Skip to content

An Awesome Poetry Video

April 21, 2009

Since April is national poetry month, I’ve been exploring it all the more! I came across this poem on youtube, and I think you’ll agree it’s pretty awesome.

And this one, by the same guy, made me cry:

I’ve realised it’s a lot easier for me to enjoy performed poetry, so does anyone have any recommendations for me to watch? Please?

17 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2009 10:25 am

    No recommendations, but I loved these; thanks for sharing (I especially liked watching Billy Collins’s face during the second poem as he first wondered “where is he going with this?” and then became more and more drawn in). The image of those boys having shaved their heads, and then sending their own Viking ship to Valhalla was beautiful. I cried, too.

  2. April 21, 2009 10:57 am

    Wow! Eva, thank you so much for that! The second one really gave me the chills. Yes I agree that performed poetry is quite lovely.

  3. April 21, 2009 1:26 pm

    These are videos but recordings by a guy called Ventriloquist,
    http://profile.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=user.viewprofile&friendid=86608228

    Unfortunately my fav one was removed I have a written copy of it on my blog here
    http://katrinasreads.blogspot.com/2009_02_01_archive.html

  4. April 21, 2009 1:34 pm

    These are quite cool too
    http://www.myspace.com/raspberrybush

  5. April 21, 2009 2:27 pm

    I know this isn’t exactly an easy recommendation, but if you happen to run across a poetry slam in your area, GO! Live slam poetry is pretty durned amazing.

  6. April 21, 2009 4:11 pm

    Oh my – those are wonderful! I have a suggestion – Andrea Gibson. She’s marvelous.

    For Eli

    I Do:

  7. April 21, 2009 5:43 pm

    All of Rives’ stuff is full of awesome, especially Deaf Poetry and Glaucoma.

    Check him out here:

    http://www.shopliftwindchimes.com/nuyovideos.html

    Here: http://www.shopliftwindchimes.com/videos/dpjdeaf.mov

    I had forgotten about him until you reminded me today, thank you! :) Great post!

  8. April 21, 2009 8:24 pm

    Wow, I never thought to look on YouTube. Thanks, Eva. Memory’s suggestion of a poetry slam is a great one, and if there are any good bookstores in your area they should have readings occasionally.

  9. April 21, 2009 9:51 pm

    These are great Eva!

    There’s an award waiting for you at my place to say thank you for your encouragement during the read-a-thon

    http://teddyree-theeclecticreader.blogspot.com/2009/04/show-some-love.html

  10. April 22, 2009 8:52 am

    Those were great! Thanks for sharing. I think live poetry is so helpful because it helps to understand the words more if you hear them in the proper cadence.

  11. alirambles permalink
    April 23, 2009 12:25 am

    These are gorgeous, thank you so much, Eve. I can’t wait to check out all the other recommendations (tomorrow). I was able to download an audio of Billy Collins performing live, from our library, and it was great even without video.

  12. April 23, 2009 5:30 am

    Okay, that didn’t go through:

  13. April 23, 2009 12:05 pm

    Sorry, no suggestions. But a thank you. A big one. That second one is going to stick with for a long time to come.

  14. April 24, 2009 1:11 am

    wow, the viking warrior was beautiful. thank you for sharing that!

  15. April 24, 2009 2:54 pm

    I really enjoyed these videos…check out this one from one of my favorites…

    http://movies.apunkachoice.com/names/chr/chris_wilson/cid_94582/videos/ceytid/csL_mrz81jk/swarm-by-chris-august-and-chris-wilson.html

    Tag team performance poetry…these guys rock the yearly poetry slam near me during the Bethesda Literary Festival

  16. January 8, 2011 6:27 am

    Amazing…..the second one touched my soul!!! Thank you….ohh mymy

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

