Skip to content

Library Loot: August 26-September 1, 2009

August 26, 2009

library-lootLibrary Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by myself and Marg that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries!

Want to share your loot?

I’m finally back to Library Loot! Marg has been so great, hosting it for two months. And gracious, saying of course I could still be co-host despite my flakiness. As usual, I’ve got both the vlog and links/covers to share with you what I found at the library. :) (On a mildly vlog-related side note, a couple weeks ago I went in to get a haircut-a quite simple long bob with feathered ends-and the woman and I had a miscommunication. She hacked off a bunch of the front, to add ‘face framing layers.’ Fortunately, my mom’s stylist, and now mine, razored them to make them at least a little better. I loathe layers on me, but I’m trying to wear my hair down at least twice a week to get used to it. Anyway, I’m feeling quite self-conscious, so much so that I even considered re-recording the vlog! So please no one say ‘aww, too bad you cut your hair’ or anything like that, lol.)

On to the vlog:

And list:
rowone
The Trouble With Physics by Lee Smolin (Science Book Challenge), The Dead Secret by Wilkie Collins (Classics Challenge), Chagall by Jackie Wullschlager (Art History Challenge)

rowtwo
Finding Nouf by Zoe Ferraris (Needed an audiobook!), Alice in Sunderland by Bryan Talbot (Graphic Novels Challenge), Incognegro by Mat Johnson and Warren Pleece (Looked neat)

rowthree
Outcasts United by Warren St. John (Dewey Decimal Challenge), The Black Sheep by Georgette Heyer (comfort read!), The Blue Sky by Galsan Tschinag (It’s by a Mongolian!)

rowfour
Yes, My Darling Daughter by Margaret Leroy (No idea! lol), American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang (Heard good things), Night of Many Dreams by Gail Tsukiyama (Wanted to try her out.)

25 Comments leave one →
  1. August 26, 2009 3:11 am

    Only one mention of your hair – I really like it. I think it suits you :-D

    I read Woman in White by Wilkie Collins and loved it – I can’t wait to see what you thought of The Dead Secret.

  2. August 26, 2009 3:13 am

    Glad to see you back :)
    Great loot, so many books. Enjoy them all

  3. August 26, 2009 4:14 am

    Cool loot, I have a book by Zoe Ferrairis called The night of the Miraj. I’m guessing it’s the same book.

  4. August 26, 2009 4:31 am

    I love Wilkie Collins too! I definitely need to read his less famous works. I hope you feel better soon.

  5. August 26, 2009 4:51 am

    Great loot!!
    I like your hairstyle, Eva! :)

  6. August 26, 2009 5:36 am

    Oh, I think I am going to have to get the Tsukiyama!

    Of course you can still co-host! I actually still think of it as your meme! LOL!

    Hope you are feeling better soon!

  7. August 26, 2009 6:29 am

    Hi Eva! Good to see you back. You look very different with bangs. ;) But good! That was my only hair mention, I promise.

    American Born Chinese isn’t nonfiction. It’s more mythical, lots of crazy myth stuff happening. It was definitely a weird book.

    You’ve now become my new source for Wilkie Collins books…

  8. August 26, 2009 6:38 am

    I just looted American Born Chinese from library too! I tried Gail Tsukiyama once but wasn’t impressed (different title). Would like to hear what you think about her book.

  9. August 26, 2009 6:51 am

    You look very good for having been sick, I’m glad you are feeling better!

    What a great variety of books! I’m interested to hear about the graphic novels, in particular, since I don’t read nearly enough of them!

  10. August 26, 2009 7:47 am

    How do you keep up?!? I guess I’m floundering a bit right now, so when I see piles of great books, I panic slightly. Maybe because I want to read them all! :)

    So, just on a side note, I got a haircut three weeks ago that I hate, and STILL want to go back and strangle the hair dresser for! I said LONG layers and ended up with this weird chopped off layer (just one small chunk of hair) on ONE SIDE of my head. Sigh. I really don’t know how that got communicated as such, but it has been frustrating trying to deal with it every morning.

    Well, I’m at work and can’t see the vlog to comment on how it looks now, but you’re so stinking cute that I’m sure that whatever you did, once again enhanced all the beauty and sweetness already within!

  11. August 26, 2009 8:41 am

    I think your new hair is cute! Nothing to be bothered about at all!

    And it looks like you had a great haul this week! Plus it was so nice that the librarian reduced your fine!

  12. August 26, 2009 8:42 am

    You look so cute! I’ll be watching for your Outcasts United review since it’s in my TBR pile.

  13. August 26, 2009 10:34 am

    Welcome back! (Did you get the fine paid off?)

