Skip to content

Hour Nine (Eva)

April 18, 2009

Read-a-ThonPages Read This Hour: 82
Books Read This Hour: Death and Judgement by Donna Leon
Total Pages Read: 815
Books Completed: 3 (Twenty Something Manifesto by Christine Hessler, Witch Child by Celia Rees, Shakespeare Wrote For Money by Nick Hornby)
Mini-Challenges Participated In: 8
Time Spent Reading: 40
Time Spent Blogging: 10

lunchI took a quick lunch break, in order to make tacos (once again: I’m a habitual eater, lol; I’ve tacos for lunch during all three of the read-a-thons I’ve done…I don’t eat tacos every day the way I do bagels though). Now that I’m vegan, I can’t just do a bean and cheese taco, so I have several substitutes. The one I went with today, because I made up the filling last night, was Amy’s Organic Refried Black Beans (which have awesome flavouring) mixed with a vegan ‘cheese’ sauce based on this recipe (I’ve changed some of the proportions, though, and make a lot less!). Usually, I prefer salsa verde, but I forgot to buy some tomatillos, so I whipped up some salsa roja this morning before the read-a-thon began. And I drank some Diet Pepsi, since caffeine is my friend. ;)

Reading’s going well: I’ve started a mystery from one of my favourite series, so that’s always nice!

Cheerleading’s going well too, although I was a slacker this hour so I’ll have to make up for it in Hour Ten. And I did the fun ‘guess the book’ mini-challenge over at Elizabeth’s! I did much better at that one than Bart’s cover challenge, lol.

Well, I think that’s all the updating that needs to be done! Off to see what everyone else is up to!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2009 2:21 pm

    Hey Eva, sounds like you’re hurtling along! I’ve only just found out about the readathon but would love to participate next year (not sure I could handle starting at 10pm Sydney time though – I’d be fast asleep by 10.30!! :D)

    Keep it up, and keep up the blog posts – I’ll be checking back frequently today to see how you’re doing

  2. April 18, 2009 2:32 pm

    Wow, it seems like you’re having a successful Read-a-Thon! And that looks like a really yummy Read-a-Thon lunch! :D

    I really love how you’ve been including videos and photographs of your day! I can’t imagine having snow on the ground, though… brrr. I guess it’s good reading weather!

    PS: Your cat is super cute, too! I bet he provides lots of great help. ;)

    Thanks for visiting my blog!! Haha I write reviews as I go because I’m afraid of getting behind!

  3. April 18, 2009 2:35 pm

    Way to go Eva! You’re doing awesome, and that lunch sounds (and looks) so delicious :)

  4. April 18, 2009 2:42 pm

    815 pgs is awesome! Keep it up! Tacos sound so good. I was in a rush so nothing exciting at my house. I’m making up for it with snackies though. lol.

  5. April 18, 2009 2:42 pm

    Wow 815 pages, Eva, unbelievable! But then again, I’m not surprised. :D Go go go!

  6. April 18, 2009 2:45 pm

    Yum, your food looks much better than what I just cooked. lol

    Happy reading!

  7. April 18, 2009 2:47 pm

    Go Eva!!! Keep up the good work and keep on reading :)

  8. April 18, 2009 2:48 pm

    Good job! You are just barreling along through the pages. Lunch looks awesome. Enjoy!

  9. April 18, 2009 2:50 pm

    Your tacos look delish! And you seen to be having a great reading day!
    Keep having fun-
    *smiles*
    Kim

  10. April 18, 2009 2:55 pm

    Those tacos look delicious! I need to go eat something now that my tummy is rumbly! :) 815 pages!!! You rock, Eva.

  11. April 18, 2009 2:57 pm

    I swear one day I’m going to turn vegan from reading your food posts :p We’re getting ready to have red beans and rice!

  12. April 18, 2009 2:59 pm

    Holy moly… you’ve read tons!! Makes my 315 pp. sound really pathetic, LOL.

    Drooling over your tacos!!! Do they taste as good as they look??

  13. April 18, 2009 3:04 pm

    815 pages!!! Wow, you rock!

  14. April 18, 2009 3:20 pm

    your tacos sound and look great!
    i read witch child when it was first published and really loved it.
    good job on all of your reading!

  15. April 18, 2009 3:28 pm

    Mmm, those tacos. They sound delicious!

  16. April 18, 2009 4:04 pm

    Great job Eva! You are doing so well with the challenges and keeping yourself nicely paced.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

