Skip to content

Hour One (Eva)

April 18, 2009

readathonBooks Read:
Pages Read This Hour: 61
Books Read This Hour: Shakespeare Wrote for Money by Nick Hornby
Total Pages Read: 61
Books Completed: 0
Mini-Challenges Participated In: 1 (see below)
Time Spent Reading: 40 minutes
Time Spent Blogging: 20 minutes

breakfastHere’s a picture of my breakfast, which is the EXACT SAME as the other two read-a-thons. I pretty much eat this breakfast every single day, lol. An everything bagel, a piece of fruit, and a huge mug of tea. I love this “Good Morning” mug-I think that’s new! :)

My reading is going great: I held off on the Hornby until this morning, and it made me so excited to get started.

On the cheerleading front, I’m feeling overwhelmed by how many readers there are! I want to visit everyone multiple times, but I’m not sure how to manage that and still read. I’ll get over it though!

Now on to this hour’s mini-challenge, which is a little introductory meme:

3 facts about me …
1. I just turned 23!
2. I love my mom to death. :D
3. I’ve been eating vegan since the New Year, and I absolutely love it!

How many books do you have in your TBR pile for the next 24 hours?
I didn’t count, but I think I have around 14 books I checked out just for the read-a-thon. There are literally hundreds of others in the house for me to choose from though!

Do you have any goals for the read-a-thon (i.e. number of books, number of pages, number of hours, or number of comments on blogs)?
I’d like to visit every reader at least three times, although we’ll see if I manage that. Both times I’ve participated, I’ve read over 2K pages, so it’d be great to hit that again. But I try not to be caught up in numbers! (Oh: I do want to include a picture or vlog with every post. There’s a goal!)

If you’re a veteran read-a-thoner, Any advice for people doing this for the first time?
Make sure to balance your computer and reading time, and include pictures to entertain me! ;)

21 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2009 6:15 am

    Go Eva, go!

  2. April 18, 2009 6:20 am

    Good luck today, Eva and Barb! I’ll be cheering you on from the sidelines. Have fun!

  3. April 18, 2009 6:30 am

    Good luck to you! I’ll be cheering you and the other readers on today!!

  4. April 18, 2009 6:42 am

    61 pages is an awesome start! You’re doing great! Have fun!

  5. April 18, 2009 6:45 am

    Hi Eva, just stopping in to wish you and your mom Happy Reading and good luck with the read-a-thon!

  6. April 18, 2009 6:47 am

    Good morning Eva! Off to a great start.

  7. April 18, 2009 6:49 am

    I’m so excited, this is my first read-a-thon, and I love reading these posts!

  8. April 18, 2009 6:53 am

    Yummy bagel! I need to find some chow–getting hungry!

  9. April 18, 2009 6:58 am

    I want to visit each reader once and I’m not sure if I’ll be able to do even that! You are very ambitious for your goal of three times! I don’t see how anyone can eat the same breakfast every day…wow…everything you do amazes me :P

  10. April 18, 2009 7:00 am

    I hope my daughter and I are that close when she gets older. Looks like you’re doing well so far. Have a fun day!

  11. April 18, 2009 7:01 am

    You got off to a flying start, good luck & come visit. Hour 12 *yawn yawn* here in Australia & fading fast LOL

  12. Jessica Coleman permalink
    April 18, 2009 7:02 am

    Good morning!

    Let us know how the Hornby is. I love that series.

    I’ve been vegan for 12 years, so if you want any recipes or anything, drop me a line! :-)

  13. April 18, 2009 7:10 am

    Yummy breakfast! I eat the same thing every day too, including tea. I am unofficically cheerleading for now, may jump in later if I can with reading.

  14. April 18, 2009 7:16 am

    congratulations on going vegan! i am not vegan but have been vegetarian for several years.
    good job on the reading so far.
    also, i like that you have your mom reading and blogging with you. :)

  15. April 18, 2009 7:18 am

    Fun post!! I need to remember to post pictures later!! I always love the pictures in your posts :)

  16. April 18, 2009 7:24 am

    Your breakfast looks yummy! Good luck, Eva!

  17. April 18, 2009 7:37 am

    Good luck, Eva! Wish I could join in this time!!

  18. April 18, 2009 8:38 am

    I hope the Hornby book shows up in Korea soon…it should…they all do…I just don’t want to wait!

    Isn’t this a wonderful turnout this time??????????

  19. April 18, 2009 8:51 am

    61 pages in 40 minutes is a great start. Keep it up!

  20. lena permalink
    April 18, 2009 9:45 am

    that is my favorite cup! it says “good morning” on it. it keeps the tea just warm enough without being wayyy too hot all the time.

    gooooo eva!

  21. April 18, 2009 11:36 am

    I wanted to pop in and wish you luck in the read-a-thon!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

