Skip to content

Library Loot: June 24-30, 2009

June 24, 2009

library-lootLibrary Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by myself and Marg that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries!

Want to share your loot? Link it here:

Here’s all of mine via vlogging:

The list:
rowone
Oaxaca Journal by Oliver Sacks (because I love Sacks!), Route 66 A.D. by Tony Perrottet (I wanted a travel book), Shadows of the Silk Road by Colin Thubron (I read a history about the Silk Road last month, so now I want a travelogue)

rowtwo
The Corpse Walker by Liao Yiwu (just sounded interesting), A Reading Diary by Alberto Manguel (Love Manguel!), Country of My Skull by Antjie Kroj (What’s in a Name? 2 Challenge)

rowthree
Choosing You by Alexandra Soiseth (just sounded interesting), The Gluten-Free Vegetarian Kitchen by Donna Klein (recently discovered I’m allergic to wheat), Sisters by John Fialka (Bybee’s review)

rowfour
Ghost Hunters by Deborah Blum (love ghosts!), Snoop by Sam Gosling (Bride of the Book God’s review), A Suitable Boy by Vikran Seth (wanted a 1,000+ page novel for Chunkster Challenge)

rowfive
A Golden Age by Tahima Anam (never read anything by a Bangladeshi author), The Story of the Cannibal Woman by Maryse Conde (Lost in Translation Challenge), The Tango Singer by Tomas Eloy Martinez (Lost in Translation Challenge)

rowsix
The Thing Around Your Neck by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (one of my very favourite authors!)

25 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2009 6:05 am

    Your loot looks very intriguing!! I’m captivated by several of those covers!!!

  2. June 24, 2009 6:17 am

    I haven’t read any Adichie yet: which was your favorite, Yellow Sun or Purple Hibiscus?

    You’ve also convinced me to give Oliver Sacks a try!

  3. June 24, 2009 6:31 am

    I’m glad you put the note that Choosing You just sounded interesting. At first, I thought you were trying to tell us something.

  4. June 24, 2009 6:40 am

    Fantastic loot! You always get amazing books. I’m with you on epics. I adored War and Peace and like little better than a huge fantasy saga that I can get lost in for a while. I have had A Suitable Boy for a good long time now, maybe this is the year to read it!

  5. June 24, 2009 7:39 am

    Hm Shadow of the silk road sure sounds intriguing :)
    Good loot

  6. June 24, 2009 7:41 am

    Ooh, a wheat allergy? Sorry. Eating gluten free is tough. Thankfully for you, though, a wheat allergy is quite a bit easier to deal with than eating zero gluten (if that’s some small comfort?).

  7. June 24, 2009 8:00 am

    I’m glad you found Sisters.

  8. June 24, 2009 8:31 am

    Okay, sometimes it’s almost scary…now there’s the ghost thing. Annie is fascinated by ghosts! (Actually “scary” isn’t the right word, because I can think of no one I’d rather have Annie be like…but it does boggle my mind sometimes!)

    And the whole map thing…I LOVE it! I would so do something like that, too. Except that it would be a depressing exercise on my part, because such a small percentage of countries would get marked.

  9. June 24, 2009 9:11 am

    Nice haul. I adore Oliver Sacks and enjoyed Oaxaca Journal very much.
    Manguel is always good when he talks about books, I am assuming that’s what this book is about. I love any book about sisters. You’ve got a little of everything in that group of books. Can’t wait to hear about Cannibal Women. Enjoy. My LL is posted.

    http://freshinkbooks.blogspot.com/2009/06/library-loot_24.html

  10. June 24, 2009 2:32 pm

    Cool collection. I have A Suitable Boy to read over the summer once school is over, will be good to compare reviews

  11. June 24, 2009 2:44 pm

    I have borrowed A Golden Age before but never got to read it. One day I will borrow it again. My library has the Adichie on order, but I have no idea how long it is going to take to get it in!

  12. June 24, 2009 3:09 pm

    Rebecca: I think both books are good although Half of a Yellow Sun just nudges Purple Hibiscus.

    Oliver Sacks is very entertaining; I remember being very intrigued by The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat when I saw it on my mother’s shelf. It’s a very arresting title, just begging to be picked up and read.

  13. June 24, 2009 5:38 pm

    I have Shadow of the Silk Road, but I keep forgetting about it. Thanks for yet another reminder!

