Skip to content

Hour Twenty-Three (Eva)

April 19, 2009

readathonbuttonPages Read This Hour: 109
Books Read This Hour: The Likeness by Tana French
Total Pages Read: 1,887
Books Completed: 6 (The Likeness by Tana French, I Am a Pencil by Sam Swope, Death and Judgement by Donna Leon, Twenty Something Manifesto by Christine Hessler, Witch Child by Celia Rees, Shakespeare Wrote For Money by Nick Hornby)
Mini-Challenges Participated In: 16
Time Spent Reading: 40
Time Spent Blogging: 20

bookpileWhew! The Likeness definitely got a lot better in its last hundred pages. :D Though I expected a different ending.

On to the mini-challenge this hour, which is another survey:
1. Which hour was most daunting for you? 17-19, which was 11 PM-1 AM my time.
2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? Let’s see…I think the Hornby was a great choice! And I Am a Pencil and Witch Child. The Likeness was a little too slow starting for late in the read-a-thon, but I think it’d work earlier.
3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Maybe add a cheerleader feed as well as a reader’s feed; some of the cheerleaders were blogging, and I didn’t realise it!
4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? Everything! It ran so smoothly; I couldn’t be more impressed. :D
5. How many books did you read? I’ve finished 6, and I *might* finish another one in this last hour
6. What were the names of the books you read?The Likeness by Tana French, I Am a Pencil by Sam Swope, Death and Judgement by Donna Leon, Twenty Something Manifesto by Christine Hessler, Witch Child by Celia Rees, Shakespeare Wrote For Money by Nick Hornby
7. Which book did you enjoy most? the Hornby (duh!)
8. Which did you enjoy least? 20 Something Manifesto
9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? Be careful about getting overwhelmed. I was caught off guard by just how many readers there were, and it took me awhile to accept that I wasn’t going to be able to visit them all often like I did in the earlier read-a-thons.
10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? Very likely! The past two times I’ve participated, I’ve been a reader, a cheerleader, and a mini-challenge host, and that works for me!

Thanks again to the wonderful Nymeth, Hannah, and Trish for sacrificing their own ability to be readers in order to put the event on.

Picture this time is of the books I read! (and the photography book, which I’ll have read at least half of)

And now, if you don’t mind, I need to go read 113 more pages. :p

P.S.: my mom fell asleep a couple of hours ago, but she just briefly woke up and wants me to update that she read 50 pages of Heyer’s The Reluctant Widow and enjoyed it!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2009 4:22 am

    Good luck reading those 113! And thanks for the suggestion!

    I like your “duh!” :D

  2. April 19, 2009 4:29 am

    Yea Eva and Barb!!!

  3. April 19, 2009 4:29 am

    I can’t wait to read the Hornby book. I’m glad it was a success for your reading.
    Your mom’s a trouper.

  4. April 19, 2009 4:34 am

    You and your Mom have done a great job with this read-a-thon! What energy! What fun! Your advice to cheerleaders really hit home. I started out by visiting everyone on the list for just a brief comment, and it took over an hour! I did get a bit overwhelmed … but it was so incredible to realize how many people were part of this and what a wonderful tribute to Dewey!!

  5. April 19, 2009 4:37 am

    I really had fun reading your updates with all the photos and such (the hot chocolate made me drool).

  6. April 19, 2009 4:39 am

    WOW great job today, you two! Congrats on all you’ve accomplished, I’m so impressed!!

  7. Book Psmith permalink
    April 19, 2009 4:44 am

    Thank you for cheerleading me on. Great job reading:)

  8. April 19, 2009 4:56 am

    You and your mom did a wonderful job. What a team!

  9. April 19, 2009 5:14 am

    Congratulations Eva, loved your video posts!

  10. April 19, 2009 5:24 am

    Over 1800 pages? Whoa, you amaze me!

  11. April 19, 2009 5:34 am

    Wow, well done!
    A cheerleader feed is a good idea. :)

  12. April 19, 2009 6:08 am

    Congrats! You did a lot of reading. Glad you had a great time.

  13. April 19, 2009 8:18 am

    Excellent job!

  14. April 19, 2009 11:59 am

    Enjoy your sleep! Congrats on completing!

  15. April 19, 2009 2:28 pm

    Rest up!

  16. April 19, 2009 4:37 pm

    I’m amazed to how you can do so many things in such a short time! I feel like a slowpoke lol.

  17. April 19, 2009 8:34 pm

    You just totally made me remember that I was going to take a photo of the books I read too but now I’m to lazy to add it in. Great job Eva!!

  18. thatsthebook permalink
    April 20, 2009 10:55 am

    I am a Pencil sounds like an interesting book. Great job getting all that read. I didn’t make it all the way through but I had a lot of fun participating.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

