Skip to content

Hour Ten (Eva)

April 18, 2009

Read-a-ThonPages Read This Hour: 81
Books Read This Hour: Death and Judgement by Donna Leon
Total Pages Read: 896
Books Completed: 3 (Twenty Something Manifesto by Christine Hessler, Witch Child by Celia Rees, Shakespeare Wrote For Money by Nick Hornby)
Mini-Challenges Participated In: 8
Time Spent Reading: 30
Time Spent Blogging: 30

teaI did lots of cheerleading this hour, which was fun, although I think my neck’s getting a little cranky from my computer time! I have to work on my posture more. :)

Reading’s going well, but it’s also kind of sad. Brunetti is investigating a series of crimes that obviously have to do with human traffricking. *sigh* I’ve mentioned this topic before, and it’s one I’m very aware of, so my heart bleeds for even fictional women going through it. Brunetti has his usual grace and humanity, though, which makes things better.

Since I have the kettle on to make a cup of tea, I thought it’d be fun to photograph the teas I’ll be drinking! From top to bottom: Spring Cherry, a “Sencha Green Tea Scented with Cherry Essence and Blossoms” from The Republic of Tea, Darjeeling, a “light golden black tea from the foothills of the Himalayas” from Twinings of London, Jasmine a “Chinese green tea with Jasmine” from the Russian company Princess Yava, Apricot a “refreshing blend of exclusive quality teas enhanced with apricot flavour” from Ahmad Tea, and Masala Chai “a blend of selected high grown teas” (black tea with ginger, cinnamon, black pepper, cloves, and cardamom) from Tea India. I like a variety of teas for my different moods. :D

12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2009 3:34 pm

    You are doing great! Almost 900 pages read? Wow. Keep it up!

  2. April 18, 2009 3:48 pm

    Always wished that I like tea, with their pretty sounding names, and health benefits, but just can’t! Don’t know if it was a mother that used them as a drink saved for illness maybe? They sure look good though. :) Sounds like you’re doing great so far Eva! Didn’t you mention that your mom would be joining you? Well, good luck as later hours draw nigh! We’ll be around to hopefully cheer you along.

  3. April 18, 2009 3:56 pm

    I can almost smell the scent of that tea!

    My daughter had a college project on human trafficking earlier this year and I know she got really tired of the long period of depressing reading and thinking about this awful reality while she was working on it.

  4. April 18, 2009 3:56 pm

    And by the way, thanks for the cheerleading! :)

  5. April 18, 2009 3:57 pm

    You’re a reading machine. Almost 100 pages this hour and you did a lot of cheerleading. I’m amazed. Human trafficking gets to me too. I hope it comes out okay fictionally.

  6. April 18, 2009 4:05 pm

    I love your taste in tea.

    You’re doing a great job. You’re enthusiasm always makes you a wonderful read.

    Cheers!

  7. April 18, 2009 4:06 pm

    Now it must be time for a little more light hearted reading right?! The tea looks delicious! Happy reading!

  8. April 18, 2009 4:12 pm

    I am finally home from work and visiting some Read-a-thoners! That tea looks wonderful. Good job on the speed reading ;)

    It’s so cool that your mom is joining you today. Sounds like you’re having fun (and so is your cat, with the abundance of laps to choose from!)

  9. April 18, 2009 4:26 pm

    Doing great there! MMmmmm … tea ….

  10. April 18, 2009 5:01 pm

    I want some tea…I think I may take like a 30 minute nap and then have some! Happy half way!

  11. April 18, 2009 5:21 pm

    Excellent job Eva!! I just got done shooting some b-ball with my son and neighbor boy…it’s a little cold outside so some tea or coffee sounds good right about now!

  12. April 18, 2009 7:07 pm

    I could eliminate soooo many aches and pains with proper computer posture. Big sigh. I’ll try if you will. :-)

    Lezlie

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

