Skip to content

Um, Can We Say: Longest Unintentional Blog Break Ever?!

May 14, 2009

We have one of those cable TV-phone-internet packages. And let me just say monopolies suck. So when our internet went out, it was a ridiculous rigamarole to get it fixed. By the time it actually started working again late last week, I was so used to no internet that I found myself overwhelmed, lol.

But now I’ve gotten over that, and I’m back! I’ve been reading-not a ton, but enough. So I have to add all of those books to my books read page, update the challenge stuff, and take pictures of and post thanks for the various packages I’ve received since I’ve been incommunicado. I’m glad that Alessandra is my wonderful co-host for Library Loot, so at least I don’t have to feel super guilty over that! But I’ll be back to my vlogging ways soon. ;)

Thanks so much to everyone who left comments and/or e-mails to check up on me; y’all are the best and I’ve missed you horribly! My reader is the digital equivalent of a way over-stuffed suitcase right now, but I’ll be slowly working my way through everyone’s posts, catching up and all that.

As for my own reviews, I’m thinking about starting with a blank slate again, because I’m so far behind. We’ll see!

46 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2009 6:04 am

    Welcome back!

  2. tuulenhaiven permalink
    May 14, 2009 6:10 am

    Glad you’re back. Internet – the curse and wonder. Can’t wait to read new reviews. :)

  3. May 14, 2009 6:38 am

    welcome back to the Internet!

  4. May 14, 2009 6:42 am

    Oh thank heavens, Eva!!! I’m sooooooooooo damn relieved to hear from you! I’ve been on the verge of e-mailing you at least a dozen times, but was so afraid you’d think I was a major league pest because of the way I worry every time you “disappear” for a few days. Internet problems suck, but I’m literally in tears here from relief that that’s why you were away as opposed to you going through another bad stretch with your fibro. Welcome back, sweetheart! You were so very, very, very missed!!!!!!

    And for what it’s worth, I think the clean slate idea is a great one! Why cause yourself unneeded stress trying to catch up.

  5. May 14, 2009 6:57 am

    Welcome back!

  6. May 14, 2009 7:24 am

    So glad to hear it wasn’t anything too horrendous that kept you away. I honestly had images of some sort of accident that had you in the hospital or bedridden, and all of your book blogging friends were left without knowing! :) Yes…my mind wandered. I’m glad to see you back though, and look forward to your posts!

  7. May 14, 2009 7:26 am

    Glad you’re back. I was getting worried.

  8. May 14, 2009 8:14 am

    It’s good to see you back and I’m glad it wasn’t health issues! But wow, that’s crazy that it took that long to get your internet back – I work from home and am totally dependent on the internet to get my work done, I don’t know what I’d do if that happened to me!

  9. May 14, 2009 8:24 am

    I know which monopoly you mean, and I agree totally!! Glad you are back.

  10. May 14, 2009 8:38 am

    Missed you! Glad everything’s ok. Looking forward to hearing about what you’ve been reading!

  11. May 14, 2009 8:44 am

    It’s lovely to see you back!

  12. May 14, 2009 9:09 am

    I’m so glad you’re back! Suziqoregon and I were wondering what happened to you! I have that same packages. When one goes down, it brings the other two down. I say start from scratch with your reviews but please tell us what you read! =)

  13. May 14, 2009 9:29 am

    Good to hear from you again, Eva! Like the others, I was starting to wonder where you were.

    Maybe just review a couple of books that stood out the most during this “break” :-)!

  14. May 14, 2009 9:43 am

    Glad to have you back! It looks like Alessandra’s been AWOL too, but I’ve seen lots of Library Loot posts, keeping it alive!

  15. stacybuckeye permalink
    May 14, 2009 9:47 am

    Whenever our internet goes out for any length of time I feel so out of touch! Nice to see you back :)

  16. May 14, 2009 10:00 am

    Yay, I’m glad you’re back!

  17. May 14, 2009 10:23 am

    I’m glad you are okay! I saw Vasilly and SuzyQ talking about you on Twitter and I realized I hadn’t seen a post in awhile! I’m glad I have my internet independant then, whew! I hate those kids of messes.

