Skip to content

Hour Fourteen (Eva)

April 18, 2009

readathonbuttonPages Read This Hour: 98
Books Read This Hour: I Am a Pencil by Sam Swope
Total Pages Read: 1,120
Books Completed: 4 (Death and Judgement by Donna Leon, Twenty Something Manifesto by Christine Hessler, Witch Child by Celia Rees, Shakespeare Wrote For Money by Nick Hornby)
Mini-Challenges Participated In: 11
Time Spent Reading: 50
Time Spent Blogging: 10

lampI got back into reading this hour, with the nonfiction memoir I Am a Pencil by Sam Swope, about his experience running a writing workshop for elementary schoolers in Queens for three years. I’m a third of the way through, and it’s great so far! Very readable and fascinating. :D

I’ve decided to cut myself off from cheerleading for a couple of hours, just so that I don’t freak out, lol. The wonderful Debi helped me realise this! It’s really helped revive my spirits.

I participated in Tammy’s Nonfiction Minichallenge, which was great fun! As my regular readers know, I LOVE nonfiction as much as I do fiction (I can’t imagine life without either), so I had fun giving some recommendations!

The photo for this hour is a lamp my mom brought out of our guest bedroom into the living room so she could have more light. Isn’t it cool looking?! My mom thinks it’s hilarious that I’m photographing a lamp, but I explained that if I’m going to post a pic every hour, I need a bunch of subjects! ;)

See you next hour!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2009 8:02 pm

    You’re doing so great, Eva! Keep it up! And to your mom as well!

  2. April 18, 2009 8:03 pm

    You’re doing GREAT, Eva! Keep on going :)

  3. lena permalink
    April 18, 2009 8:03 pm

    I saw “Twenty Something” at a book sale today and thought of you! And you know what, that’s a darn awesome looking lamp :D

  4. April 18, 2009 8:03 pm

    Keep up the good work! I have to admit I’m getting tired. I guess my official hour ended a few mins. ago but the hubby’s still up and watching TV so I haven’t headed to bed yet… But I’ll be back for the final hour in the morning!

  5. April 18, 2009 8:07 pm

    I Am a Pencil sounds like a neat read! You’re doing a great job as a cheerleader – I’m a little bit in awe (and by “a little bit in awe” I, of course, mean “totally blown away”). *All* I’m doing is cheerleading and I haven’t come close to making it to every reader’s once. Okay, I am reading, too, but not in an official capacity, and I did take a long walk and take a nap and uh, watch a movie, but the rest of the time I’ve totally been cheerleading. It’s the readers – they’re everywhere! ;-)

  6. April 18, 2009 8:16 pm

    No freaking out! Its a rule! :) Get some reading in, you’ve been cheerleading a lot and now we can cheerlead you! Go Eva!!!

  7. April 18, 2009 8:18 pm

    Eva, I really had fun reading about the day you’re having with your mother – you’ve made me “smile out loud” more than once.

    Good luck to you both – now it’s getting close to the tough part of this marathon. Some of us are fast approaching the infamous wall.

  8. April 18, 2009 8:29 pm

    Okay, so I guess I am starting my third round of commenting afterall! Enjoy your books!

  9. April 18, 2009 8:29 pm

    I do like that lamp…it is beautiful. You are rockin’ the readin’. Good for you.

  10. April 18, 2009 8:32 pm

    1100 pages! Good job!

  11. April 18, 2009 8:57 pm

    LOL…I love the lamp but I know just what you mean…my mom thinks I’m nuts sometime too with the random things I do.

  12. April 18, 2009 9:05 pm

    Hooray…you took my advice! Now how do I get anyone in this house to do that? ;-) Trying to do it all is just too stressful…and you’re supposed to be having fun! So keep reading!

  13. April 18, 2009 9:10 pm

    Keep up the good work! And thanks for all the cheerleading you have done, it’s appreciated, but impossible to reach us all!

  14. April 18, 2009 9:16 pm

    I am a Pencil sounds like something I would enjoy, too. That is an incredible number of pages you’ve read! Wow! Keep it up! :)

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

