Skip to content

Library Loot: September 2-8, 2009

September 2, 2009

library-lootLibrary Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by myself and Marg that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries!

Want to share your loot? Marg has the Mr. Linky this week!

Here’s the vlog! I had to do some choppy editing out of my intro rambling so that I could stay at 10 minutes. Must work on being more concise! :)

rowone
Four and Twenty Blackbirds by Cherie Priest (R.I.P. IV Challenge), Madeleine’s Ghost by Robert Girardi (R.I.P. IV Challenge), Poe’s Children ed. by Peter Straub (R.I.P. IV Challenge)

rowtwo
The Ghost Orchid by Carol Goodman (R.I.P. IV Challenge), The Dreaming, Vol. 1 by Queenie Chan (R.I.P. IV Challenge), Joplin’s Ghost by Tananarive Due (R.I.P. IV Challenge)

rowthree
The Code Book by Simon Singh (need some POC nonfiction!), Unbelievable by Stacy Horn (R.I.P. IV Challenge), The Heart of Christianity by Marcus Borg (looked good)

rowfour
Complications by Atul Gawande (My Year of Reading Dangerously Challenge), Mirroring People by Marco Iacoboni (sounded interesting), Phantoms in the Brain by V.S. Ramachandran (Science Book Challenge)

rowfive
Wrapped in Rainbows by Zora Neale Hurston (Dewey Decimal Challenge), The Book of Secrets by M.G. Vassanji (Orbis Terrarum Challenge), Notes from the Hyena’s Belly by Nega Mezlekia (World Citizen Challenge)

rowsix
Reservation Blues by Sherman Alexie (read a wonderful short story by Alexie), Grace, Eventually by Anne Lamott (My Year of Reading Dangerously Challenge), Go Tell It on the Mountain by James Baldwin (Banned Books Challenge)

rowseven
Agnes Grey by Anne Bronte (Classics Challenge), Bayou, Vol. One by Jeremy Love (Chris’ and Nymeth’s reviews), The Reef by Edith Wharton (Classics Challenge)

31 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2009 6:32 am

    Okay… I don’t feel so bad about my pile now. LOL (Looks like you’ve got a lot of great books coming up!)

  2. September 2, 2009 6:43 am

    Whoa…look at all that RIP yumminess!!!!

    And V.S. Ramachandran! I can’t wait to tell Rich you’re reading him! Rich LOVES, LOVES, LOVES him, and has been trying to get me to read A Brief Introduction to Human Consciousness for quite a while.

    Yep, lots of intriguing stuff here (AS USUAL!!!). I’d go look into them further, but heck, I’ll just wait for your awesome reviews instead. :D

    • September 2, 2009 5:18 pm

      I need to get this other book by him. I haven’t read it.

  3. September 2, 2009 6:44 am

    And Eva, I do hope you’re feeling better today!!!! Sick to the stomach is soooooo NOT fun.

  4. September 2, 2009 7:12 am

    You just went to town there! I am jealous of The Ghost Orchid – it sounded so good I put it on my RIP list, and then couldn’t find it at my library. They have it! I just couldn’t find it. (Hate when that happens.)

  5. September 2, 2009 7:19 am

    What a fabulous collection and lots of ghostly books too. I just can’t wait to look them up. Hope you are feeling better.

  6. September 2, 2009 7:51 am

    What a haul! I *love* Bayou – I read it online when it first came out at Zuda. If you haven’t been to this site, you’re in for a treat!

    http://www.zudacomics.com/

  7. September 2, 2009 8:39 am

    Good heavens that’s a lot of loot!!! Some very interesting looking stuff there, too.

    Hope you’re back up to speed soon.

  8. September 2, 2009 9:00 am

    Wow that is one big loot, the dreaming looks nice and interesting

  9. September 2, 2009 9:15 am

    I love The Code Book! (Granted, I’ve always been intrigued by cryptography and I am a computer scientist, but I do think it is very readable and engaging even for less technical people). Complications is on my TBR list; I’ll be curious to hear what you think of it!

  10. September 2, 2009 10:44 am

    You’ve got a lot of interesting reading ahead!!

  11. September 2, 2009 11:39 am

    You are an optimist, if nothing else. The Anne Lamott book looks good.

  12. September 2, 2009 11:50 am

    Wow, lots more books to read! I posted my first LL post this week (although I’m cheating a bit). I also spotted a lookalike cover in your batch!

