Skip to content

The Third Southern Reading Challenge

May 21, 2009

southernreadingY’all, I’m so excited about this one. :D I’ve always really wish I was Southern (yes, I consider Texas my home state, but that’s not *really* the South and both of my parents are Yankees), and if I could get away with it I’d speak with a North Carolina accent all of the time. So obviously, I have to join the third round of Maggie’s Southern Reading Challenge. And since I’m me, I have a nice big pool to choose from!

And there you have it! I need to read at least three by August 15th. :)

16 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2009 5:05 pm

    I *love* Ella Minnow Pea!

  2. May 21, 2009 5:31 pm

    I love your list! We both picked some of the same authors for this challenge: Taylor, Jordan, Welty, Jackson, and Agee. Happy reading.

  3. May 21, 2009 7:11 pm

    What a great list! Enjoy!

  4. May 21, 2009 7:23 pm

    i have yet to do a reading challenge, but this one is tempting! i love southern lit despite the fact that i’m a new jersey native. :) there’s just something so mint julep-y about southern writing…i love it.

  5. May 21, 2009 9:02 pm

    Read Mudbound!!
    Read Mudbound!!
    Read Mudbound!!
    Read Mudbound!!

    One of the best books I read last year :-)

    I’m reading The Girl Who Stopped Swimming too.

  6. May 21, 2009 10:25 pm

    I have I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings but I need some motivation or a push to get to it. I should probably wait for your review Eva.

  7. May 22, 2009 6:09 am

    I read Ella Minnow Pea quite a few years ago, and it was a lot of fun! A quick read, but a good one!

    I also have A Summons to Memphis in my TBR pile – I got it for cheap as well, but I’ve heard good things about it AND it did win the Pulitzer! Plus, I live in Tennessee, and the first part of the book is set in Nashville, and it always gives me a thrill when I’m reading a book that references specific streets, etc., that I actually know! And I also want to read A Death In The Family by Agee (for much of the same reason!).

    City of Refuge is supposed to be amazing, so I hope you like it. I borrowed it from the library a while back, but the copy I got smelled so strongly of someone else’s perfume I had to return it unread – it made me feel ill just to hold the book!

  8. May 22, 2009 10:14 am

    Looks like a great challenge! I’m going to the Southern Women Writers conference in September. Reading a few of these would be a great way to prepare!

  9. May 22, 2009 7:44 pm

    James Agee? Sigh! Just plain sigh! Oh, and I’m FROM N.C. and wish I had a N.C. accent (which I don’t). Either that or a VA accent (which I don’t have either).

  10. May 22, 2009 11:18 pm

    Speaking Pulitzer-ly, I loved Agee’s book (would also like to read his film criticism, it’s said that he was very good) but disappointed in the Taylor book.
    You’ve got a great list. Hooray for the Maya Angelou book…although I haven’t read it since…I don’t know when, I still vividly remember most of it.

  11. May 24, 2009 3:53 am

    Oh!!!! Is is possible to join this or is it just for invitees? I would love to read some Southern Lit and get to know it. I’ve had some of Eudora Welty’s books home from the library from time to time but never got around to read them etc. This would be a great opportunity! I am not really that familiar with the “genre”, so may need some help in choosing books – if allowed to join, that is :)

  12. May 24, 2009 5:32 am

    Oh man, next year I’m coming to you before I put together my list for this challenge! You came up with so many great ones…some I didn’t realize would work for the challenge, like Four and Twenty Blackbirds. I just may have to “adjust” my list. I’d like to add that book Chris just reviewed, Voodoo Season, too.

    And I’ll be anxious to see if you like A Summons to Memphis. We lived in Memphis for four years, and I have to admit that I have very mixed feelings about the place myself.

  13. May 24, 2009 12:37 pm

    This is a great list…makes me itchy to join this challenge. I am such a southern girl at heart.

  14. May 24, 2009 1:32 pm

    Wordlily, I definitely want to read it them!

    Vasilly, obviously, we’re united in our excellent taste. ;)

    Jessica, thanks!

    Nat, you sohuld join in!

    SuziQ, lol: ok, I put that on hold after all of your exclamation points. :p

    Violet, I’ll try to motivate you!

    Steph, I’m jealous that you live in Tennessee. :p That perfume thing is awful; I’m glad I’ve never had that problem with a library book!

    Amy, that sounds like a neat conference! And any excuse is a good one for reading. ;)

    Emily, lol; do big city NCers not have the accent?

    Bybee, yeah: I’ve heard mixed things about the Taylor. So we’ll see.

    Louise, I’ve e-mailed you, but you can deifnitely join!! On my post for the challenge last year, I gave some recommendations.

    Debi, you know, I was visiting my best friend who went to college in Memphis, and all of the students who lived there had mixed feelings about it too. So I understand.

    Becca, me too! :)

  15. stacybuckeye permalink
    May 25, 2009 1:42 pm

    I’ve joined this challenge too!

  16. May 30, 2009 8:06 pm

    I love your choiced Eva! The first one I have just added to my TBR. Good luck with the challenge!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

