Skip to content

Hour Three (Eva)

April 18, 2009

readathonbuttonPages Read This Hour: 89
Books Read This Hour: Witch Child by Celia Rees
Total Pages Read: 220
Books Completed: 1 (Shakespeare Wrote For Money by Nick Hornby)
Mini-Challenges Participated In: 2
Time Spent Reading: 40
Time Spent Blogging: 20

I’m all about the mini-challenge this time: Jodie of Book Gazing had us pick our favourite cover from the TBR stack and then:

Flip the book over and look at the blurb (or look on the inside of the jacket). Now here’s the fun, little kid part – recreate the blurb anyway you want. What I’m looking for is some kind of tableau that expresses the main thrust of the book’s plot (which the blurb should hopefully capture). You can recreate it using action figures, poppets, stuffed toys, lego creatures, models made from bluetack and paper clips, anything you can find around the house. If you’re feeling really ambitious you can get people to help you out – dress them up and take a picture of them acting out the main idea behind the book. Mock it up quickly and have fun doing it :) Snap a picture of whatever you create. The challenge runs from 2pm – 4pm (GMT).

Post both pictures somewhere for the world to see. Then leave a link to your post in the comments of this post.

I’m not that creative, so I wasn’t sure what to do with my favourite cover, Witch Child. (The back of the book just tells me it’s about an English girl in the 17th century that goes to America with the Puritans.) But then I realised there’s a ton of snow outside! So I attempted to make a little Snow Puritan, dressed in a flowing floor-length dress with a cape over her head. I tell you all this so that when you see the picture, you can at least try to see it! I didn’t grow up with snow, so I have no mad snowman making skillz. :/ My mom cut out paper hands and taped them to chopsticks for the arms, lmao. Click to make it bigger, so you can laugh even more at my ridiculousness. :p

witchchildsnow-puritan

Ok, I’m off to visit blogs and read more! (so far, Witch Child is awesome) I had a ton of fun with the challenge, which got me to play out in the snow! So thanks Jodie!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2009 7:58 am

    Oh I see the cape! Snowman building = dedication, thanks for entering :)

  2. April 18, 2009 8:08 am

    I love that snowman! That’s really cool.

  3. Shanra permalink
    April 18, 2009 8:08 am

    Ye gods, that’s a mini-challenge? O_O (I suppose this may say more about my arts & crafts skills than anything, but… Kudos for having an idea for it!)

    And don’t worry, many people who do grow up with snow don’t have snowman-building skills either. ^-~ I think it looks wonderful, and I can see the cape too! ^-^

  4. April 18, 2009 8:10 am

    OK, now THAT is impressive on several fronts. First … O.M.G. that you have that much snow. If we had that much snow in April, you could not get me out in it – especially on Read-a-Thon day! :) – for anything. And, I might say that this is a mighty good snowperson. I think this at least deserves an Honorable Mention, if not a winner spot, in the mini-challenge.

    And congrats on finishing a book! Whoo hoo!

  5. April 18, 2009 8:14 am

    Gooooooooo Eva! :)

  6. April 18, 2009 8:19 am

    i love it!

    (but i’m so glad that we’ve got no snow today!)

  7. April 18, 2009 8:20 am

    Fantastic snowman! Reminds me of growing up in Nebraska. We made many a snowman in those childhood days.

    So glad you enjoyed Shakespeare! I am over halfway through Housekeeping vs. The Dirt right now and am loving it every bit as much as the other two. I will be sad when this is done, knowing there will be no more, but that doesn’t stop me from wanting to keep speeding ahead with this one because it is so darn enjoyable!

    I wish you a continued wonderful day and I’ll check in again later.

  8. April 18, 2009 8:27 am

    Good lord you read fast woman!

    And you just KEEP THAT SNOW. (Still raining here in SD)

  9. April 18, 2009 8:29 am

    Ha! A snow puritan :D I love it!! Damn Eva,you’ve read all of those pages, vlogged, AND made snow puritans…go ‘head with your bad self! lol

  10. April 18, 2009 8:44 am

    Congrats on the completed book! Enjoy your blog visits.

  11. April 18, 2009 8:52 am

    I love your snow Puritan! Great idea.

  12. April 18, 2009 8:56 am

    Love it–but BURRY!!! Chopsticks for arms, huh? :)

  13. _lethe_ permalink
    April 18, 2009 8:59 am

    I love the snow puritan!

  14. imbookingit permalink
    April 18, 2009 9:05 am

    You get a real feeling of isolation from looking at her out there in the snow. I’m sure that was a theme of the book.

    Or maybe not, but it is a really creative idea in any case!

    Enjoy your reading today.

    Laura/@bookingit

  15. April 18, 2009 2:20 pm

    That’s very funny and cute LOL

  16. April 18, 2009 2:46 pm

    wow great snowman!

  17. April 18, 2009 9:10 pm

    Very creative! I made a much more generic-looking snowman today :)

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

