Skip to content

Hours Seven and Eight (Eva)

April 18, 2009

readathonHour Eight
Pages Read This Hour: 159
Books Read This Hour: Twenty Something Manifesto by Christine Hessler
Total Pages Read: 733
Books Completed: 3 (Twenty Something Manifesto by Christine Hessler, Witch Child by Celia Rees, Shakespeare Wrote For Money by Nick Hornby)
Mini-Challenges Participated In: 7
Time Spent Reading: 43
Time Spent Blogging: 17

Hour Seven
Pages Read This Hour: 36
Books Read This Hour: Twenty Something Manifesto by Christine Hessler
Total Pages Read: 574
Books Completed: 2 (Witch Child by Celia Rees, Shakespeare Wrote For Money by Nick Hornby)
Mini-Challenges Participated In: 6
Time Spent Reading: 15
Time Spent Blogging: 25
Time Spent Preparing for and Taking Snowy Walk: 20

momThis hour’s minichallenge, hosted by Jeska, is to a “Love Your Library” one. Since I co-host Library Loot, obviously I’m all about loving my library! :)

1. What is the name of your local library? What city is it located in? It’s located in my city, lol. My two closest local branches are called Briargate and East; they’re both 15-20 minutes away.
2. How often do you go to the library? If you’re a regular, do the staff know you? About once a week. Some of the staff know me!
3. Do you browse while you’re there or just pick up items you have placed on reserve? It depends on which library I’m going to; I get all of my holds at Briargate and rarely browse (it doesn’t have a large selection) while I usually go to East just to browse (it’s the biggest one).
4. What is your favorite thing about your local library? Free books!!! lol

My picture this time is of my mom; doesn’t she look all comfy curled up on her couch reading?!

Reading’s been going well. I finished up 20 Something Manifesto by Christine Hessler. I THOUGHT it was an essay collection that she edited, but it turned out to be more of a self-help sequel to her earlier book 20 Something, 20 Everything. I think the first one was a lot better. But this one still had some interesting ideas, and there were personal stories sprinkled in, which I enjoyed!

On the cheerleading front, I’ve finally visited everyone on the feedpage! There are so many awesome readers out there. :D And now I’m off to start paying my second visits.

Can you believe we’re a third of the way through?! Crazy!!!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2009 1:35 pm

    Twenty Something Manifesto? Does that deal with the Quarter Life Crisis? I think I checked out the latter and the person checking me out at the library gave me the look…hmm, are you doing through a crisis?
    Sounds like you’re having a fun day!

  2. April 18, 2009 1:36 pm

    Wow you are SO organized! I couldn’t keep up with all those stats. :D

  3. April 18, 2009 1:37 pm

    I can’t believe a third of the day has already passed away either! Time flies when you’re having fun, I guess. = D

  4. April 18, 2009 1:51 pm

    You look so cozy! Keep up the great work, I’ve seen you out there commenting, too :-)

    Happy reading!!

  5. April 18, 2009 1:58 pm

    You may just make that 2,000 page mark! You and your mom look (and sound, from that last video clip) like you’re having a blast!

  6. April 18, 2009 1:59 pm

    Look at the comfort! So much jealousnessss! Snow outside = extra awesome being-inside-ness.

  7. April 18, 2009 2:00 pm

    You’ve gotten to everyone, that’s great! I’m like 1/3 of the way done, and I’m not sure if I’ll get to it. I’m totally impressed :)

  8. April 18, 2009 2:03 pm

    You are kicking total behind in page count. Awesome!

  9. April 18, 2009 2:08 pm

    You really are reading up a storm! I’m a bit envious of your page count. I have Shakespeare wrote for Money in my stack although I’m not sure if I’ll get to it. Happy reading!

  10. April 18, 2009 2:18 pm

    Can’t believe you’ve read so much and visited everyone, great x

  11. April 18, 2009 2:18 pm

    I love your library loot meme – you can see why I participate!! Thanks for sharing about your library!

  12. April 18, 2009 2:24 pm

    I want to read Twenty Something Manifesto and her other books, but my library doesn’t have anything by her! I will have to get to it one of these days! Happy reading!

  13. MandaNikole permalink
    April 18, 2009 2:28 pm

    You’ve visited everyone and have still found time to read? I am in awe…

    Meanwhile, your book title reminds me of a song by Jamie Cullum (I think) by the name of twenty-something. You may like it.

  14. April 18, 2009 2:54 pm

    I bet more of the library staff know you than you think they do!

  15. April 18, 2009 2:55 pm

    Wow, you have been busy. 700+ pages is awesome – I think you will definitely hit 2000. Keep up the great work – good job!

  16. April 18, 2009 4:16 pm

    You visited EVERYONE and are reading, too???
    You are amazing!

  17. April 18, 2009 5:55 pm

    I told my husband your library branches and he said that he read The Hobbit while sitting in the East branch! I’m reading all of your updates today and wish I could have joined the read-a-thon but it’s my pre-birthday weekend so I’m kind of swamped. You and your mom are doing a great job! I’m not envying your snow though … my mother-in-law is there in it too.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

