Skip to content

Library Loot: June 17-23, 2009

June 17, 2009

library-lootLibrary Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by myself and Marg that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries!

First of all, I’d like to introduce the charming new co-host, Marg of Reading Adventures. She’s a such a nice person, and a huge fan of her library! :) So every other week, she’ll have the Mr. Linky. I know it’s a touch more complicated, but I’m confident y’all can handle it. ;) To add your link this week, go to her blog. And if you include the little ‘blurb’ about Library Loot, please note the name/link change! Thanks so much guys!

My loot via vlogging (I learned how to add captions, and I might have gone a little overboard: let me know if it’s too much!)…

And via links/pictures…
rowone
Everything Asian by Sung Woo (Heather reviewed this, and I ran over to my library website and put it on hold), Paradise of the Blind by Thu Huong Duong (I have a reading list of translated books, and when I was scanning it, this Vietnamese one jumped off the page), Mr. Muo’s Travelling Couch by Sijie Dai (I had mixed feelings about Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress, but his second novel sounds so interesting!)

rowtwo
The Stars, a New Way to See Them by H.A. Rey (for the Science Book Challenge), My Invented Country by Isabel Allende (for the World Citizen Challenge), Deep Economy by Bill McKibben (for the World Citizen Challenge)

rowthree
Lucy the Giant by Sherri Smith (saw this in Black-Eyed Susan’s Library Loot and decided to request it), The Portrait of a Lady by Henry James (I got the unabridged audio form for the Classics Challenge), The Complete Romances of Chretien de Troyes (also for the Classics Challenge)

rowfour
Kampung Boy by Lat (I saw this mentioned somewhere, and then Claire called it one of her favourites), The Magical Life of Long Tack Sam by Ann Marie Fleming (Maggie wrote a great review of this)

(P.S.: Have you asked a question to help me write a review yet? I’ll love you forever if you do!)

17 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2009 10:50 am

    Eva!! I’m glad you got Kampung Boy.. I hope you enjoy it!

    Your library loot this week is awesome.. There are three already on my wishlist, but you added three more! :D

  2. June 17, 2009 11:24 am

    Hi Eva! I loved the vlog and think you did a great job with it. ;-) The captions were a nice touch, some were kind of tough to read (the transparency maybe?), but I think I got the gist of all of em’! Great loot list!

    Happy reading,
    Lisa

  3. June 17, 2009 11:45 am

    loved your necklace!

    Looks like a good stack of books, I only picked up an excercise book this week as I have loads of library books at home that must get read.

  4. June 17, 2009 12:37 pm

    I remember liking The Portrait of a Lady when I read it a few years ago. Hope you enjoy it, too.

  5. June 17, 2009 1:02 pm

    The vlog is great, and I second Katrina on the necklace!

  6. June 17, 2009 1:12 pm

    I like the captions! How fun.

    I know next to nothing about economics. I’m planning on reading Naked Economics for the World Citizen Challenge and I’m hoping that’s not too confusing. I look forward to your thoughts on Deep Economy, but it sounds a bit “deep” for a beginner!

    The Star book also looks like fun. I like children’s nonfiction for that very reason — that they don’t mention all sorts of stuff I don’t care about; they just get to the point (usually!)

  7. June 17, 2009 3:40 pm

    I got Everything Asian from Library Thing and look forward to reading it.

  8. June 17, 2009 3:52 pm

    Glad you found a co-host. Marg is such a prolific library user, she’s perfect for the job. That’s a lot o’ loot for one week. Enjoy. I’m not clear on whether I leave a link here too so I will anyway for now.

    http://freshinkbooks.blogspot.com/2009/06/library-loot_17.html

  9. June 17, 2009 4:00 pm

    aw, thanks for mentioning me! I hope you like Everything Asian as much as I did.

  10. June 17, 2009 10:38 pm

    Claire, thanks! :)

    Lisa, thank you. :D

    Katrina, I saw it in a little shop downtown and loved it…then my mom went and got it for me for Christmas! I had almost no library books left, so that’s why I got so many.

    Charley, I hope so too!

    Rhapsody, thanks so much. :)

    Rebecca, I saw a positive review of Naked Econ from another participant, so I think it’ll be good! I’m loving all of the pictures in The Stars. :D

    BermudaOnion, cool!

    Sandra, I think she’s perfect for the job too. :)

    Heather, it was a great review!

  11. June 18, 2009 6:16 am

    Oh, I’m so behind on my library loot! Been using the libraries (2) like crazy just haven’t talked about it, sorry!

    Man, I’m eager to hear about Long Tack Sam! I absolutely loved the author and want to see the documentary! I have a little quality issue with the binding of the book. I was the second to read it and the front pages are falling out. Is this a fluke or does your book possibly have the same problem?

    Great Vlog BTW!!! Oh, and I like blue, too! :D

  12. June 18, 2009 12:23 pm

    Love seeing you via your vlog! :)

    Welcome to Marg as your co-host. I’m sorry I haven’t been participating in library loot for a while it’s just that I’m trying to focus on my stacks a bit more lately. Of course you’ve just mentioned several books that sound intriguing so who knows if I can resist the library!

  13. June 18, 2009 9:33 pm

    Maggie, don’t worry about it! :) When I opened the book, I noticed the binding issue right away. I’m not sure if anyone else has checked it out, but while the pages aren’t falling out yet, they don’t look secure at all. Frustrating!

    Iliana, thanks. :) Don’t worry about not participating! I totally understand!

  14. June 21, 2009 12:53 pm

    Welcome, Marg.

  15. June 21, 2009 12:57 pm

    Hi Eva,

    I’m linking to my New Crayons post from Color Online. As you know I run a library. Here, I’m listing what’s new on our shelves. I’ll try to be clear in the future about what I brought home from our librar. This week, I brought home, Our Children Can Soar.

  16. June 21, 2009 3:35 pm

    That’s cool! Either way works for me. :)

  17. June 25, 2009 3:56 am

    here’s my list for the week.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

