Skip to content

What are three-day weekends for?

July 3, 2009

Being peer pressured of course.

I was planning on writing a post about how awesome A Golden Age was and how it’s the next best thing to a flight to Bangladesh. But then I discovered that people are talking about me on Twitter and want me to join. And I really enjoyed the interview Stephen Colbert did with the founder. So I decided to bite the bullet.

I had the hardest time coming up with a name, y’all. I never before realised that my blog’s initials are ASA.

Here were the possibilities:
Eva (obviously taken: boo!!)
EvainanArmchair (looks weird)
EvaReads (succinct, but doesn’t have much catchiness)
EvaLovesBooks (maybe too long? Don’t want to make people type out a sentence just to talk to me)
EvaASA (lmao)
EvasArmchair (at this point I was Very Annoyed with not being allowed to use punctuation marks)
ArmchairEva (sounds vaguely perverted)
EvaLit (it’d been taken)
Yevinka (realised only works with Eastern European language speakers)

At this point I was thinking about quitting Twitter before I even began. But finally I decided to just pick one and go with it, and that one was

BiblioEva (I don’t like how my name is in the second half, but I do like all of those vowels!)

Then it took me three tries to type the security words in correctly. (Tell me I’m not the only one that’s awful at that!)

And now I’m on twitter. And have no idea what to actually do. But I’m here. :)

18 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2009 6:00 pm

    And now I’m following you! Welcome to another time sink, though an entertaining one, from @gentlereader :)

  2. July 3, 2009 6:28 pm

    Welcome to the madness. And you can always change your twitter name. It’s easy-peasy.

  3. July 3, 2009 8:46 pm

    When you figure out the wonder of Twitter, let me know.

    debnance :-)

  4. July 3, 2009 10:32 pm

    and we’re so glad you finally joined the fun on twitter. I was reluctant, but it’s become my primary contact with so many book bloggers.

  5. July 3, 2009 11:26 pm

    Welcome to Twitter!! It has it’s moments. But mostly, just a time sucker!! (ok. I have loads of fun chatting it up with friends…but still. Time sucker!)

  6. July 3, 2009 11:39 pm

    I’m glad we freaked you out enough to be curious and join :) It’s great having you over there!! I didn’t see the colbert interview! I’m going to have to look for that on youtube.

  7. July 4, 2009 5:55 am

    Good luck in the Twitter world Eva! I won’t be joining you in this one – I feel my world is a little crowded by technology at the moment but it will be good to hear about your experiences.

  8. July 4, 2009 6:46 am

    I joined twitter a year ago and then quit. I already spend enough time online! And yet, it’s calling me again. I quit before everyone jumped on, so maybe I just missed it!

  9. July 4, 2009 7:24 am

    I haven’t caved to Twitter quite yet, I don’t have enough time to do the things I already do! But I had to hop in here and commiserate with you about the security word thing. Me trying to order stuff on Ticketmaster is the stuff of nightmares. I’m terrible! LOL!

  10. July 4, 2009 9:05 am

    I have yet to get on that technological band-wagon, and honestly probably won’t. I know, I’m acting old!!! ;) I just cannot do with the distraction and the obligation to keep up with Twitter and Facebook. It is hard enough keeping up with blogging.

    I like your name choice, it is fun to say, rolls off the tongue!

  11. July 4, 2009 5:27 pm

    I’m following you too. Do you recognize me?

  12. July 4, 2009 6:34 pm

    If I had known that all you needed was a little peer pressure to get you to sign up for Twitter, I would have started a petition months ago. Welcome to the most addicting site on the face of the Earth! =)

  13. Claire permalink
    July 5, 2009 9:47 am

    I’m still trying to find my way on twitter–I have an account and occasionally post a link. I tried REALLY using it–posting a little something every few hours–but it only made me realize how uninteresting my life is. Anyway, I’ll be curious to see how you like it over time.

  14. July 5, 2009 9:59 am

    I was happy to see you on there! I’ve just gotten serious with it myself, and it’s been a ton of fun so far.

  15. stacybuckeye permalink
    July 5, 2009 2:06 pm

    I’m following you, but I’m not sure that means anything since I’ve never really used it :)

  16. July 5, 2009 5:20 pm

    YAY!!! I’m so glad you joined! Though to be perfectly honest, I’ve still not really figured out how to do much there. And I hate feeling so stupid. :(

  17. July 5, 2009 11:55 pm

    You too Eva :)

    I succumbed to the Twitter lure a while back and although I don’t use it as often as other’s do, it’s still fun once in a while.

    Twitter takes up way too much of your time so I kind of don’t log in much :)

    I’ll remember to follow you :)

  18. July 6, 2009 8:39 pm

    Oooh–we’re reading Golden Age next month for our book club, so I can’t wait to hear what you think! And I like BiblioEva. I’m new to twitter, so I don’t get on much, but it’s fun. I opted out of the bookish name for my personal/family nickname. :P

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