  14. June 24, 2009 9:15 pm

    Ohh I love Oliver Sacks. I had the best class ever where we read The Man Who Took His Wife For a Hat and Phantoms in the Brain by Ramachandran, which was really good too. If you like Sacks, you’d like Ramachandran.

    I posted my first library loot ever. =)

  15. June 25, 2009 12:13 am

    I totally am going to get Ghost Hunters! I read A Suitable Boy many years ago and have thought about a re-read. I hope you enjoy it!

  16. June 25, 2009 9:33 am

    Just wanted to say our library is having its annual summer sale this evening! My daughter and I have numbers 80 and 81 for getting in… Great way to get great books for not much green.

  17. June 25, 2009 1:03 pm

    I put several of these titles on my “to read” list! Shadow of the Silk Road sounds intriguing and is something I know little about. Great library loot!

  18. June 26, 2009 9:56 am

    I checked my library to see if they had the Alberto Manguel book and they had a quite a few of his that look fascinating! Thanks for introducing me to this author.

  19. June 26, 2009 12:07 pm

    Wow, what a lot of library books you got this week! I’ve added Snoop to my wish list (and mentioned it in my Friday Finds post today).

    Lovely to see you in your vlog! (Your comment about ferns made me laugh out loud.)

    Oh and I’m also interested in the vegetarian gluten-free cookbook! It’s so hard to find books that cater to both of those needs. (I’m also veggie & gluten-free.) I hope you’ll review that book; I’d be curious to see how useful it really is.

    How long will it take you to read all those books?

  20. June 26, 2009 3:47 pm

    Staci, thanks!

    Rebecca, I loved them both, so if I were you I’d read them in published order, which is Purple Hibiscus then Half of a Yellow Sun. :) Sacks is awesome!

    Bermuda Onion, LOL…I’m still a little young to have given up on men!!!

    Meghan, thank you! Fantasy is the best at doing huge sagas. :D

    Blodeuedd, doesn’t it?! I always see it in the bookstores and want to read it.

    Wordlily, well, I’m eating entirely gluten free, since the doctor said that would be the best approach. :( I feel much healthier, but it’s so frustrating!

    Bybee, I’m looking forward to it!

    Debi, that is crazy! And I’m going to be publishing my map soon. :)

    Sandra, Reading Diary was about books, but I didn’t like it (unlike The Library at Night and A History of Reading). :( Still, I’m glad you enjoyed the Oaxaca Journal: I think I’ll pick that up next!

    Katrina, it will be fun to compare notes!

    Marg, I just picked up A Golden Age, and it’s super-readable!

    Uenohama, that was the first book I read by him. He definitely gets some great titles!

    Softdrink, no problem!

    Shannon, we read parts of The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat in my intro to psych class. :) Thanks for the rec! I’m never heard of Ramachandran. And thanks for joining in LL!

    Kristen, I’m glad you think it’s worth a reread!

    Liz, enjoy. :D

    Terri, Library Loot is awful for my TBR list too! :)

    Joanne, no problem. I’d highly recommend A History of Reading and THe Library at Night, but I didn’t enjoy this one.

    Avisannschild, I know: I went a little crazy! hehe I’ve looked through the cookbook: it has some good ideas, but it relies really heavily on dairy. I’m not sure how long it’ll take to read the books, but I read a lot right now. :)

  21. June 26, 2009 5:56 pm

    I’m not sure how my library pile grows, but I’m sure it should be called reading gluttony or similar. But it does illustrate how terrific my local library network is, that I’m never lost for a book to read!

  22. June 26, 2009 9:30 pm

    I really, really want to read Adichie. The others I don’t know but I have learned you have great tastes so I’m tempted to check some of these out.

  23. June 26, 2009 11:17 pm

    Hello~
    I’m new to your blog and participating in Library Loot. I’m so looking forward to this and hopefully will have my entry completed tonight, tomorrow at the latest.
    I’m discovering so many books and authors through visiting so many of the ‘book blogs’……I’m loving it!! One that is intriguing me is Adichie. This is on my list for the very near future :)

    Thank you for having such a great blog and providing so much information :)

    Gayla

  24. June 27, 2009 6:59 pm

    Kerrie, oh book gluttony! I’m glad your library’s so good. :D

    Susan, you really, really should read Adichie. :p And thanks so much for the compliment!!

    Gayla, can’t wait to see your post! :)

Trackbacks

  1. My only faith’s in the broken bones and bruises I display « crazy dumbsaint of the mind

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

