Skip to content

Introducing Eva’s Mom, aka Barb

April 17, 2009

Here's the picture I posted of my mom during the second read-a-thon, last year! She looks pretty much the same, with a slightly different hairstyle.

As promised, my mom, who goes by Barb to most people, is also participating in the read-a-thon this time around, and she’ll be guest blogging here at my blog! We thought it’d be nice to introduce her a bit first. So I did a mini-interview.

What are your favourite books? the Diana Gabaldon books, Killer Angels by Michael Shaara, Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien, and the Mary Russell series by Laurie King

What are your favourite genres? Historical Fiction, Detective Whodunnits, and Biographies

Have you always loved reading? Yep: I still love all of the Laura Ingall books, Nancy Drew, Black Beauty, all of the classics…and I always loved reading with my daughters.

What are your reading habits? I happily dogear pages and break spines but hate it when other people (read: my loving daughter Eva) take the dustcover off my hardcover books.

What do you like to do other than reading? Working out, travelling, cooking eating pizza on Friday nights, being with my family, hiking, and celebrating Christmas.

Eva’s taking over, to list seven random things about Barb!
1. My mom’s the most dedicated student I know; she puts all of the information from the textbooks and lectures on to index cards and memorises them. She’s not content with anything less than 100 on a test!
2. When she was in her twenties in the Air Force (before she had kids!), she could benchpress more than her own body weight.
3. My mom will watch the same movie over and over (I have this habit as well!) for a week or two, and then move on to the next one.
4. When I was in elementary school, I went to a different campus once a week for a G&T class. It ended after lunch, when I had to back to my normal campus. I didn’t want to have to ride the bus (since I could walk to my normal school and wasn’t used to one), so my mom came to pick up me (and my friends!) every single week.
5. My mom’s lived in upstate New York, California, South Korea, Texas, Greece, England, and Colorado.
6. When my mom was in the Air Force, she was a Korean and Arabic linguist.
7. She’s recently discovered a love and passion for geology, which is demonstrated by her excitement when her husband brought back rocks from Australia and her daughter took about fifty photos along the interstate during a cross country drive of all the rock formations.

Finally, she’s very excited about her first read-a-thon and she’s looking forward to trying to stay awake and read books which her “charming daughter” chose for her.

Feel free to leave any questions for her/blogging or read-a-thon advice/etc.!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2009 6:19 pm

    Oh, how fun! Your mom sounds so cool. That’s so neat that you’re doing the Read-a-thon together and I’m looking forward to reading both of your posts. Have fun!

  2. Vasilly permalink
    April 17, 2009 6:49 pm

    I know ya’ll are going to have some fun tomorrow! I’m cheering you both on! Good luck.

  3. April 17, 2009 6:50 pm

    Your mom is cool. Have fun with the read-a-thon! I’m going to be doing housework. My house looks terrible. Suitcases and clean laundry (today’s project – clean all the dirty laundry from our spring break trip) everywhere!

  4. April 17, 2009 7:13 pm

    Your mom can pass for your sister! :)

    Seriously. You guys look so similar!

  5. April 17, 2009 7:23 pm

    This is awesome!! I’m so glad she’s participating :D I’ll have fun following you all tomorrow!!

  6. April 17, 2009 8:43 pm

    How awesome! Your mum has good taste in books!

  7. April 17, 2009 10:35 pm

    Way cool that your mom is doing the read-a-thon with you. Know wonder you are so bright. Your mom has had some interesting experiences and sounds like you’re really close.

    Happy reading,

  8. April 18, 2009 3:46 am

    Aw, your Mom sounds so interesting!! Have a great time reading together tomorrow!!

  9. April 18, 2009 3:59 am

    Okay, how many times have you all heard that you look like sisters, not mother and daughter!

    And sheesh Barb, must you make other moms (as in me) look so dang boring in comparison?!! :)

    Have fun, ladies!!!

  10. April 18, 2009 4:37 am

    OMG, I can’t believe you guys are snowed in – it’s going to be 70 degrees here in NJ today! Of course, having all that snow is perfect for snuggling up under a blanket to read. Hope you both have fun!

  11. April 18, 2009 5:33 am

    Betty and Boo’s Mommy,
    Thank you so much for the “hi!” I am very excited to be doing my first read-a-thon with Eva. She is such a special person- and has been since the day she was born! Go Readers!

    Vasilly,
    I have my blanket and my coffee and a stack of books- I am excited!!I will be cheering for you as well!!

    Bookfool, aka Nancy,
    Thanks for the “cool” comment- it is pretty funny because poor Eva has had to explain twice now how to post comments! Have fun putting your house back in order- that’s what I was doing a couple of weeks ago after our San Antonio trip!

    Christina,
    Thank you for the kind comment. I love having Eva as my daughter and being compared to her is quite a compliment! Have fun reading!!

    Chris,
    Good morning to you in sunny New Orleans! Eva and I have wanted to plan a trip to New Orleans for years- I hope it can be soon! Happy reading!!

    Marg,
    I’m glad you think I have good taste in books! I love reading and my favorites are pulled out every so often like well worn and comfortable friends!

    Susan,
    I am so glad to be here and a part of the read-a-thon! My weekend mornings are usually a sacred time to stay in bed as long as humanly possible. My husband was astonished that I would be up by 6 AM! Take care!!

    Obsessed Reader,
    Thanks for the comment! I think I have led an interesting life, more so than actually being interesting! I am about to start reading my first book- good luck with your reading goal!

    Debi,
    I love how you spell your name! I almost named my youngest daughter Deborah and called her Debbi. Thank you for your kind comment!! It has been so wonderful having Eva live with me again- she went to college a year early so I always felt like I was missing a year with her!! Have fun reading- I have my first cup of coffee in me so I can begin!

    Stephanie,
    It’s still snowing and I am thinking about getting my Christmas cd’s back out. Hmmmm, a winter wonderland out my back window, a blanket, fireplace and stack of books- time to begin!

    Barb

  12. April 18, 2009 6:20 am

    That’s so cool that you’ve worked as a linguist! One of the many things I’d like an advanced degree in. Too bad I can’t choose one.

  13. April 18, 2009 8:45 am

    What an interesting woman! And, seriously, you guys could be sisters. Have fun reading together today!!

    Lezlie

  14. April 18, 2009 3:54 pm

    It is official! I love your mother. What a great role model you had growing up Eva. You are a very lucky girl!

  15. April 21, 2009 3:40 pm

    It’s so nice to meet your mom! Naturally, the question on my mind is: does she like to read nonfiction, kind of science-y books? (My friends now run when they see me coming, shouting “I’m almost done with my book note” over their shoulder as they go.)

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