    Cute hair, by the way. :-)

  14. August 26, 2009 11:18 am

    Hi and welcome back! Good loot!

  15. August 26, 2009 11:53 am

    Glad to see you! As usual, you’ve got a wonderful batch of books. I hadn’t heard of that particular Wilkie Collins and have taken note of it. I can’t wait to read The Haunted Hotel!

  16. August 26, 2009 12:16 pm

    I love your hair Eva!! It’s beeeeeeautiful :) I’m so sorry to hear that you’ve been so sick lately though :( I’m glad to hear you were well enough to get out to the library though and get some reading and a vlog done!

    Outcasts United sounds really good. I had heard about that one a few months ago and then I totally forgot about it, so thanks for reminding me! And I’m thrilled that you got American Born Chinese and Alice in Sunderland. I was shocked too by the size of Alice in SUnderland. I hope you enjoy it. It was a bit overwhelming to me, but I’m sure you’ll soak it all in much better than I!

  17. August 26, 2009 1:58 pm

    It’s great to see you back Eva. Sorry to hear you’ve been sick and hopefully you are feeling much better.

    I’m still staying away from the library but it’s been a while and I’m sort of itching for a visit. Maybe next week! :)

  18. August 26, 2009 2:43 pm

    You are super cute. Love the book stash. I just got a bunch from the library, but have to return them because now I want start in on RIP books!!

  19. August 26, 2009 8:05 pm

    Hi Eva,
    I recently discovered Library Loot through my visits to Marg’s blog and decided to join the fun.

    You’ve got quite an eclectic mix of books there. Happy reading! :)

  20. August 26, 2009 10:20 pm

    Your hair looks fine, Eva. What I really noticed was the nice color and how shiny and healthy it looks.

    I cheered when I saw that you picked up American Born Chinese. It’s at What The Book? here, but too expensive!

    I LOL when you said “I didn’t want poor Gail to feel left out..” I’ve said stuff like that, too.

    It’s surprising how sickness informs our reading choices. I’m so glad you’re feeling better.

  21. August 27, 2009 12:32 pm

    Eva: First, glad you are back. Welcome back. We have missed you.

    Second, I love impulse reading. That’s sometimes the best reading. In fact, that’s how I picked up two books today.

    Third, I know I’ve watched your vlogs previously, but I’m really struck by your enthusiasm for books. You just don’t let up. Thanks to you and Marg for organizing Library Loot (sorry, I’m a bit behind this week, didn’t get to the library until today).

  22. August 27, 2009 2:48 pm

    Wonderful choices! I bet you can hardly wait to read each one! Have fun reading them!

  23. August 28, 2009 2:09 pm

    Ceri, why thank you! I just finished The Dead Secret and I loved it. :D

    Blodeudd, thanks!

    Violet, it’s a mystery book set in Saudi Arabia?

    Meghan, thanks! And Collins is so great. :D

    Melody, thank you!

    Marg, that’s funny. :)

    Amanda, thank you! I’ve read American Born Chinese now, and it’s definitely a bit whacky. I love mythology though, so I’ve enjoyed it. And I happily accept my role as Collins supplier. :D

    Mee, I still haven’t gotten to the Tsukiyama, but hopefully in the next week.

    Rebecca, thank yoU! Fibro’s one of those illnesses that doesn’t really show except you look like you haven’t slept in a logn time. ;)

    Becky, aren’t horrible haircuts the worst?! Evil hairdressers! Thank you for such a sweet compliment. :) I read so much because I’m too sick to have a job. :(

    Steph, thanks! Wasn’t the library great?

    Bermuda, Outcasts United was a lot fluffier than I expected. ;)

    Melissa, I did get the fine paid-the library cut it in half!

    Olduvai, thanks!

    Terri, I just type in Wilkie Collins to my library’s catalog and see all the wonderfulness that comes up. :D

    Chris, thank you!! Alice in Sunderland was zany in an awesome way.

    Iliana, can’t wait to see what you find! ;)

    Daphne, lol-I’ve got about a million RIP books waiting for me to pick up right now!

    Christine, thanks so much for joining in!

    Bybee, thank you!

    Unfinished Person, impulse reading is marvelous. And thank you so much for the nice comment. :)

    Rebecca, thanks!

  24. August 28, 2009 5:17 pm

    Nice to see you again. I hope your health prob;ems are behind you. What an interesting variety you have there. Finding Nouf and The Blue Sky interest me most. I have a copy of Gail Tsukiyama’s The Samurai’s Garden, which I haven’t read yet. I look forward to your thoughts on her book. My LL post is now up.

  25. Carol permalink
    August 31, 2009 9:40 am

    Looks like a great batch of books.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

