Skip to content

Hours Fifteen and Sixteen (Eva)

April 18, 2009

readathonPages Read These Hours: 199
Books Read This Hour: I Am a Pencil by Sam Swope
Total Pages Read: 1,319
Books Completed: 5 (I Am a Pencil by Sam Swope, Death and Judgement by Donna Leon, Twenty Something Manifesto by Christine Hessler, Witch Child by Celia Rees, Shakespeare Wrote For Money by Nick Hornby)
Mini-Challenges Participated In: 12
Time Spent Reading: 100
Time Spent Blogging: 10

colanderI’m ba-ack!!! This is always my most difficult time, and I’ll freely admit that there were quite a few times during the last couple of hours when I would have happily closed my eyes and gone to sleep! But I had my hardcore mom over on the other couch reading away as if she did this all the time. And I can’t be shown up by my mom! Plus I’m hosting a mini-challenge at 2 AM my time, so I’ve got to be up for that. ;)

Anyway, the reading was great. I really enjoyed reading I Am a Pencil: Swope obviously had a real connection to the kids, and he followed them through three grade and teachers, so it was interesting to see the dynamic change every year. Some of the exercises he does to get them writing are awesome too!

bowlofpastaWhile I was gone, I also cooked some pasta, added a weirdly compelling sauce I made up yesterday, and chowed down for dinner. Finally, I break a pattern in my read-a-thon eating habits! (Both other times, I had some kind of soup.) So that’s where the pictures for these hours come from!

When I got back, I did Erin’s awesome mini-challenge, designed to give us a break from reading! I did the Accents Test and did horribly (I got 20 points), but it made me laugh!

Now I’m going to cheerlead a bit and break out my two secret weapons for staying up: hot chocolate from scratch and a scary book. See you in an hour!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2009 9:26 pm

    OMG…I can’t stop eating!! It’s all of you evil people posting pics :p

  2. April 18, 2009 9:30 pm

    Are you reading The Likeness yet? I heart Tana French! Her books are riveting. Perfect Read-a-thon fare.

  3. April 18, 2009 9:44 pm

    I scored 12 at the accent game I think. I was terrible at it -_-

  4. April 18, 2009 9:51 pm

    hi Eva! Hello Eva’s Mom!! CHEERS :)

  5. April 18, 2009 10:03 pm

    that’s an amazing page count! you are doing some awesome reading! and you have managed to spend so much time cheerleading too? you are a readathon goddess.

    your pasta looks very yummy. :)

  6. April 18, 2009 10:18 pm

    It’s nearly 12:30 in the morning – why does that pasta look so appealing?? ;)

  7. April 18, 2009 10:20 pm

    I want to know how the heck you are everywhere tonight. Every comment I leave you have left one already and you still manage to read, do challenges and blog? I’m beginning to think you must have some kind of alter ego…

  8. April 18, 2009 10:25 pm

    Wow! Somehow a scary book seems so fitting when you are feeling a slump. I guess it keeps you compelled to keep reading. Good luck !!!

  9. April 18, 2009 10:52 pm

    Hey Eva!

  10. April 18, 2009 10:52 pm

    You are something! Hang in there and when you’ve recovered come by and claim your award. You’ve been touched by a fairy.

  11. stacybuckeye permalink
    April 18, 2009 11:01 pm

    Am just now catching up from vacation. Looks like you are having fun. I think it is so great that you and your mom are reading together. It’s 2 am and I’m up and not even reading ;)

  12. April 18, 2009 11:02 pm

    haha, I hear Chris! Between the food and the caffeine I have had lots of cravings tonight!

  13. April 18, 2009 11:14 pm

    Amazing page count… I had to get some blogging in as well..

    Lovely pot of noodles

    E.H>

  14. April 18, 2009 11:30 pm

    Pasta!!! Pasta!!! Pasta!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Mini-Challenge Round-up « filling my patch of sky

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

