Skip to content

Barb Hour 10

April 18, 2009

Pages Read this Hour:
Books Read This Hour: Blackbird House by Alice Hoffman
Total Pages Read: 377
Books Completed: 2
Mini-Challenges Participated In: 2
Time Spent Reading:
Time Spent Blogging

Well, this book was a definitive change from the lighthearted humor of the first book! Poignancy and sadness abounded, trailing through the lives of each inhabitant of this one desolate little farmhouse in Massachusetts, seeming to fill most of their lives with uncertainty if not outright tragedy. Still, the prevailing, indomitable human spirit revealed in the chapters of this book and the glimpses of history told regarding the Mass. coastline, made this an intriguing read.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2009 3:11 pm

    Sounds like you’re doing really well, Barb!
    Keep it up :-)

  2. April 18, 2009 3:19 pm

    i read that book last year and really enjoyed it. but then again i LOVE alice hoffman. i am never disappointed.

  3. April 18, 2009 3:22 pm

    You’re doing amazingly, and I love the little mini-reviews that accompany your updates!

  4. April 18, 2009 3:36 pm

    I raed Blackbird House last year and loved it. I hope you do too. You’re doing great!

  5. April 18, 2009 3:39 pm

    Looks like you are still going strong, Eva! You go, girl :)

  6. April 18, 2009 4:14 pm

    Now we know where Eva gets her reading prowess from! I liked Blackbird House too — I like books centred around a place, and found this one really well done. But then I enjoy most Alice Hoffman.

  7. April 18, 2009 4:20 pm

    Alice Hoffman always surprises me (in a good way) – I love the mood of her novels.

  8. April 18, 2009 5:06 pm

    Great job Barb! I wish my mom would come over a read with me. :( You’re so awesome.

  9. April 18, 2009 6:35 pm

    Thank you all so much for the encouragement and kind comments! I am having so much fun and Eva is being such doll helping me with the blogging. I hope you are enjoying all of your reads as well- Readers Rock!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