  13. September 2, 2009 12:42 pm

    Where do I even begin? Omigosh…well, I’ll start with the Sherman Alexie. I love Alexie and want to read more, especially after reading The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian. Then the Marcus J. Borg: in college, I read one of his books about Jesus and was blown away by what he had to say. I’m sure you’ll enjoy that one. I could go on and on about almost each of your books, but I’ll stop myself so I can go comment on other Library Loot posts.

  14. September 2, 2009 12:55 pm

    I think Sherman Alexie is great! I have a few of his books. I’m also a great fan of Edith Wharton; I’m planning on reading her ghost stories for the RIP challenge ;-).

  15. September 2, 2009 2:55 pm

    That is huge loot! Hope you feel better today!

  16. September 2, 2009 3:24 pm

    Wow! great haul! I love Anne Lamott. Hope you like that one!

  17. September 2, 2009 5:18 pm

    I have Phantoms in the Brain. Such interesting cases and really well presented. It will be great for your challenge.

  18. September 2, 2009 6:47 pm

    As always, I look forward to your thoughts on these books. I have The Code Book on a nonfiction “to read” list somewhere. And lots of the other books sound familiar!

  19. September 2, 2009 7:18 pm

    Wow all those book covers are amazing. i want to read all those creepy books you listed first. :)

  20. September 3, 2009 2:52 am

    Melissa, I told you! :)

    Debi, really? That’s awesome! I’m excited beacuse Oliver Sacks wrote the preface. :D And thanks for the health wishes-I can eat normal food today, so that’s good.

    Jenny, I hope you find it! I’ve already read it, and it totally lived up to the plot summary. :D

    Vivienne, I’m all about the ghost books!

    Rhapsody, thanks for the link. :)

    CB, I know-I have no self control!

    Blodeuedd, The Dreaming was interesting, but a bit too shallow for my tastes.

    Sarah, I’m excited about it! Complications was incredible.

    Staci, thanks!

    BermudaOnion, part of why I got so many this weke is because I ran out of library books last week.

    AvisannsChild, thanks for joining LL!

    UnfinishedPerson, thanks for the comment-now I’m more excited. :D

    Valerie, have you read “Roman Fever”? It’s not a ghost short story, but it’s so perfect.

    Marg, thanks!

    Amy, I can’t wait to read it!

    Mari, yay! I’m always excited when someone enjoyed one of my libary books. :)

    Rebecca, thanks!

    Amy, aren’t they all delicious looking?! I love R.I.P.!

  21. fleurfisher permalink
    September 3, 2009 2:19 pm

    Now that looks like another great set of books. I only know Agnes Grey and The Reef, and I’d recommend both. I hope you feel better soon.

  22. September 3, 2009 5:49 pm

    Wow, that is a lot of books. I hope you enjoy them. I love to read Poe’s Children and I look forward to the review

  23. September 3, 2009 6:22 pm

    I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on these especially the ones that you are reading for the R.I.P. challenge :)

  24. September 4, 2009 3:21 am

    FleurFisher, I’m almost done with The Reef, and it’s been great. :D

    Shannan, I know: I barely fit them all in my library bag! lol I’ll probably be reviewing different short stories from Poe’s Children every Monday. :)

    Samantha, I’m reviewing The Ghost Orchid tomorrow, and it’s definitely a postive review!

  25. September 4, 2009 12:26 pm

    Again, so many good books! Carol Goodman is going on my list. The Ghost Orchid sounds delightfully creepy! I just finished one of the Harwood books and am starting We Have Always Lived in the Castle — having a blast reading for RIP and need to get writing my reviews :o)

  26. justicejenniferreads permalink
    September 5, 2009 6:15 pm

    Wow, you’re participating in so many challenges – I’m amazed! How do you do it all?! Great stack of books. Can’t wait to see your thoughts on them when you’re done. I might pick up some from your RIP Challenge list (I still haven’t even started yet, I feel so behind!).

  27. September 7, 2009 7:44 pm

    Hi Eva! That is one impressive weekly library loot! I’m starting to think I’m a very slow reader. . .

  28. September 7, 2009 9:52 pm

    Visit http://www.bookwormnation.blogspot.com for my Library Loot post.

Trackbacks

  1. The Ghost Orchid (thoughts) « A Striped Armchair

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

