Skip to content

Hour Six (Eva)

April 18, 2009

readathonbuttonPages Read This Hour: 109
Books Read This Hour:Twenty Something Manifesto by Christine Hessler
Total Pages Read: 538
Books Completed: 2 (Witch Child by Celia Rees, Shakespeare Wrote For Money by Nick Hornby)
Mini-Challenges Participated In: 5
Time Spent Reading: 25
Time Spent Blogging: 35

waterWhew! We’re a quarter of the way through, which seems crazy. It feels like I just got up twenty minutes ago! :)

Whenever I do a read-a-thon, I just start speed reading. I don’t know if it’s really speed reading, because it’s not like I”m deliberately changing any of my reading methods or trying to go quickly. But I end up getting through a ton of pages in very little time-and I can recall everything that happened. To be honest, it kind of creeps me out…but then I wonder why don’t I always read like this? I think it’s because I feel like I can’t quite catch my breath when I read at this speed; yeah, I remember everything, but I don’t get as much pleasure out of reading. But since this is my third read-a-thon, I’ve accepted that there’s nothing I can do to slow myself down (my mom suggested maybe it’s the caffeine!). Does anyone else’s reading style change dramatically, or am I just weird?

I participated in Sarah’s mini-challenge, and it was fun to see funny YouTube videos! Sadly, my very favourite YouTube video ever, which was a montage of scenes from The Office set to “It’s Getting Hot in Here” in which every single line of the song matched a clip from the series (it must’ve taken AGES!) has had the audio disabled for copyright reasons. :/ So instead I found a funny video of a three-year-old who was determined to kick a monster’s ass if he ever came into her house, so that he wouldn’t kick her ass. hehe

This post’s picture is my secret weapon against caffeine headaches: the Biggest Glass Ever (I’ve had it since like 5th grade, when my mom took me to see the musical Grease and we got floats at intermission), which I keep filled with ice water. On a normal day, I’ll drink three or four of these, but to counteract all of the caffeine today I’m aiming for six plus. After three years of drinking almost all water all the time, I’ve finally gotten to the point where I love the way it tastes!

Ok, I’m cutting my rambling off. ;) Instead, Mom and I are off for a walk (this hour’s minichallenge)! (Yes, in the snow. It will definitely be reviving, lmao.)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. reederscorner permalink
    April 18, 2009 11:47 am

    Hope your walk is delightful! Yay for finishing 2 books :)

  2. uenohama permalink
    April 18, 2009 11:47 am

    I think I should have a walk…and not because of the challenge because I just had a heavy dinner…I did to walk it off! :)

  3. uenohama permalink
    April 18, 2009 11:48 am

    edit: need to walk it off

  4. April 18, 2009 12:00 pm

    Wow that’s a lot of pages. Amazing.

  5. April 18, 2009 12:45 pm

    That’s a lot of ice water! lol…good to hear that y’all got out for a walk!

  6. April 18, 2009 4:02 pm

    Hope the snow was not too bad for your walk! It seems to have calmed down a bit here…

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.