Skip to content

The Results of My Poll (and I’m going to sneak in another challenge)

July 4, 2009

a_beautiful_place_to_dieThanks to everyone who voted on which South African book I should read! A Beautiful Place to Die and A Time of Angels tied for first at 7 votes each, while Bitter Fruit and The Madonna of Excelsior ran a close second at 6 votes each.

So how to choose between the two first placers?! I’ve decided to read A Beautiful Place to Die by Malla Nunn for the Orbis Terrarum challenge, and since A Time of Angels by Patricia Schonstein deals with a delicatessen and food stuff (as I said in my description, it’s compared to Like Water for Chocolate and Chocolat), I’m taking it as the universe’s way of telling me to participate in Rebecca’s The Spice of Life Challenge.

Spice of LifeThe challenge is all about combining food and reading, which definitely works for me! And isn’t the button gorgeous?! It was just a matter of time until I succumbed. I’m going with the first level, ‘A Taste,’ which requires me to read two books from two different categories (fiction, cookbooks, nonfiction, and memoirs/essays/autobiographies) by the end of the year. For fiction, I’ve chosen A Time of Angels by Patricia Schonstein (obviously) and for nonfiction (the other category that really appeals to me!), I’ve narrowed it down to: Hunger: an Unnatural History by Sharman Apt Russell (Rebecca herself gave this a good review), Chocolate: a Bittersweet Saga of Light and Dark by Mort Rosenblum (which I first came across while doing research for my Science Books Challenge list), or Red, White, and Drunk All Over by Natalie MacLean (which the wonderful Dewey reviewed, but I can’t link to it because her blog’s down).

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 4, 2009 6:40 am

    The Spice of Life Challenge sounds wonderful, and so much more appealing than The Game on Diet Challenge! :–)

  2. July 4, 2009 6:43 am

    I’m so glad my challenge provided an excuse for you to get A Time of Angels read! I do hope you enjoy your reads. That Chocolate one is tempting me too!

  3. stacybuckeye permalink
    July 4, 2009 6:46 am

    Good luck on the new challenge. That button is great!

  4. July 4, 2009 7:42 am

    Good luck with the new challenge.

  5. July 4, 2009 1:38 pm

    Good luck with the challenge, Eva! I’m joining in, too! Lol. As if we needed another one. :D

  6. July 5, 2009 10:15 am

    I’m glad you’re doing this challenge! I am too. =)

    I hope you like A Time of Angels, it was one of my votes.

  7. July 5, 2009 5:15 pm

    I have been soooooo tempted to join the Spice of Life challenge! I KNOW that I shouldn’t, but generally that knowledge holds little sway. ;)

  8. July 6, 2009 2:33 pm

    Rhapsody, lol!!!

    Rebecca, your challenge was way too tempting; I knew I’d join it eventually. :D

    Stacy, isn’t it?

    BermudaOnion, thanks!

    Claire, yay! Challenge addicts unite! :p

    Shannon, if I don’t like it, I know where to find you. ;)

    Debi, lol; I knew I should join in too. It took a week for me to break down.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

