Skip to content

Hour Two (Eva)

April 18, 2009

Read-a-ThonPages Read This Hour: 70
Books Read This Hour: Shakespeare Wrote For Money by Nick Hornby
Total Pages Read: 131
Books Completed: 1 (Shakespeare Wrote For Money by Nick Hornby)
Mini-Challenges Participated In: 2
Time Spent Reading: 37 minutes
Time Spent Blogging: 23 minutes

snowFirst of all, can we talk about how we’ve still got a snow storm going on outside?! I took this picture of our patio table so you can see how much snow has accumulated since yesterday (I took it when I first got up, so that’s why there’s the cool blue light thing going on). So much for reading out back! *sigh*

Next on to reading: I LOVED Shakespeare Wrote For Money, as I did the other two in the series (The Polysyllabic Spree and Housekeeping vs. The Dirt), although I got really sad at the end of the last column when Hornby says goodbye. Still, a great read, and a great way to start the read-a-thon!

Cheerleading! So far, I’ve been visiting 15-20 blogs an hour and leaving quick comments. I’m using the RSS feed, but what I didn’t think about was that the list order is going to change! Fortunately, though, I can tell which blogs I’ve visited by the link colour change, so at least getting to everyone’s blogs once should be easy. We’ll see how it goes after that!

Off to read some more. :D Thanks so much for all of the comments so far guys: they’re very enouraging!!!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2009 7:15 am

    You visited that many blogs and still managed to get a good amount of reading done? I’m impressed. =) The Nick Hornby book sounds fun.

    Good luck!

  2. Book Psmith permalink
    April 18, 2009 7:20 am

    Thank you for dropping by. I love that picture. I would love a little winter here. That is a great title…the Hornby book. There is no shame in supporting oneself through writing. You are doing awesome…impressive page count. Stay warm and happy reading.

  3. April 18, 2009 7:23 am

    NICK HORNBY!!!

    Sorry, I got a bit overexcited :P I just love him to bits and that book was my favourite.

    Sorry about the snow :(

  4. April 18, 2009 7:27 am

    We didn’t get that much snow ever, this winter. We did have an ice storm and lose power for 4 days, though. :p

    There’s also, on the page with the feeds, a straight list of all the readers, if that’s helpful.

  5. April 18, 2009 7:27 am

    So I’m guessing you won’t be reading outside, right? lol

  6. April 18, 2009 7:32 am

    Wow. Where do you live right now again? I thought for some reason you lived somewhere warm. I’m not going to lie, it is going to be hard for me to stay inside today, it is in the 70’s here in MN and BEAUTIFUL.

    Heehee, anyhow, best of luck with the reading!

  7. April 18, 2009 7:43 am

    First book down! Yeah! Good job. :D

  8. April 18, 2009 7:55 am

    Thanks for stopping by and leaving words of encouragement Eva! It’s 1am here….getting tired now! Keep up the good work – you’re making excellent progress.

  9. April 18, 2009 8:08 am

    I love a good snow storm, but I’m happy for the sunny day it’s turning out to be here in D.C. Although, a snowy day is perfect for cozying up to a good book. Especially Nick Hornby. I have that book on my read-a-thon list too! It’s for later today. :)

  10. April 18, 2009 8:52 am

    That snow is NUTS!

  11. April 18, 2009 9:14 am

    Good to know about Shakespeare Wrote For Money.

  12. April 18, 2009 11:47 am

    I hope the library gets the Hornby book in for me soon! Hope you continue to have fun reading! I can’t believe the weather… You’d think where I live in Canada I would be the one with the snow… Not that I want to switch, though. I had PLENTY of snow this year!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