    Can’t wait to hear about what you been reading!

  18. May 14, 2009 10:29 am

    Yay! You’re back! Vasilly and I had a Twitter conversation about what happened to you! How will we know what to read without you?
    I was getting A Striped Armchair post withdrawal.

  19. May 14, 2009 10:42 am

    Welcome back!

  20. May 14, 2009 11:06 am

    So glad that you’re back!! :)

  21. May 14, 2009 11:22 am

    And here I was hoping you’d gone some place nice and tropical – that would have been a much better excuse for neglecting us.

    Glad to see you’re back up and running.

  22. May 14, 2009 11:23 am

    Phew! I’m so glad to see you back here Eva!! We all get so worried everytime someone dissappears for a little while because this is the only way we really communicate! lol…But I’m glad to hear that all is well with you. Cable monopolies do indeed suck. We have problems all the time with ours. Drives me nuts…I’ll be in the middle of doing something and the internet just goes down! As for reviews….a clean slate is a great idea ;)

  23. May 14, 2009 11:55 am

    Welcome back. I’ve not had an internet problem like that. It would have made me crazy.

  24. May 14, 2009 12:31 pm

    I was wondering where you had gotten to. I’m glad you’re back!

  25. May 14, 2009 12:39 pm

    hey you. :)
    So nice to see your smiley face here again.

  26. May 14, 2009 12:46 pm

    Great to see you back again, Eva! I get overwhelmed even without internet troubles, a fresh start sounds like a good idea, or maybe 1-2 sentence mini-reviews so we can see what you’ve been reading?

  27. May 14, 2009 1:12 pm

    I wondered what became of you! So glad to see you back. I’m all for the “clean slate” concept — maybe just a list of what you read with no descriptions.

  28. May 14, 2009 1:15 pm

    Welcome back Eva!

  29. May 14, 2009 3:09 pm

    Glad you’re back! I’d love to hear even a sentence or two about the books you read during your break, even if you don’t have time to write reviews on all of them. :)

  30. May 14, 2009 3:27 pm

    So glad to see you’re back! I missed you :D

  31. May 14, 2009 3:35 pm

    I was beginning to wonder if something serious had happened. I really enjoy your book reviews.

  32. May 14, 2009 4:19 pm

    Welcome back!

  33. May 14, 2009 4:44 pm

    Glad to see you back. I was getting worried.

  34. May 14, 2009 5:03 pm

    Welcome back! I’m glad to hear you’re okay; I was kind of wondering where you were at.

  35. May 14, 2009 5:23 pm

    Welcome back!!

  36. May 14, 2009 6:52 pm

    Yay! Welcome back!!

  37. May 14, 2009 6:55 pm

    Welcome back! Yes, monopolies do suck!

  38. May 14, 2009 7:56 pm

    Glad to see you back, Eva! Missed you bunches.

  39. May 14, 2009 8:53 pm

    It is nice that you are back. Sometimes a break is nice to regroup. It is like a Spring Break.

  40. May 14, 2009 9:10 pm

    Good to have you back! I would get a lot more reading done if it wasn’t for the internet … and a lot of other things too. I envy you a little bit for your unexpected break. :)

  41. May 14, 2009 9:59 pm

    I’m so happy you’re back. Whew and whew!

  42. May 15, 2009 6:49 am

    Glad to see you back! I too was getting a little concerned.

  43. May 15, 2009 7:46 am

    Hey, welcome back!! I so understand your Internet problems, I deal with a really fickle connection myself. Glad to see you’re back and raring to go :)

  44. May 15, 2009 4:07 pm

    I was starting to wonder about you! :)

    What a bummer about the internet woes but glad you are back and looking forward to more vlogs – so cool!

  45. May 15, 2009 9:33 pm

    Glad you’re back. Sorry about the internet hassle (so frustrating!).
    Strengthening my wrist to write down all of your great recommendations! ;)

  46. callista83 permalink
    May 16, 2009 7:15 am

    Glad to have you back! I missed you!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

