger!

    • September 16, 2009 7:48 am

      I knew I wasn’t the only one out there with that problem ;-)

  16. September 15, 2009 11:05 pm

    I vote for Christopher Moore – I’m a huge fan as well. I had totally forgotten about Agatha Christie novels – what a flashback.

    • September 16, 2009 7:50 am

      I’ve been following Chris Moore on FB. He’s been updating daily while researching his next book in France. He’s a very funny man!

      I read so many AC books but sadly can’t remember all the titles to add to my Goodreads list! I hate when that happens, lol.

  17. September 16, 2009 4:58 am

    I found this little excercise to be so much fun!! And I’m loving all the new-to-me bloggers I’m meeting. Of course, I haven’t nearly the time to visit the ones I already know! ! It’s a viscous circle!

  18. September 16, 2009 7:55 am

    Thanks to everyone for the great comments! And thanks for stopping by my blog too. Being new is a little intimidating at first, but watching my “Followers” grow makes me want to try harder (yes, I’m compulsive about checking my numbers, lol).

    Eva has been a great partner, up to and including reminding me to pop over and reply ;-) I have now remembered to click the “Subscribe to comments” button (I always forget).

  19. September 16, 2009 8:14 am

    fun interview…I really like that her daughter has a bookmark collection. I had one when I was a kid

    • September 16, 2009 8:20 am

      It’s not an official collection, yet, but everytime we go to the bookstore (which is alot) she feels I have to buy her a new one! But I remember them being much cheaper before!??

  20. September 16, 2009 8:59 am

    GREAT interview, Eva! I can’t wait to check out Jackie’s blog now!

  21. September 16, 2009 9:12 am

    These interviews are so great. I love learning about our bloggers out there in more detail.

  22. stacybuckeye permalink
    September 16, 2009 2:34 pm

    Loved Lamb too and P&P. Off to see your answers, Eva…

  23. September 17, 2009 10:22 pm

    great interview!

  24. September 19, 2009 6:55 pm

    Thanks Eva for a great interview. I’ve never “met” Jackie before, so hello!

Trackbacks

  1. Book Blogger Appreciation Week Contests, Giveaways & Thoughts… « Book Obsessed
  2. My first interview: Winstonsdad’sblog « Kinna Reads

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

