Skip to content

Summer Lovin’ Challenge

June 27, 2009

sumerlovinSorry about triple-posting in one day guys! But I’m a week into the challenge, so I really needed to get my initial post published. Promise it won’t happen again! -Eva

Jules of Jules’ Book Reviews is hosting the Summer Lovin’ Challenge. It runs from June 21-September 21, and calls on participants to reread a set number of favourites. Yes, I know, I’m joining another challenge! But this is one that will really help me fulfill one of my reading resolutions (reread 25 this year; I’m awfully behind). I’m setting myself a goal of seven for the three months, but I’ll probably keep using this list until the end of the year! And if I exceed it, that’ll be great! :)

  • The Moor by Laurie King: I’ve been rereading the Mary Russell detective series this year, and this is the next book! I might as well also toss in O Jerusalem, which is the fifth in the series. I read them all for the first time in 2007.
  • A Little Princess by Frances Hogdson Burnett: this is one of those childhood favourites, so I can’t give the exact year I read (and reread) it! But I reread The Secret Garden last year, and loved it just as much as before.
  • Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen: one of my favourite books ever, that I haven’t reread for a couple of years. I read it for the first time in seventh grade, so 1997, and I’ve been reading it ever since.
  • Beloved by Tony Morrison: I read this for the first time in 2006, the year before I began blogging.
  • The Moorchild by Eloise Jarvis McGraw: I loved this book around fourth and fifth grade, so 1994-95. I think I read it four or five times, if not more!
  • Daughter of the Forest by Juliet Marillier: my sister and I got the whole Sevenwaters trilogy for my mom for Mother’s Day one year when I was in high school, so 2001, 2002, and of course I had to read them too. :) I loved this one, and reading Marillier’s Wildwood Dancing this year reminded me.
  • The Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera: I read this in high school, in 2002, and adored it. I wonder what I’ll think of it now.
  • Moon Tiger by Penelope Lively: for senior AP English, our summer project (2002) was to read a book that had win either the Booker or Hugo or Nebula Prize and do a project on it. Being me, I read several of each, but this one was hands down my favourite!
  • The Solitaire Mystery by Jostein Gaarder: I had a really close Norwegian friend when I lived in England, and for my birthday the year after I moved away (14, so 2001), he sent me this and Sophie’s World. I really enjoyed them both, but this one was my favourite!
  • Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux: I read this for the first time with my mom when I was 11 and loved it. Then we saw the musical for my twelfth birthday! (I know I’ve told that story before on the blog, but it’s an awesome story that deserves repetition! hehe) Over the years, I’ve memorised the musical thanks to the recording I have, enjoyed the movie that was released a few years ago, but I haven’t revisited the actual book. It’s more than time.
  • To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee: I read this for the first time in seventh grade, 1997. I found a beat-up copy in a thrift store shortly after we moved to England, and I immediately adored it. I’ve read it a couple times since, but not for several years.
  • Pawn of Prophecy by David Eddings: in middle school and early high school (1997-2002ish), I was obsessed with Eddings, especially his Belgariad and Mallorean series (both feature the same characters). My mom owned them all and leant them to me and my best friend; I have have reread them at least three times. I’ve been nervous to revisit them, in case they don’t hold up, but it’s definitely time. If I enjoy Pawn of Prophecy, I’ll probably end up rereading the other four books of the Belgariad (Queen of Sorcery, Magician’s Gambit, Castle of Wizardry and Enchanter’s End Game) as well. I haven’t read epic fantasy in years!
  • The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman: I read this for the first time the week it came out last year! :) I just think it’d be nice to revisit it; it’s the only Gaiman I haven’t read at least twice.
  • We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson: other than the Gaiman, this is the only book I’m including that I read for the first time during the blogging years. I adored it and
10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2009 8:33 pm

    This is a challenge that I should look into…it sounds interesting and I love to reread once in awhile. I just reread the first Harry Potter book and loved it just as much as I did the first time.

  2. June 27, 2009 10:27 pm

    What great choices! I may “borrow” from your list to make my own – I just hate when I *loved* a book, like The Unbearable Lightness of Being, and now can’t remember a THING about it! On the positive side, it will be a treat all over again to reread!

    Thanks for sharing your list!

  3. June 28, 2009 6:31 am

    You have some great books on your list. Good luck!

  4. June 28, 2009 7:03 am

    I love the idea of rereading favorites! I think I may have to do this too. I’m a big fan of rereading.

  5. June 28, 2009 10:25 am

    I love this challenge! I wish I could participate, but I just have too many TBRs to justify a great big rereading spurt right now. Sadness. :(

  6. June 28, 2009 2:50 pm

    Hey, don’t you dare apologize for triple posting…there is NO SUCH THING as too much Eva!!!

  7. June 28, 2009 6:27 pm

    Eva –

    I absolutely LOVED Beloved and read it, gosh, 98 or 99. It incited a Toni Morrison book devouring spree. I read anything and everything that I could get my grubby hands on that year.

    Unfortunately now, all of the books have blurred together. Does that ever happen to you as well? I did that with Tom Robbins, John Irving, and loads of other authors that I stumble upon and find my heart pit-pattering for.

    I will be very excited to hear your thoughts on your re-read of Beloved. It might encourage me to pick it up again. (I still have my copy from college with all of my underlined notes!!)

    Oooh, and Phantom is my FAVORITE musical. I just saw it on Broadway a couple of months ago. I haven’t read the book. Is it just awesome or what? Should I add it to my list?? (My guess is ‘yes’ if you’re re-reading it :P )

  8. June 29, 2009 11:37 am

    samantha, I love rereading!

    Rhapsody, I can’t wait to see your list. :)

    BermudaOnion, thanks!

    Rebecca, I want to see which ones you choose!!

    Memory, I’m ignoring my TBR list. ;)

    Debi, you’re so sweet! hehe

    Christina, you should reread Beloved too!! Honestly, I haven’t read Phantom since I was 11, so I don’t know if adults would enjoy it. But I loved it when I was younger!

  9. June 29, 2009 2:07 pm

    I don’t think I’ve even re-read that many books in my life! haha… Have fun revisiting with your favorites with this challenge.

    Making a note to self to read Solitaire Mystery. I loved Sophie’s World so should definitely read this one.

  10. June 30, 2009 7:42 pm

    I read the Phantom of the Opera when I was twelve, and I adored it. I can’t remember the plot all that well and now I kind of want to reread it too!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

